eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


Reviews Categories | Books/Manuals/Videos/Pod-WebCasts on ham radio | FT5XO Kerguelen DVD Help


Reviews Summary for FT5XO Kerguelen DVD
FT5XO Kerguelen DVD Reviews: 8 Average rating: 5.0/5 MSRP: $25
Description: Feature length video of the FT5XO DXpedition in March 2005
Product is in production.
More info: http://www.dxvideos.com
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the FT5XO Kerguelen DVD.

KI4MRU Rating: 5/5 Jul 31, 2007 06:48 Send this review to a friend
The best 9V1YC video yet!  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
This is my seventh DVD purchase from James and it did not disappoint! In fact, I think this may be the best one of them all. You can tell there were a few stylistic changes made since the previous video, and all for the better! With years of experience filming DXpeditions, James really has a knack for balancing the radio side of the trip with interesting geographical and historical information. One of my favorite parts of this video was a clip of old 1940's era film of a landing party exploring the old whaling station.

The pileups are always an enjoyable part of James's videos, but in this case he made them a little less lengthy by interspersing some dialog and interviews into several of the pileup segments. The overall feel of this video is more light, casual, and humorous than previous expeditions. The computer graphics and cinematography were excellent as always, and the narration was again top-notch (different narrator from the previous videos). I enjoyed seeing the crew of the Braveheart again, and it seems like they really enjoy getting into the radio spirit as well. I actually laughed out loud when one of the crew members showed off his knowledge of radio jargon with great gusto. While I've enjoyed all of James's videos, I am certain that this is the one that my non-ham friends and family would enjoy the most. I can't wait to watch it again with some of them.
 
PA3AGZ Rating: 5/5 Feb 5, 2007 01:31 Send this review to a friend
Thumbs up  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I just received this DVD bij airmail. James did a super job of filming this radio-expedition and let other radiohams enjoy the sensation of going on DX-expedition.

Great job for all the crew-members of this expedition.

P.S. I've purchased all the other DVD's and waits on their arrival any day now.
Ordering from around the world is quite easy and you will receive the DVD's bij airmail, mostly within 14 days is my experience
 
WV1K Rating: 5/5 Jun 9, 2006 18:28 Send this review to a friend
National Geographic meets DXpedition  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
James did a fine job on this latest endeavor. He achieves the proper blend of young and old, crew and DXers, and ship and island.

No fuddy duddies here.

This is not a DVD that stares at the hams the entire time nor the radios !

The DVD would likely entertain and enlighten non-hams as well. James keeps it moving throughout and they say if you watch a film and the time flies, it's a good film.

 
K7ABV Rating: 5/5 Mar 29, 2006 15:30 Send this review to a friend
A DX'ER GOT TO SEE MOVIE  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Just to confirm what others have said the FT5XO movie is a beauty and it was fun to hear one of the local's call's come back over the speaker from down there , he got so excited he bought the DVD also...it is super and the photography is excellent...good job again James...now for 3Y0..
 
N4KZ Rating: 5/5 Mar 29, 2006 11:39 Send this review to a friend
Amazing videos  Time owned: more than 12 months
OK, I haven't bought the Kerguelen DVD yet but will. I have James' (9V1YC) other videos from Heard Island, Bhutan (A52A) and South Sandwich (VP8THU). All are fantastic. James is a pro and it shows in his work. I bought another video from another DXpedition a couple years ago and while I enjoyed the video, it was simply not of the quality of James' work. Since I will probably never be able to afford to go on one of these DXpeditions, owning and watching the DVDs is as close as I will get. If you work DX, you need to own James' DVDs. They are superb. Even non-hams love them for their great production values and National Geographic-type themes.
 
AK2B Rating: 5/5 Mar 29, 2006 10:58 Send this review to a friend
Ham Radio meets National Geographic  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Well, this will be the first time I’ve judged a Ham Radio item for its artistic merit. I could just say the DVD did a good job of telling the story of a DXpedition to Kerguelen but it goes a bit beyond that. I had expected the video to focus only on the geek side of the hobby and was pleasantly surprised to see that 9V1YC is also an artist with the talent to piece together a documentary that is not only informative but also very beautiful to look at. Even the music was good – and, very well recorded.
I’ve bought several DVD’s that I’ve regretted wasting the money on. Not this one, however. James Brooks, congratulations, you did a great job!

Tom, AK2B
 
KB1KIX Rating: 5/5 Jan 19, 2006 20:37 Send this review to a friend
Fantastic - one of James's Best!!!!  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
As someone who has bought most of James Brooks's DVD's - I have to say this ranks as probably the best in my book. Beats out even the legendary Clipperton video.

This is all amateur radio - all the time. Much more candid than the other DVD's as well. Truly showing the spirit that goes into a DXpedition. Everything from a remarkable boat ride (which is 2/3's of the trip), to setting up a microlite DXpedition, lots of operating (might I add, if you didn't have the CW bug before, something like this just might make you change your mind and learn the code!!!!) This shows CW in a more fun, jovial light than I have ever seen before.

Quality of the video work is fantastic. As someone that has spent a few years in the broadcasting field - I truly think the work is fantastic and of broadcast quality.

I'm sure when I show this at one of our club meetings, there is going to be a bunch of amateurs in awe!

James, hats off to you, this is one fantastic film!!!!

Jonathan, KB1KIX
 
ZL2AL Rating: 5/5 Jan 6, 2006 02:42 Send this review to a friend
A Great Adventure  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Review: FT5XO – Kerguelen Dxpedition 2005
DVD 5 4.3 (TV Format) by Nine-V Post Pte Ltd (Singapore)


This is the latest in a long line of video DX adventures filmed and produced by James Brooks 9V1YC. FT5XO is the story of microlite DXing from Kerguelen Island in the Indian Ocean about half way between Africa and Australia. Low power and minimal antennas to make the DXers earn the QSO is the order of the day. Once again James manages to keep that very fine balance between a ham radio story and informative travelogue. We join thirteen crew members loading the MV “Braveheart” in Durban, South Africa prior to the 10 day voyage to Kerguelen Island. It always amazes me the trouble seasoned DXpeditioners go to in activating a rare country. Voyages of this length in a small ship slogging through big seas are not fun. Members of the team are sick or bored, or both before the euphoria of actually sighting Kerguelen.

The island is 425 kilometres north of Heard Island and 1200 kilometres east of South Africa and is typical of sub Antarctic tundra. The vegetation is sparse and the spectacular rugged scenery is overwhelmingly beautiful. The team members are humbled by what they see. James captures the awesome beauty of the snow covered mountains cascading down into green valleys leading to the operating site on the foreshore site of the old whaling station, Port Jeanne De Arc. DX is! And the team sets about erecting masts, running cables and activating Kerguelen. James is a master at capturing video clips of the fast and furious styles of the different operators. If you ever wondered why you can’t break a pileup, this DVD video is for you. You will see masters of the craft dealing with huge pileups in a professional, relaxed manner hour after hour.

Wes Lamboley, W3WL is caught on camera observing “A pileup is like a living organism. It lives and breathes. If you (the operator) are good at it you can sense where it moves like waves on an ocean. You have to get in sync with the waves” At another point he says “A good operator plays a pileup like a symphony conductor” Presumably he waves a key rather than a baton! The team of 13 operators at FT5XO have the experience and humour to cope with the conditions. James is an experienced DXpeditioner himself and a great story teller. He interviews the operators from their point of view and catches their innermost thoughts of DXing in the extreme on camera. It has often been said that DXers are the extreme edge of ham radio. It must be said that DXpeditioners are the lunatic fringe of the hobby. It is their years of dedication that makes a Dxpedition happen along with some wonderful support of organizations like the NCDXF.

FT5XO is all too soon over as is the video. The ship is loaded and heads out on a 20 day voyage to reach Australia. It wouldn’t be pleasant and thankfully James hasn’t shown that end of the trip. This DVD video is a visual stunner with great editing and fast paced narrative along with insightful interviews. Eleven and a half days of operating netted almost 68,000 QSOs. The
team for this DXpedition was AG9A, GI0NWG, HB9ASZ, M0DXR, N6MZ, N0TT,
SP5XVY, VE3EJ, VK6DXI, W3WL, W7EW and 9V1YC. The cameraman (James Brooks, 9V1YC) lets the operators and the scenery tell the story. It is one of his best and I would rate it five stars! Purchase through www.dxvideos.com on line at $25.00 USD

Lee, ZL2AL
 


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.