eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


Reviews Categories | Transceivers: HF Amateur HF+6M+VHF+UHF models - not QRP <5W | Drake TR5 Transceiver Help


Reviews Summary for Drake TR5 Transceiver
Drake TR5 Transceiver Reviews: 8 Average rating: 4.5/5 MSRP: $795.00
Description: Solid state Transceiver
Product is not in production.
More info: http://www.rldrake.com
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the Drake TR5 Transceiver.

W8IDL Rating: 5/5 Jan 16, 2016 22:25 Send this review to a friend
First Rate Transceiver  Time owned: more than 12 months
I bought my Drake TR-5 new (along with a Drake L-75 amplifier). The TR-5 is a COMPLETELY DIFFERENT radio than the TR-7! The TR-5 is a much newer design and does not use that mother board/plug in subassembly construction. The board to board wiring used the (modern for the time) IDC connectors, and the construction is neat and professional, IMO much better than the TR-7. It is a ham-bands-only radio, but has FULL QSK for CW. The only negative i found was somewhat restricted receive audio, but there is a mod that replaces four components on the audio board to fix that. With that mod it has the beautiful authentic Drake sound like the TR-4cw and R-4C. Very few were made and they are difficult to find: try finding an owner who is willing to sell his TR-5!
 
WB6SSW Rating: 4/5 Jan 29, 2012 20:28 Send this review to a friend
Great ergonomics, and a flaw  Time owned: more than 12 months
Take a TR-7, strip away extra cost features such as pass band tuning, full receive coverage and the analog dial, add back what was missed on the TR-7 such as WARC coverage, four position AVC, ALC metering and easy to use push buttons, and you've got the TR-5. A great, very easy to use rig. Unfortuately, the mixing scheme created many inherent birdies that detract from an otherwise wonderful rig.
 
K4BXN Rating: 5/5 Mar 4, 2010 12:52 Send this review to a friend
Why?  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Why did Drake stop making this rig? I have a TR7 a fine rig in its own right, but this TR5 is wonderful. A simple straight forward rig. It lacks PBT which I seldom used on the TR7. And it has fewer filters but less insertion loss than the TR7. Covers WARC bands without modification. Sounds great on RX and my TX reports have been great as well. Only around 520 of these were made. If you can find one, snap it up. Great rig. A real keeper. 73/Crit/K4BXN
 
IK0YKM Rating: 5/5 Aug 29, 2008 04:23 Send this review to a friend
Great radio  Time owned: more than 12 months
Simply fantastic for what it offers the Drake.
Better.. with optional filter installed.

Look at:

http://www.wb4hfn.com/DRAKE/OperatorPictures/IK0YKM-Page02.htm

Best regards
Henry
 
AD3G Rating: 5/5 Feb 21, 2007 21:06 Send this review to a friend
Great Classic  Time owned: more than 12 months
Nice receiver,gets good audio reports. Shame it doesn't have the passband control like the TR7,but still a great little rig. Tough one to find, Drake didn't make very many. Looks like a TR7's baby brother,but lacks the general coverage capability. I've owned mine 9 years,and never had any problems with it,and it gets used regularly,so reliable design & build are typical Drake quality.
 
TUBEGUY Rating: 5/5 Sep 2, 2006 12:43 Send this review to a friend
Nice Radio!!!  Time owned: more than 12 months
With the exception of no passband tuning like the TR7...this is one GREAT rig. Stable VFO,good construction,gets GREAT audio reports with either a Shure 444 or an Astatic D104. Solidly built,and easy to listen to...very nice reciever.
Unlike the previous poster,I must disagree with him wholeheartedly...circuit boards don't look "home brew" ??,the two I own have no birdies,wierd noises or the intermodulation problems that he seems to be experiencing. If this was a 1-10 rating scale rather than a 1-5,I would give it an honest nine,due to lack of general coverage recvr and no passband tuning. It's construction rivals anything made overseas today.
It's most definitly a keeper radio and a good every day "driver". I'd like to find a third one just to keep for a spare,but they're very difficult to find,due to their rarity.
 
IK4CIE Rating: 2/5 Aug 25, 2006 15:21 Send this review to a friend
not good  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
Hello, i have the TR5 and used it for about 5 months but i noted some faults.
1) very poor internal design of the boards and interconnections, as home-brew one
2) the receiver work with plenty of birds, strange sounds, intermodulations etc. etc. so very bad receiver.
3) transmitter work normally, not great but work.
I suggest you to buy only for vintage design but not use it for HF traffic... hi ....
Regards, Vittorio ik4cie
 
VE3NYZ Rating: 5/5 Dec 27, 2005 15:46 Send this review to a friend
A rare classic!  Time owned: more than 12 months
One of the last solid state ham transceivers produced by Drake. The rig was built very well and preformed well for the price. Not very many were made when production was stopped by 1984.
 


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.