eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


Reviews Categories | Antenna Tuners | Ameritron ATR-30 Help


Reviews Summary for Ameritron ATR-30
Ameritron ATR-30 Reviews: 57 Average rating: 4.1/5 MSRP: $600
Description: True Legal Limit Edge Wound Roller Antenna Tuner
Product is in production.
More info: http://www.ameritron.com/ameritron/products.php?prodid=ATR-30
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the Ameritron ATR-30.

<— Page 2 of 6 —>

N0DQS Rating: 3/5 Feb 18, 2013 10:11 Send this review to a friend
just ok  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
Tuned all that I wanted but had to solder 2 spots that the factory missed, have had this with other products as well so nothing new, inductor was a bit rough and noisy, meter was inaccurate. Did the job but was not for my shack, a bit rough in the asssembly also. Fit and trim a little rough.
 
K2VI Rating: 5/5 Jan 16, 2013 11:18 Send this review to a friend
HELD UP FINE  Time owned: more than 12 months
Purchased new in 2004 and still going strong running 1K through it. I clean the air inductor and switches every two year or so. Never had a problem with this tuner. Are there better? Sure palstar to name a few but I will keep using this one for a very long time.
 
W9BB Rating: 5/5 Sep 12, 2012 10:44 Send this review to a friend
Pretty Good   Time owned: more than 12 months
I have had this tuner for some time now, and honestl, don't need it that much with my antennas. Now and then I tweak down the SWR if close to 2:1 and it works very well. No issues, no problems, etc. Seems to work as it should. A bit long from the front to the back of the unit to fit on the desk. Pricey but I think, in the long run, worth the money. Roller inductor tuning is nice. Not silky smooth, but functional.
 
WX4R Rating: 5/5 Aug 4, 2012 20:39 Send this review to a friend
Great Tuner  Time owned: more than 12 months
Been using such for several without any problems.Tuner will handle legal limit easily.
 
N5GOD Rating: 5/5 Aug 4, 2012 15:23 Send this review to a friend
No problems great tuner  Time owned: more than 12 months
I have had no problems with the tuner. I bought mine used and worth every penny. Tunes everything I need to tune. I use it with a AL80B so I cannot say about higher wattage. In my shack for what I do I cannot ask for any better.
 
KY6R Rating: 2/5 Jun 11, 2012 14:13 Send this review to a friend
Edgewound Inductor Stinks  Time owned: more than 12 months
For the first year, this tuner did a great job - but the edgewound inductor was never very "smooth".

After 1 year, there was a binding and "grinding" sound when I tuned the inductor. I found that a brass screw comes loose and then scores the copper strip on one of the inductor connectors. I tightened the screw and it lasts a couple months. After a couple times doing this - the copper strip was so badly scored that I had to cut it - solder a wire and pass it through the back of the inductor. This worked fine for 6 months - then the brass screw becomes so loose from the brass tapping expanding that it won't stay tight no matter what.

The Palstar AT2K is a much, much better tuner.
 
K3PA Rating: 3/5 Dec 18, 2011 04:46 Send this review to a friend
Works, but...  Time owned: more than 12 months
Yes, it works. Never seemed to have any problems with arcing, etc. Reasonable tuning range. Peak reading meter *sort-of* works. That being said, it is MFJ and shows it. The spinner knob fell off mine.
 
AA6TJ Rating: 5/5 Nov 29, 2011 11:47 Send this review to a friend
Good Tuner  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
After several "memory" tuners that forgot their settings, I decided to go with a manual tuner. I selected the ATR-30 because it had the largest variable capacitors, and the good quality of other Ameritron products. It is so easy to tune that I wish I never tried the memory tuners. One of the questions I had was the dimensions of the product. The cabinet is approximately 13" wide, 14 1/4 deep, and 5 3/4 high. Overall depth from the front of the knobs to the furthest point of the connectors is approximately 17 1/4". I could not find this info anywhere. I hope it helps.
 
N5VU Rating: 5/5 Aug 11, 2011 20:28 Send this review to a friend
Solid  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
It true. It will handle the AL-82 with room to spare. Over the last 35 years, I've had various tuners. This is a really good high power tuner. The roller inductor is made from flat stock that is wound into a coil. When I went and visited MFJ & Ameritron, I had seen an ATR-30 in the process of being built. It was the idea of the wide edge wound stock with a very good and solid contact between the roller and the inductor that sold me.
The peak meter is very nice. I really like the back-lit meter. It appears to now have the LED illumination. Very pleasant and bright. The older I get the more light I need to see. The turns counter is driven from one direct drive gear on the crank directly to the counter.
Tuning is a snap. It is always "on the numbers" on band changes. I highly reccommend making a chart for each antenna for each 100 KHz of each band. You will be very thankfull for the chart. It saves a lot of time "hunting" for the right match.
I bought it to mate up with my new Ameritron AL-82. They look good together.
I'm on my fifth Ameritron amplifier. I have been slowly upgrading to where I am now. No regrets. Other than I wish I had enough money for the AL-1500. Maybe later. If you have any questions, please email me at n5vu at yahoo dot com. 73 & good DX! Marcel
 
WB3JGP Rating: 2/5 Jun 11, 2011 11:58 Send this review to a friend
Cheaply made  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Do yourself a favor and look at this thing in person before you buy it. Test it for yourself before you buy. You'll be glad you did.
 
<— Page 2 of 6 —>


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.