eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


Reviews Categories | SWR & Wattmeters & Dummy Loads | LDG FT-Meter Help


Reviews Summary for LDG FT-Meter
LDG FT-Meter Reviews: 43 Average rating: 4.7/5 MSRP: $49.00
Description: Yaesu's popular FT-857 and FT-897 transceivers are wonders of compact efficiency. These do-anything, go-anywhere transceivers were science fiction just a few years ago, but ham's today are using them in shacks, mobiles and on dxpeditions from the back yard to the top of the world.

About the only problem with these radios is that us hams who are old enough to remember when stuff like this really was science fiction are also old enough to wish that the display was just little bit bigger. As we grow in wisdom and experience, we also grow to depend on bifocals; those tiny little screens are just plain hard to read! Add to that a strong desire to see a real live meter needle bouncing on voice peaks, and you find yourself wishing Yaesu had thought all this through when they designed the radio.

Well, in fact they did. A little known feature of these radios, noticed only by compulsive manual readers, is a meter jack on the bottom of the front panel. You have to figure that Yaesu knew they needed a bigger display all along, but just left it as an exercise for the user. Well, help is here! The LDG FT-Meter is a low-cost, plug-and-play solution to all your FT metering needs.

The FT-Meter presents a lush, highly readable 2.5" meter face with calibrated scales for signal strength and discriminator reading on receive, and power output, SWR, modulation, ALC action and supply voltage on transmit. Each function is s electable from the radio's menu. Easily visible from anywhere on your desk or dash, the FT-Meter is illuminated by any external 12 vdc source. The FT-Meter comes fully assembled and ready to go; just plug it into the radio and you're in the picture like never before. Order yours today
Product is in production.
More info: http://www.ldgelectronics.com/FT-Meter_purchase.html
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the LDG FT-Meter.

<— Page 2 of 5 —>

K6DPY Rating: 5/5 May 30, 2010 08:53 Send this review to a friend
Necessary and right price  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
Being new to the Yaesu FT-857D I found this meter necessary -- to understand what is going on with the transceiver. The 857 displays similar information on its small LCD screen, one at a time. This meter does it more clearly, plus now you can see two different measurements at a time, e.g. PWR on the meter and SWR on the LCD. And the price is right!
 
M5AEO Rating: 5/5 Apr 9, 2010 23:47 Send this review to a friend
Great!  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
It's a lovely, well thought out, piece of kit. Not too expensive either!
Highly recommended.

M5AEO
 
VK2LKW Rating: 4/5 Dec 11, 2009 17:25 Send this review to a friend
Nice device with low quality connection cable  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Bought my FTL meter to be used with FT897D a few weeks ago. Nice device, working well except poor quality of connecting cable which started to give intermediate contact and finally failed completely. I exchanged connecting cable against a spare one (from a digital camera). It works perfectly even though replacement cable has plugs with two rings while original plugs have only one. Looks like the ring is not used for making contact.
Although this is a nice FT meter, due to poor quality of cable connection no maximum rating.
 
WS4E Rating: 4/5 Aug 24, 2009 21:39 Send this review to a friend
LIke it, but blew fuse.  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
Its nice to be able to read the meters from the radio on a large analog scale, as opposed to the typical bar graph on a digital display that is so common today.

But, I did experience one issue when I first got my FT-Meter.


IT HAD A SHORT with the plug on the back and the connector shipped in the box.


The plug that LDG used on the back is pretty poor quality, and the barrel of the included dc cable connector shorted out at the bottom of the plug when it was inserted fully causing a blown fuse.


I had to stuff a little electrical tape down around the bottom inside of the plug on the meter body to keep the dc connector from bottoming out and the edge of the outside touching the tip connector at the bottom of the female plug and causing the short.


First time I have ever had a complaint about the build quality of an LDG product.


But once I fixed the shorting, it worked fine.
 
DAN_TAYLOR_EX_N9GT Rating: 5/5 Jan 14, 2009 15:54 Send this review to a friend
Nice Accessory!  Time owned: months
I can only echo the comments already made here in regards to this meter. It is an attractive and functional addition to your 857/897 radio. Mine has a nice bluish glow, is very accurate and easy on the eyes. I would highly recommend this meter....great job, LDG!
 
KE5OYZ Rating: 5/5 Nov 5, 2008 16:21 Send this review to a friend
Extremely helpful but hard to calibrate  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
This is an incredibly helpful accessory for my FT-857D. It's immensely helpful to have a larger meter. The only downside is that it's kind of hard to calibrate, but that's not nearly enough of a gripe to affect my 10 out of 5 rating!
 
G7TPL Rating: 5/5 Oct 17, 2008 15:11 Send this review to a friend
excellent  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
spot, and indeed, on.
bought mine second hand, which makes it even more of a bargain!!
 
VK3ZGP Rating: 5/5 Jan 23, 2008 05:49 Send this review to a friend
FT897D Experience  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
Only a minor issue noted. During ATAS-120A antenna tuning with my FT-897D on some combinations of band and antenna tuning the SWR reading is greater than infinity on the FT-Meter. Error is not due to zero set on the meter and no calibration information supplied with the FT-Meter or FT-897D manuals. Not a critical problem as SWR is so high the FT-897D is not going to work into this mismatched load.

I use a variable voltage (12V max) wallwart to dim the internal lamp as required.
 
WU8P Rating: 5/5 May 18, 2007 06:16 Send this review to a friend
Very Nice Meter  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
The FT Meter is a very nice addition to my little Ft 857D station. It makes looking at s meter and power out readings a breeze. As with all of the LDG products I have or had, this one is built very well and priced good.
Highly recomened.
 
KB5MIQ Rating: 5/5 May 13, 2007 15:03 Send this review to a friend
i like it  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
not much else to add i use this with a ft 897d and i like it. i especially like being able to have this meter reading one function and the rig meter reading another function. LDG makes a great product.
73
kb5miq
 
<— Page 2 of 5 —>


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.