eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


Reviews Categories | Voice Keyers | MFJ-434/434B Help


Reviews Summary for MFJ-434/434B
MFJ-434/434B Reviews: 34 Average rating: 4.1/5 MSRP: $179.95
Description: Contest voice Keyer (new improved)
Product is in production.
More info: http://www.mfjenterprises.com/products.php?prodid=MFJ-434
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the MFJ-434/434B.

<— Page 3 of 4 —>

PD2DB Rating: 5/5 Apr 4, 2004 16:09 Send this review to a friend
Can't live without it!  Time owned: more than 12 months
Have the 434 since one year. Because i use a special element in mine headset i need 8 volt. The 434 gives only adjustable voltage up to 5V. So i made a straight connection. Very simpel to use and no interference. Great audio. 5+
 
VE4MM Rating: 5/5 Jan 29, 2004 00:04 Send this review to a friend
No Problems  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
Used this for Nov Sweeps 2003.
Worked well and easy to use.
 
K3IXD Rating: 2/5 Apr 7, 2003 15:19 Send this review to a friend
MFJ-434  Time owned: more than 12 months
MFJ needs to institute a quality control program on their assemble line. When received, my first MFJ 434 voice keyer had the eight, remote keying, male pins bent and touching each other. The radio store replaced it. The second MFJ 434 failed several times before it was correctly repaired. Initially not all the memories worked, then in another contest the LEDs failed. And in a later contest, it completely failed. Once the "434" was finally fixed, it is a nice keyer; but anyone purchasing one should do it year before it is really needed. Exercise it before the warranty expires. I have used it with my ICOM IC-746 at home, with my Yaseu FT736r at W3SO in VHF contests, and with a Kenwood TS-850 at W8ZA in HF contests. At both W3SO and W8ZA, many MJF voice keyers are used and the initial failure rate is high!
 
T93M Rating: 5/5 Mar 23, 2003 15:19 Send this review to a friend
Works fine  Time owned: more than 12 months
I have used the unit in two contests , CQWW '01 nad CQWPX '02 (T93M/HI9) when I won first place in the world.
Both times unit performed great. I modified the back side adding 8 Pin conector for remote triggering via LPT port on my laptop. I use CT contesting software which easily can be set to triger memories from MFJ unit.
I guess I was lucky with QC of my unit.
 
EA4TV Rating: 5/5 Mar 19, 2003 05:40 Send this review to a friend
Quite goog product  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
My unit has not suffered any problem since i bought it. I miss some features and i also think it's quite expensive (as others mfj products). If you open it you can see that the product doesn't seem to be a high quality product. It works and it does what the manual says.
 
WV4I Rating: 2/5 Oct 28, 2002 19:46 Send this review to a friend
QC Non-existent  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
According to instructions, this device is factory set up for Yaesu radios. So, owning an Icom, instructions say to open unit, and reset internal jumpers accordingly. Only problem is no jumpers present whatsoever, much less preset for Yaesu. So, scrounged my spare parts box, and came up with 11 jumpers to set up unit.

Then had to find a tiny mike connector screw, since one was missing. This was noticed before I began to rework cable as it goes into mike connector clamp, so it would not pull out, and stay clamped.

On back of unit, no one even bothered to push the cable bushing into the case, designed so as to avoid cable chafing on MFJ's trademark rough metal edges. Have they heard of a metal file?

Lastly, while there was no visible signs of overheating, the unit smells fried inside.

Obviously, I will be returning this unit for another try. Why do I want another one? Because when it works, it really will save your voice in a contest, which I do sometimes. If you don't contest, forget it for $170 + shipping.
 
K6RB Rating: 5/5 Dec 18, 2001 20:24 Send this review to a friend
I love it.  Time owned: more than 12 months
It has worked flawlessly through two ARRL 10 meter contests, the California QSO Party, and the ARRL SS phone contests. I had a voice keyer before this one and the audio never sounded clean enough to me. This one sounds great, and I get very nice, unsolicited, feedback on how well it sounds.
 
AK0M Rating: 0/5 Dec 9, 2001 22:00 Send this review to a friend
POOR quality and service  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Installed my new MFJ-434B the week before the CQWW SSB contest. First realization was that the remote control connector is non-standard, and they don't include one (I kludged one by superglueing two PC speaker internal connectors together). Then I found that mine had excessive hiss in the playback audio. This was eventually determined to be a definite defect in the product (brand new). I was told to return it to MFJ; they received it on 9 Nov, assured me one week turnaround, but as of 9 Dec. I still don't have it or a promise date. They decided they would repair it rather than replace it, so I am still waiting for repairs and continually getting the run-around on my queries to them. My intent was to use it in all the fall contests, but...
So, potentially it could be a good product, but I have no way of knowing.
My first MFJ experience, will be my last.
I've asked for a full refund.
 
NN6XX Rating: 3/5 Apr 13, 2000 23:13 Send this review to a friend
MFJ-434 needed improvements  Time owned: unknown months
The 434 works fine but could be easily improved.
Here are some requests I sent to MFJ for the "B"
model:

1-Like a switch for keyer/pulse-tone/two-tone/isolated computer audio(for psk31/sstv). 2-
Like level logic for remote to rs232/LPT.

3-Like audio-in from headphones(stereo) to pass-thru to phones-out not just record.
4-Like audio-out test jack for scope.

5-Most users of a voice keyer will probably be contesters using the combo
heil/mfg headsets so the mic/phones cord mess needs rear minature inputs in addition to front
mic jack.

 
K2UOP Rating: 5/5 Mar 27, 2000 12:18 Send this review to a friend
After three contests - still a five  Time owned: unknown months
Since my initial review, I have used this keyer in two more contests and it continues to operate without any problems. I am pleased with the reports on how natural it sounds and it's overall operation. By the way, contrary to a report, posted by another party, I did not receive my MFJ-434 for free. I purchased a model 432 voice keyer that did not work and MFJ could not fix. Because the 432 is not produced anymore, they did the right thing and sent me the newer model. It was not without expense on my part because I spent considerable time on the phone making phone calls to advertisers and to MFJ concerning the matter. In other words, I insisted on my rights as a consumer and I worked at it, I didn't just complain on a web site. I realize this site is not the proper place for discusions, but I just had to set the record straight.
 
<— Page 3 of 4 —>


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.