eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


Reviews Categories | Transceivers: HF Amateur (inc. HF+6M+VHF models) | ICOM IC-707 Help


Reviews Summary for ICOM IC-707
ICOM IC-707 Reviews: 22 Average rating: 4.6/5 MSRP: $600.00
Description: All ham bands HF rig, 5-100W output, very basic controls.
Product is in production.
More info: http://www.qsl.net/sm7vhs/radio/icom/ic707/ic707.htm
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the ICOM IC-707.

Page 1 of 3 —>

KE7WAV Rating: 5/5 Nov 1, 2013 17:38 Send this review to a friend
FB rig  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I purchased mine at a hamfest locally from a guy I know for $200. I have been a ham for several years and owned boat anchors and QRP rigs. This is a fantastic little rig! It is very simple and straight forward, but it also gets out without any problems. I prefer the QSK of my Ten Tec on CW, but it is a solid FB rig.

The only down side that I have found is that during the winter it doesn't warm my shack like a boat anchor :-)

I have received great audio reports on CW. Also, when my brother, who is not a ham, came over I showed it off a bit using SSB and it did well there too.
 
N7JPF Rating: 5/5 Jun 19, 2012 09:25 Send this review to a friend
Nice Mobile Rig  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I just bought this little unit off ebay to replace my dead Yaesu as a mobile rig. I am super impressed and pleased. It is so much fun to use. It marries up to my LDG tuner, and a quick press of the tuner button easily tunes to my Outbacker Perth with no difficulty. Fun to work mobile again. I do miss having a good CW filter in it, but might ad that soon.
 
KD8SGE Rating: 4/5 May 30, 2012 10:55 Send this review to a friend
Good starter rig  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
This is my first rig as a ham and I can't recommend it enough for the beginner. I have a lot to learn and, with the ease of this radio's operation, I have been able to jump into the world of ham radio relatively painlessly without being intimidated by the endless knobs and menus of other newer, more expensive rigs.

I currently use it bare bones without any of the filters -- mainly operating CW -- and haven't had many problems with it thus far. Sure, I won't be seriously contesting using the 707 sans the cw filters, but it gets the job done. I've gotten great signal reports running only about 5-15 watts to a random wire antenna.

Don't get me wrong, I do expect to upgrade to another rig in the future, but I expect the 707 to always have a home in my shack. I imagine it'll make a great, serviceable "back-up" rig.
 
I1QII Rating: 5/5 Nov 4, 2010 07:12 Send this review to a friend
Nice Solid Rig  Time owned: more than 12 months
I have this radio from 7 years, Vy solid and nice.
Agc not perfect and basic rig but happy to own it.
I keep it in holiday-house and is always ready
when i need it.
 
KC9QVD Rating: 5/5 Oct 31, 2010 22:29 Send this review to a friend
LOVE IT!!!  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
This is little radio but it mighty! Im only a tech so all I can use for now is 10 meters! I got this thing hooked to a Imax 2000 at 32 feet and I all kinds of 59 qso reports on 10 meters when it's up!! The only bad thing I can say is the the noise filtering leaves something to be desired but for a first HF rig I like it the best and I had tryed others but this one was the best by far!!!
 
K5LDL Rating: 5/5 Oct 28, 2009 15:50 Send this review to a friend
Great beginner's rig!  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
I once owned this radio and I daily kick myself for having sold it. I loved this rig! Super easy to operate, great audio reports, very unassuming looks....

IF I could have another one, I'd buy it! The addition of the FM board makes 10M fm DX a fun activity. NO other basic HF rig has FM in it anymore! Why is that? Anyway....

I had mine set up for CW with a key and paddle. I used a Heil Ic Mic, one of the very first mics Bob made for the ICOM line, a MatchBox and a G5RV with a switch to go over to an Antron 99. Yeah yeah yeah, I know... But I loved it.

Like I said... If I could get my greedy mitts on another one? I'd buy it!

73!

Luis KD5KJD
 
W7AMX Rating: 5/5 Aug 11, 2008 16:53 Send this review to a friend
Good-Solid-Radio  Time owned: more than 12 months
I've owned mine since 1993, right after they first came out. The first thing I noticed was the VFO stability and the receiver sensitivity. The lack of a speech processor is the only issue, but...even so, the audio reports I've gotten have always been good. I have added a microphone with a compressor, but don't use it that much. There's something about the looks also...I just like the way it sits. The S-meter takes a little getting used to, but after awhile you can 'Kentucky windage' AKA: SWAG the reading pretty well...hi. Just don't want to part with it, even though I've bought more fancy-schmancy rigs...it's definatly a keeper!! I've got the CW filter, FM module and the TCXO (for IF on 10 Gig). Use it on ALL modes (yes - AM) and digital too. If you find one, snag it...and keep it.
 
VK5GI Rating: 5/5 Apr 29, 2006 03:29 Send this review to a friend
First-class rig  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Coming back into Ham radio after an enforced break of some 6-7 years, I needed a small, inexpensive and easy to use rig. I found one in the Icom IC-707. This rig of mine has the narrow CW filter (which is kinda essential for serious cw work) but no FM option and I haven't missed it! The rig does everything that is asked of it, puts out a good signal, has a ripper of a NB/preamp/atennuator which REALLY work, and hasn't faltered being on 12 hours a day. I picked it up for Aus$250 (US$200) and I consider it to be a real bargain. Downside? Well, maybe but I haven't found one yet! I'm not selling this one - it's a keeper!
Kind regards Norm vk5jnl
 
K4DV Rating: 4/5 Feb 8, 2006 12:45 Send this review to a friend
Good solid basic HF rig  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
I ran one of these for quite awhile mobile and in the shack and it performed well. I didn't have any filters in mine and with the new DSP units out now, it would be left out, but it is a good, dependable, solid rig made to do what radios are supposed to do and that is transmit and receive quality signals. Always got good reports on my audio and it had a really good receiver as well. If you can pick one of these up cheap, jump on it. You won't go wrong with this one.
 
KA5HZV Rating: 5/5 Jan 2, 2005 17:56 Send this review to a friend
Excellent  Time owned: more than 12 months
I used this radio for 4 years in an 18 wheeler and it never failed me. Coupled with a screwdriver antenna I worked stations all over the country as well as DX from may parts of the world. It's a simple rig that is very tough yet very responsive. I still have the radio now and use it as a qrp to the field rig and will soon be mounting it in my sailboat for MM operations.
At home I use an ic-756, but the ic-707 still has a place in my shack.
 
Page 1 of 3 —>


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.