eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


Reviews Categories | Ham Radio education & exam prep materials | G4FON Morse Tutor Help


Reviews Summary for G4FON Morse Tutor
G4FON Morse Tutor Reviews: 14 Average rating: 4.9/5 MSRP: $free
Description: Morse code trainer.
Product is in production.
More info: http://www.g4fon.net/CW%20Trainer.htm
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the G4FON Morse Tutor.

Page 1 of 2 —>

AJ1DM Rating: 5/5 Jan 21, 2012 09:49 Send this review to a friend
Awesome  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
I just completed my first CQ QSO and it went very well, thanks to the G4FON Morse Tutor. This software is flexible and easy to use. I highly recommend it for anyone interested in CW.
 
KX4TT Rating: 5/5 Aug 23, 2011 12:41 Send this review to a friend
Versatile Program  Time owned: more than 12 months
Ray has provided the ham community with a nice program that does much more than just teach Morse code. I've used it when I haven't had radios set up in order to maintain my ear. The Farnsworth settings allow you to start right out hearing letters instead of dits and dahs (kinda hard to count them at 35 wpm). The ability to work with text files gives you endless opportunities for practice.

Lee N4MVL
 
WA5MZI Rating: 5/5 Dec 24, 2008 00:39 Send this review to a friend
Excellent Koch method Morse trainer  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
This program was inspired by Dave Finley's article "So You Want to Learn Morse Code" (http://www.qsl.net/n1irz/finley.morse.html), which describes the Koch method for teaching Morse. The program enables the student to build reflex responses to the sounds of Morse at high speed and avoids building that lookup table in the brain that makes it impossible to get to high speed. I've been using it for a couple of months, and it works exactly as Finley describes the method.

Once you master the basic alphabet, numbers, and punctuation, it will also send random words or QSOs. Also, the program has the ability to include realistic on-the-air conditions in the code, such as QRN, QSB, QRM, different signal strengths, chirp, pitch dithering, and variable weight.

There is a KochMorse group on Yahoo that provides a user forum and support.

Ray Goff, G4FON, has done a great service by making this available.
 
WB6DGN Rating: 5/5 Dec 20, 2008 01:09 Send this review to a friend
Found NO Malware Either  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
I ran this program for many months on several computers, scanned it with current AVG suite and NEVER found any malware. I found it to be an excellent program, very versatile and easy to use. It brought me back up to speed and my computers are still clean.
 
AI4BJ Rating: 5/5 Dec 19, 2008 19:29 Send this review to a friend
Still wrong!  Time owned: more than 12 months
Judging by the names of the files mentioned by the previous reviewer, it would seem that he was reviewing a completely different product.

Among the many options offered by this great program are the ability to play back text files and word files. These are two separate menu options! Text files, which can be virtually any text file you happen to have on hand, are played back without any changes. Word files, on the other hand, are ALWAYS played back with the words SCRAMBLED to prevent the user from memorizing the word order. (A third option is to play back files containing typical CW QSOs. Over 1000 QSOs are supplied with the program.)

The current version of the program (9.2.4) comes with two word files containing common words. These files are named "100 Common Words.txt" and "1000 Common Words.txt". The second file does list the words in alphabetical order (to facilitate editing of the file, obviously), but since the program ALWAYS plays them back through your speakers in RANDOM order, where exactly is the "poison pill"??
 
W1YB Rating: 5/5 Nov 29, 2008 14:38 Send this review to a friend
No malware of any sort...  Time owned: more than 12 months
Any malware that arrives with the G4FON software is courtesy of the server being utilized. Our the malware has taken up residence on the MS IE somewhere.

G4FON has developed a great program. And it IS clean!!
 
N4MJG Rating: 5/5 Nov 29, 2008 09:27 Send this review to a friend
No virus here either  Time owned: more than 12 months
i run norton also finds no virus !great way to learn the code.



73
JACKIE
KG4ORX
Tullhoma Tenn
WWW.KG4ORX.COM
 
OZ1GCT Rating: 5/5 Nov 29, 2008 04:09 Send this review to a friend
No virus here  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I have not found any virus in this great program.
 
N7ZM Rating: 4/5 Nov 28, 2008 11:58 Send this review to a friend
No virus here  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I also found no virus in the G4FON Morse Tutor. I run Norton 360 and it scanned clear and program runs well.
 
K5ILW Rating: 5/5 Nov 28, 2008 09:55 Send this review to a friend
No Virus Found Here  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
After reading the below review, I downloaded the file direct from the publisher's web site and check it with a couple of virus scanners and found no virus. Of course it's everyone's responsibility to check any file they load onto their computer.

Now to get my code speed back after year's of inactivity.

Brad
K5ILW
 
Page 1 of 2 —>


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.