eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


Reviews Categories | Weather Stations | Accurite wireless rain guage Help


Reviews Summary for Accurite wireless rain guage
Accurite wireless rain guage Reviews: 6 Average rating: 4.7/5 MSRP: $22.99
Description: wireless rain guage
Product is in production.
More info: http://www.partshelf.com/ci00896.html
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the Accurite wireless rain guage.

G4IRX Rating: 4/5 Jun 24, 2011 10:46 Send this review to a friend
Second one going strong - Two displays.  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
In June 2010 I reported the demise of my original Acu-Rite 00896 Wireless Digital Rain Gauge purchased in Jan 2009 (see earlier review). Readings became erratic and if they were to be believed I would have been under flood water. Finally, it ceased transmitting.

I dismantled the transmitter unit in the collector for investigation. It comprises two boards, one is a micro controller (black blob) the other a 433MHz TX which radiates on 433.820MHz. There appeared to be a clock signal on the micro and it is possible to manually switch the TX on. The micro never sends anything to key the TX though.

Rainfall is measured by a "see-saw" that has a magnet attached. As it pivots it activates a reed switch on the micro PCB producing pulses.

So I bought a second one 9 months ago. The good news is that I was able to re-use the display from the first one so I now have rain sensor with two displays!
 
N4MJG Rating: 5/5 Jun 6, 2010 14:48 Send this review to a friend
No Problem !  Time owned: more than 12 months
No Problem ,i had mine for 3 years !


Jackie
N4MJG
WWW.N4MJG.COM
 
N3DG3 Rating: 5/5 Dec 31, 2007 07:08 Send this review to a friend
New & Improved  Time owned: more than 12 months
My Acurite Rain Gauge has served me well. Acurite has replaced this model with a New & Improved Acurite 00614 Wireless Rain Gauge, which has better accuracy and features:

http://www.weatherconnection.com/mfgproduct.asp?mfgname=Acu+Rite&itmky=487041&mfgno=21

The New Acurite 00614 Rain Gauge is still a Great Value from WalMart at Only $28, satisfaction guaranteed.
 
KA3UIX Rating: 5/5 Sep 18, 2006 17:22 Send this review to a friend
Great Quality & Price  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
This is a nifty, cool, decent quality BARGAIN at Walmart. I also bought their wireless weather station which costs only $80 and does more than Peet. It features Indoor/Outdoor Temperature & Humidity, Wind Speed & Direction, Exact Atomic Time & Date, Barometer & Graphic Trends, Weather Forecast and Moon Phase...all on a very attractive LCD display. Much better than Peet, much better quality than Peet, it's wireless and much cheaper than Peet.
 
K1AUE Rating: 5/5 Jul 18, 2006 08:41 Send this review to a friend
K1AUE  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
This is a great unit for the price.
Compares quite well to the standard raincatcher the weather man uses. Records increments of 0.02" and displays in either inches or millimeters. A nice feature is the audible alert sounded when a transmission is received.

Suggestion: After removing the shipping restraint from the sensor unit and installing batteries run a kitchen sink test. You gotta love it!
 
WA0DTH Rating: 4/5 Mar 11, 2006 06:51 Send this review to a friend
Pretty good  Time owned: more than 12 months
Well I guess I have to give the Acurite Rainguage a thumbs up. Mine worked fine right out of the box. For the price $20 its not bad.
I compared the readings with a standard raincatcher non-electronic gauge, and the readings were comparable.
Battery life for the transmitter is the only thing I would improve on.
I would say if you get a bad one just take it back to Wal-Mart and exchange it for another one.
Wal-Mart is real good about exchanges.

 


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.