eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


donate to eham
Reviews Categories | Antennas: HF: Vertical, Wire, Loop | Buckmaster 7 Band, 3KW, OCF Dipole Antenna Help


Reviews Summary for Buckmaster 7 Band, 3KW, OCF Dipole Antenna
Buckmaster 7 Band, 3KW, OCF Dipole Antenna Reviews: 82 Average rating: 4.7/5 MSRP: $ 324.95
Description: No tuner, multi-band, off-center fed(OCF), 135 ft. dipole with 6:1 voltage balun
Product is in production.
More info: http://hamcall.net/7bandocf.html
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the Buckmaster 7 Band, 3KW, OCF Dipole Antenna.

Page 1 of 9 —>

K1PGV Rating: 5/5 Nov 8, 2015 07:06 Send this review to a friend
Very Solid, Very Good  Time owned: more than 12 months
This review is based on 10 years (really) of use of the 3KW, 7-Band version.

Short Version: Beautifully built, satisfying to use. I love it.

Long Version:

I have this antenna mounted in some trees, about 50 feet above ground.

This is the first antenna I purchased when I got my license and I've been using it ever since (and I just renewed my license for the first time... so it's been 10 years).

Now, to be clear, I haven't had the exact same antenna in the air for 10 years. Every few years, as a "preventive maintenance" measure, I lower my Buckmaster OCF dipole and replace it, the supporting ropes, and the feedline. There's never been anything WRONG with the antenna when I've done this... but my 200' of (partially buried) feed line and the 3/8" dacron support rope take a beating. I figure while I have everything down, I might as well invest in replacing the antenna.

This antenna just works. I got DXCC with it (with no more than 200W). It's a dipole, it's not a beam, so my expectations are in line with that fact.

But I *definitely* would recommend this antenna for anyone considering a horizontal wire antenna system.
 
N5UMJ Rating: 5/5 Jun 29, 2015 08:36 Send this review to a friend
Performance  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I have tried 3 of these antennas with the same results. One day I decided to give it one last shot.#4. With the use of a messenger line the center at 15 feet away from my tower, Wow! It works great. I strongly recommend to seperate this antenna as much as possible from any metal. Overall, I highly recommend it. Durable quality workmanship.
 
KB3ZIM Rating: 5/5 Mar 1, 2015 10:44 Send this review to a friend
Absolutely Fantastic/Amazing/Highly Recommended  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
While planning my HF station installation, I searched for an antenna that would meet a number of criteria, including cost, space requirements, and most importantly, the ability to work as many HF bands as possible with just one antenna. I settled on an OCF wire antenna, and this Buckmaster 7-band radiator certainly fit the bill. I currently have it installed in the manufacturer's-recommended inverted vee configuration with the balun at approximately 45-feet high with the end of each leg approximately 10-12 feet high. While Buckmaster claims that this is a "no tuner required" antenna, I still tweak it with the internal tuner in my Icom IC-7600 transceiver that can tune loads up to 3:1, and it easily accommodates a tune-up within fractions of a second on all bands for which the antenna is designed.

Within the first four months of operating on HF bands, I've easily logged 90 countries so far, using just 100 watts through 250 feet of top-quality coax, which certainly accounts for a good bit of loss before the signal reaches the antenna. Still, this antenna has been an amazing performer. Of course, no antenna can ever be perfect, but given the compromises for my particular installation, I could not be happier.

Not only does this antenna just plain WORK as far as RF radiating and receiving is concerned, but the physical build quality could not be better. I can't imagine how this antenna could possibly be constructed more soundly. The 3KW balun is the heftiest thing of it's kind I've ever seen. The materials and workmanship are so robust that I think I could tie each end of it to the trailer hitch on my truck to pull tree stumps out of the ground...LOL! Just joking, of course...but not by much. Other reviewers have said that it's "built like a tank." Believe it.

If I had the space, I probably would have purchased the longer 8-band version to add 160 meter capability (and I still may upgrade to that and find a way to make it fit within my available space). These antennas are not inexpensive, but I doubt anyone could homebrew an equivalent antenna. Even if you could obtain the same components and assemble them the way Buckmaster has, I sincerely doubt it would be worth your time and effort...time you could be spending on the air, making contacts.

I'm a relatively new ham on the HF bands and have no interest in or connection with the manufacturer of this antenna. I'm just a totally satisfied user and could not recommend these Buckmaster OCF antennas more highly. People are usually more inclined to disparage a product than praise it, so when credit is deserved, I believe in giving it, and I'm giving plenty to the Buckmaster 7-band 3KW OCF antenna!
 
KV4TZ Rating: 5/5 Jul 30, 2014 06:46 Send this review to a friend
Great multi-band antenna!  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
I wanted an all-band antenna for my ham shack and the Buckmaster delivers. I've had this for over a year and can't complain about the performance. I have the 80-6 meters version and it does very well on 80, 40, 20, 17, 12 and 10 (SWR less than 2:1) and works on 15 and 6 with a tuner. Very well built. Follow the directions and it will work wonders.
 
W8KMA Rating: 5/5 Jun 11, 2014 10:58 Send this review to a friend
Super Performer!!  Time owned: more than 12 months
I have this antenna up for 5 years and no problems at all. Just a super nice set up. You probably need a isolator somewhere for RF on ocassion. Plays on a lot without a tuner and all but 15 meters with. I would like to try the 160 meter version someday....I talk to Europe everday with 100 watts!!! You can too!!!
 
W1PDG Rating: 5/5 Apr 9, 2014 09:06 Send this review to a friend
3KW 8 BAND MODEL  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
First of all this replaces a Carolina windom 80 that was bare wire. I have taken down and moved the windom a few times so when I started putting up the buckmaster the first very obvious thing was how nice the heavy coated wire was to work with. No kinks here my friends! I do not have this ofc installed exactly as the instructions suggest. The center is about 32' up and the ends are higher than suggested. I would say some where between 140 and 150 degree angle. Rather than the recommended 120. Swr on all bands was as advertised except 80 meters where it was a bit higher but probably due to my installation. Tune it with a tuner on all bands anyway . Performance is very good on 20,40,80 and 160. No good on 15 though. Very usable on the other higher bands also but certainly not a beam. If you have the room and want a cover all antenna (except 15 meters) that is going to last years this is a very well made choice. You get what you pay for here my friends!
 
KA2UFP Rating: 5/5 Jan 10, 2014 14:24 Send this review to a friend
...HOLY GRAIL...  Time owned: more than 12 months
...BEST antenna you can buy my friends...NO tuner REQUIRED...built like a TANK...flies like a EAGLE...I own THREE... ^5
 
KB4VVE Rating: 5/5 Dec 11, 2013 20:51 Send this review to a friend
Works quite well  Time owned: more than 12 months
We have one up at 60' between two 500' towers at the EOC (W4SLC). Provides very good communications with a Kenwood TS-570D and its tuner.
Remember that the coax will act as a radiator on the OCF - use an 'Un-Un' to stop RFI.
Greg
 
WA1EMG Rating: 5/5 Dec 11, 2013 16:45 Send this review to a friend
Great Value  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
I have installed this OCF dipole at 25 feet and haven’t had this many contacts on so many bands in my 50 years of hamming !
Worked my first Japan on 17 the other morning with a 5/9 report.

I am very satisfied with the product’s quality and performance. I would highly recommend this product and do give attribution to it when stations tell me how good the signal is. Now if I could only rotate it somehow…..!

Thanks again for a great product an 73.
 
N8TNJ Rating: 4/5 Aug 18, 2013 11:38 Send this review to a friend
good while it lasted  Time owned: more than 12 months
Had the 7 band up for about 26mos. Could just about talk to anybody you head on the band! With a 100 watts. Picture perfect swr with the chart on the web site. One day checked in on 14.300 found swr was sky high, scanned the antenna. What a difference nothing was picture perfect anymore. Resonance was somewhere in the twilight zone, changed out the coax, checked the antenna. No problem nothing broken. Sent an email to Buckmaster, they said it must have gotten hit by lighting. Your on your own! Oh well at least I have some nice wire to MAKE my own antenna.
 
Page 1 of 9 —>


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.