eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


Reviews Categories | Antennas: HF: Vertical, Wire, Loop | BUXCOMM 80-6 Windom Help


Reviews Summary for BUXCOMM 80-6 Windom
Reviews: 9 Average rating: 4.6/5 MSRP: $59.95
Description: 136' Off-Center Fed (OCF) Dipole with 4:1 Balun, model 806136. For 80-6 meters.
Product is in production.
More info: http://www.packetradio.com/windom.htm
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the BUXCOMM 80-6 Windom.

N5WNG Rating: 4/5 Jul 13, 2016 09:34 Send this review to a friend
Good service  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Bought the OCF 80-6 Windom in May this year, balun failed ~ 3 weeks later, 100watts. Buck replaced immediately. Not bad service.
 
VE3CZF Rating: 5/5 Apr 6, 2010 08:36 Send this review to a friend
shipped exactly as described.  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Well constructed, shipped exactly as described and works absolutely great. I wanted a single wire antenna that would operate from 160 thru 6 meters and other than 160M don't need a tuner.
 
KL2EC Rating: 5/5 Mar 23, 2010 17:26 Send this review to a friend
great buy  Time owned: more than 12 months
bought this a couple of years ago and have been using it both at the house and then moved it to my winter qth. I'm very happy with it and will recommend them to anyone. The owner wasn't helpful but, the secretary was more than willing to answer my beginner questions and make the sale.
 
W9MHB Rating: 5/5 Jan 6, 2009 18:03 Send this review to a friend
Great!  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
I have this antenna hung between two pine trees at 40ft. I have used it on every band from 80m through 70cm and it works as advertised. On HF I use it with a little manual tuner and I have no problems getting an SWR of 1:1. On 40m, and 20m I really wouldn't have to use a tuner as the SWR is below 1.5:1, however I choose to in order to get it to 1:1. I have worked 30 countries, and 46 states within my first year of being a HAM. I use this antenna on SSB and a multitude of digital modes.

Can't ask for much more for such a simple antenna, if you can't put up a tower and want a low profile antenna that gets the job done, order it!!!
 
AK4QA Rating: 3/5 Dec 24, 2008 01:33 Send this review to a friend
ok but...  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
I have it up 80 feet and have made some great contacts, but its not able to handle full legal power despite stating otherwise.

If you run less, say 500 or 750 watts, you should not have any problems. If my tuning is not right on and quick swr's climb and stay high to the point of being unusable.

No problems ordering or shipping.
 
KE7LGD Rating: 5/5 Dec 10, 2008 17:29 Send this review to a friend
A Simple Wonder!  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
I am not a Hi-Tek Know-it-all, just a Nam-Vet who got around to becoming a Ham. I spent a year on ebay buying all the old Kenwood gear to go with my much loved TS-830S. Money is hard to come by for this old shot to hell GI, so for the few dollars I had this is the first HF antenna I put up. It works very well with or without my AT-220 Tuner. (My TS-830S Loves it) Best of all I did not spend 100's of bucks for it. It hangs 22.5 foot above my yard, runing 90' to the North and 45' to the South. I've got Hawaii, Wisconsin and Florida. (100 Watts or less) Not bad for a ham in the Southwest Mts. of Utah. I work 40 and 80 SSB most of the time and 20 a bit. I get the other bands as well. It does the job! Thanks for a well put together Windom! 73 Bruce, KE7LGD
 
K0CBA Rating: 4/5 Sep 4, 2007 08:51 Send this review to a friend
Seems OK  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
Mine seems to work well enough.

It does resonate about 200 to 400 kHz low...depending on the band; well within range of my Icom AT-150 auto tuner except for the top part of 75.

I suspect it is due to my specific installation but my very limited activitivity is in the CW portion so folding it back on itself (rather than cutting) on each end isn't worth the effort.

Buck is a nice enough fellow but a snarly old Marine at heart, so after the manditory ribbing from an old Navy guy he settled down and has a wealth of antenna knowledge to share.

If you are limited to a wire antenna for whatever reason, these are as good as you will get....the materials and construction are top flight.
 
KC9IMT Rating: 5/5 Sep 4, 2007 05:42 Send this review to a friend
All advertised bands are < 1.5:1 SWR ... Laying on the roof!!!  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I read a lot of reviews about wire antennas, and after ordering a Windom from another company (which never showed up), I decided to give this one a shot.

A lot of reviews about this company which complained about customer service and how Buck has an "attitude problem" ... Well, I haven't had to call them yet because their product is amazing!!!! I ordered the windom on a Wednesday at 3:00 p.m. central time, and Buxcomm shipped it that day!!!!!!!!! My YL said, "What?!? They got it out today?!?" I had the antenna that Friday and played with it all weekend.

My lot isn't that big, so installed it from corner to corner across the hypotenuse of the lot. By doing this, most of the antenna is lying flat on my roof, and the balun is secured to the back of my garage. It tunes every single band at less than 1.5:1 SWR without a tuner. Calling CQ on 80m SSB got me a guy in eastern Wisconsin on the first try. 20m was pretty dead this weekend, I'll have to try it in a few days. The thing even hears amazing coiled up in a ball!!

All of this for around $120?! I highly recommend this windom - you'll actually receive it too!!!
 
AB2KT Rating: 5/5 Apr 12, 2006 22:29 Send this review to a friend
Really good so far  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Hung this antenna at about 35' between trees, running 200' of RG-8 back to the shack. All the advertised bands tune up < 1.2:1 with the tuner in my IC-746.

Local QRN on 40 meters dropped from constant S5 to S1 at worst. Made several QSOs in Eastern Europe and European Russia on 20 and 40 in the late afternoon, first such DX in many months. I had no idea the bands were so busy lately :-)

So far it beats every vertical I've used in the last 5 years.
 


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.