eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


Reviews Categories | Transceivers: VHF/UHF+ Amateur Hand-held | Motorola XTS 5000 Help


Reviews Summary for Motorola XTS 5000
Motorola XTS 5000 Reviews: 8 Average rating: 5.0/5 MSRP: $4,400
Description: The XTS 5000 family of ASTRO digital portable two-way radios deliver sophisticated features -- signaling schemes, encryption, analog/digital compatibility, conventional and trunking capability. Check your flashcode to see what options are installed.


Large PTT button
Angled On/Off volume knob
Orange emergency button
Illuminated 16-position, top-mounted rotary knob
2-position concentric switch
3-position toggle switch
Programmable monitor button
2 programmable side buttons
Transmit/Receive LED indicator
Up to 850 channels (on Model II and Model III radios - only 48 on Model I)
Dial from prestored lists
Programmable softkeys for easy access to radio functions
Backit keypad
- 2 x 3 navigational keys (on Models II and III)
Large display
- 4 lines and 12 characters
- Status icons including battery (with impress batteries) and power indicator
- Signal strenght display on Trunked Systems only
4 x 3 DTMF (on Model III only)
Product is in production.
More info: http://www.motorola.com/governmentandenterprise/northamerica/en-us/public/functions/browseproduct/transnavone.aspx?navigationpath=id_803i/id_1388i#id_1670i
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the Motorola XTS 5000.

AJ4VS Rating: 5/5 Oct 18, 2010 13:16 Send this review to a friend
GREAT radio!!!  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
I love this ht! It has great tx/rx, selectivity, etc... If you buy one, I would suggest you look for options Q52 AND Q53 for front panel programing ability.

The only (slight) negatives I can think of is that this radio is not light at all..but I prefer the sturdy feel. Secondly, it is not cheap, but you really do get a grreat radio for the $ spent.
 
KK9H Rating: 5/5 Aug 31, 2010 15:45 Send this review to a friend
A solid, commercial grade Motorola radio  Time owned: more than 12 months
As stated in the title, this is a solid, commercial grade, industrial radio. I have the VHF model and our group has an APCO 25 repeater to use it with. The repeater operates either in FM or digital mode depending on which mode you transmit up to it. The XTS-5000 is very flexible in how you can set it up. Using it is a joy, but it's heavy. Both FM and APCO 25 sound great from it and in true commercial style there is plenty of audio. Did I say that it is heavy? Anyhow, I really like how I have the different features programmed in mine and I enjoy using it in both digital and FM modes. Obviously, they are very expensive, but they are among the very best HTs to be had based on what they were designed to do.
 
W2WP Rating: 5/5 Jul 19, 2010 09:14 Send this review to a friend
Best HT I've owned  Time owned: more than 12 months
With prices dropping on these now is the time to pick up IMHO one of the best HT's on the market. (I would suggest one that has all matching tags just in case you do ever need service.)

There is nothing negative I can think of on this radio. TX/RX audio is great. You can get an Impres 4100 mAh battery that lasts forever It actually charges to almost 4300). Of course the FPP is a must have option (Q52/Q53) and make sure you have the latest (or as close as possible) Host & DSP versions.

You will not be sorry owning this radio.
 
N4KVE Rating: 5/5 Jul 5, 2010 16:58 Send this review to a friend
BEST MOTOROLA YET  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I just got one of these, & it's the best Motorola radio yet. I've had XTS3000's Astro Sabers, Jedi's, STX's, MT1000's etc, but this is just the best. Why? You can enter the freq's, offsets, PL tones, Nac codes, ch names, & just about everything else from the keypad. FPP rocks! No laptop needed unless you want to change the function of a button or switch, menu item, or a scan list. TX audio is great, & so is RX. Also, all my 3000 accessories fit, so all I needed was the radio. Prices have been falling since the APX line is out. This radio is GREAT! GARY N4KVE
 
KD8NFT Rating: 5/5 Jun 1, 2010 07:57 Send this review to a friend
XTS 5000  Time owned: more than 12 months
Great Radio!!! I have a VHF, check the flash code when you buy it. You will want one that can do FPP if you don't get that option it's hard finding someone to program the radio for you.
 
W2NJS Rating: 5/5 Nov 9, 2009 08:03 Send this review to a friend
Some more details about the radio.  Time owned: more than 12 months
Since the original reviews for the XTS5000 were written there have been some updates to the radio's system that should be mentioned. The current "big thing" is the FPP feature which has presented some problems due to interactions with various levels of firmware in the radios. The two flashcode items required to do FPP are Q52 and Q53. If you have both you can do FPP with any version of firmware and CPS. However, if your radio has only Q52 then you're limited to nothing higher than version 9 for firmware and CPS. Not that there's anything wrong with version 9 stuff, it's just older, and so-called upgrades/improvements in later versions have no real effect on ham operations. (What happens if you have only Q52 but not Q53 as well with firmware/software higher than 9 is that you LOSE the FPP capability when you go to use the FPP function.)

One other thing that was not mentioned in previous reviews is the radio's ability (if the feature has been included in your radio's flashcode) to do P25/digital comms. As more and more P25 ham repeaters come into existence this very nice, quiet, and reliable means of communicating will see much more activity. A standard analog FM repeater will not repeat a digital signal so a special Motorola repeater, called a Quantar, is required. P25 also works very well on simplex and, being an "open sky" (meaning it's available to everyone) protocol is perfectly legal on the hambands.
 
WCHIJA Rating: 5/5 May 8, 2008 23:46 Send this review to a friend
Awesome!  Time owned: more than 12 months
I use this radio for work and play. It's 6 watts of VHF power and it's advanced design makes this radio a winner in the areas of actual tx and rx. The 4000mah lion battery lets you talk all day. Programming is a pain, however you can establish an account with Motorola to purchase the software. Somer versions of the radio are front pannel programmable and most functions can be programmed in via the key pad. It is not as flexible as my VX-7R, but for VHF work it is great.
 
KD5KAK Rating: 5/5 Apr 19, 2006 09:27 Send this review to a friend
SWEET!  Time owned: more than 12 months
Best radio I have ever owned. It's the top of the line radio that Motorola offers now, and it's great. The display is very easy to read (Upper AND lower case! - and a clock!), the radio "boots" up quick (unlike the XTS3000), and is very feature filled (or can be). The buttons and knobs are easy to push/turn with gloves or anything else, but don't get hit or changed unintentionally usually. Downside - the radio does need to be programmed my a dealer, or by using expensive CPS software. My VHF radio of choice is this XTS5000.
 


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.