eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


Reviews Categories | SWR & Wattmeters & Dummy Loads | MFJ-815c Help


Reviews Summary for MFJ-815c
MFJ-815c Reviews: 7 Average rating: 3.4/5 MSRP: $89.95
Description: The MFJ-815C cross-needle meter allows you to monitor both forward and reflected power simultaneously. There are buttons to select either Peak or Average reading and power ranges of 300/3000 watts forward and 60/600 watts reflected. Frequency coverage is 1.8 to 30 MHz with a measurement accuracy of 10%. The average power is measured when the PEAK/AVG button is out. Peak envelope power (PEP) is measured when the PEAK/AVG button is pushed in. The Peak Reading function of this meter requires external 12 VDC or a 9 volt battery (not supplied) to operate. See MFJ-1312D sold separately. Please note that the meter lamps will function with external 12 VDC, but not from the 9 volt battery. The rear panel features SO-239 connectors for input and output. 7.25 x 3.5 x 4.5 inches. (Replaces earlier MFJ-815B).

Product is in production.
More info: http://www.mfjenterprises.com/products.php?prodid=MFJ-815C
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the MFJ-815c.

NA5XX Rating: 0/5 Mar 20, 2015 20:54 Send this review to a friend
How does MFJ stay in business  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
My meter has several issues. The meter fell into the housing so I had to open it up to re-glue it into the unit. When I removed the lid, I immediately saw three wires that needed to re re soldered. I hope I got them connected to the right locations. I hear of these quality issues with MFJ over and over. How are the still in business.
 
W9PMZ Rating: 4/5 Feb 21, 2013 17:24 Send this review to a friend
so far so good...  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Worked out of the box no problems.
Accurate against my laboratory grade watt meter.
Uses a yellowish LED. I had an extra Ameritron LED for an amp and swapped. Now all LEDs are the same colors.
Really good value.
 
W7VO Rating: 5/5 Nov 21, 2012 12:08 Send this review to a friend
Have a bunch of 'em  Time owned: more than 12 months
I use these MFJ 815C wattmeters on each of my three stations, plus one that I keep on a shelf for Field day use. Are they accurate? Who knows. Do they tell me if I am transmitting and have a decent SWR? Certainly. What more do you need? Who cares if you are putting out 196.8 watts or "about 200"?

What I really like about them is that they are only $20-35 used at the hamfests all day long. For the money they cannot be beat.

Never had one fail, but never bought a new one either.
 
NB9M Rating: 1/5 Nov 21, 2012 07:44 Send this review to a friend
Too light for a doorstop.  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
Out of the box maybe 6 months ago, the new MFJ-815 was scratched, as well as having numerous paint imperfections. Build and materials quality are undeniably sub-par. When it was working at all, it ignored anything less than 15 watts.

Now, it is deader than a hammer. Lost the receipt, so am using it as a doorstop, along with the other dead MFJ products I was foolish enough to pick up through the years.
 
W9UCR Rating: 5/5 Mar 26, 2012 12:22 Send this review to a friend
Good Meter. How do you calibrate it?  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
No problems with the meter. It seems to work as advertised. I think it might read a bit high as it says I'm getting 650 Watts out (CW) with my AL-811. I'm curious as to how you calibrate this device??? Or is the answer "borrow a Bird Wattmeter and run a calibration chart?"

73, Bob W9UCR
 
JUNKMAN Rating: 5/5 Feb 9, 2011 19:52 Send this review to a friend
Excellent product for the money  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I've owned all of the top of the line wattmeters but I was just needing a simple and cheap wattmeter to check out an amplifier that I had just bought and decided to give this one a try. Well for $90 I'd say it's a real good buy. The meter works very well although I did have to calibrate it right out of the box. The 300 watt scale was showing my TS-590 doing 160 watts and I knew this was not the case. After calibration all works great. I like the way it tracks with your speech and the meter isd large enough and bright enough that I have no trouble seeing it. I was a litle disappointed to discover that it did not have LED backlighting as it was advertised as having but that's ok. All around a very good meter for less than $100.
 
KI6OSH Rating: 4/5 Jan 8, 2009 13:11 Send this review to a friend
Works well...  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I would have given this meter a 5 but it arrived with a rattling piece of plastic inside and no directions. Removed the rattle and no ill effects...seems to work well for me.
 


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.