eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


Reviews Categories | Feedlines (coax, ladder-line, etc.) | LadderLoc Help


Reviews Summary for LadderLoc
LadderLoc Reviews: 9 Average rating: 4.8/5 MSRP: $15
Description: A center insulator designed specifically for antennas that are fed with 450 Ohm window-type ladder line. Uses the webbing rather than the copper conductors to support the hanging weight of the line.
Product is in production.
More info: http://
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the LadderLoc.

NC4RT Rating: 5/5 May 10, 2008 09:07 Send this review to a friend
Works well  Time owned: more than 12 months
I've used this product in two locations. It has worked well each time, lasting for 10+years.

66 feet of wire and some window line, with a tuner and a balun makes for a great wide band multiband QRP antenna.
 
NL7W Rating: 5/5 Feb 20, 2008 23:47 Send this review to a friend
Ladder-Loc = Excellence.  Time owned: more than 12 months
I have an 80-meter, 450-ohm dipole strung between the trees (at 50 ft.) in my front and back-yards here in windy Palmer, Alaska. It's been up now for four years without a hitch. The antenna and Ladder-Loc have withstood a minimum of 12 winter/spring windstorms of no less than 75 mph -- each sometime lasting for days on end. I wish my roof's peak shingles would last long...

Without the integrated and weighted pulley system to keep the antenna taut and flexible as the white birch trees sway, as well as the quality parts installed, like this Ladder-Loc and the Wireman's stranded, coated, 13 ga., copperweld wire, this antenna would have come down long ago.

Don't hesitate to use this product. Just be wary of soldering (heating) wires running through the unit -- make larger loops and keep the solder joints well away from the plastic when constructing, and/or "heatsink" the wire to keep the Ladder-Loc plastic cold.

All in all, an awesome design and well-made product.

73.
 
NB7I Rating: 3/5 Oct 18, 2007 15:02 Send this review to a friend
Lasted 5 Years  Time owned: more than 12 months
Antenna fell down after 5 years. The center hole had failed (just ate thru the plastic). The nice green color was bleached white by the sun. Put metal washers on the support hole, painted it, and gave it to a friend who has been using it for 2 years. The ladder line never failed in either case.
Reinforce the hole, probably last for ten years before the antenna falls down!

 
KC8HXO Rating: 5/5 Mar 29, 2007 07:58 Send this review to a friend
Good Idea!!  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
I have it in the junction from my 450 Ohm Window line to the feed point of my "skywire loop" (274 foot loop, oriented horizontally). Made it thru a Michigan winter with no problems. Must be OK!
 
AK1O Rating: 5/5 Aug 27, 2006 20:53 Send this review to a friend
Tough and Useful  Time owned: more than 12 months
I installed the LadderLoc about 10 years ago on a 130' zepp after having several feedline conductor breakages. I recently dropped the antenna to replace the rope and LadderLoc and do an inspection. The LadderLoc is filthy and stained, and covered with spider webs but still strong as ever.
 
K7TCE Rating: 5/5 Jul 13, 2006 16:04 Send this review to a friend
Great product  Time owned: more than 12 months
I've been using mine on a 130' dipole. It has been up for 6 years straight, at 70', between two 100' trees. I don't know why the wire or LadderLoc doesn't break -- it just stays up.

It is made of some kind of green plastic, so as with any plastic insulator, you use a heat sink between the solder joint and the LadderLoc.

 
VE4AMN Rating: 5/5 Jul 13, 2006 11:52 Send this review to a friend
Very useful  Time owned: more than 12 months
This is a handy, easy to use device that should end problems with ladder line separating at the antenna.
 
KC8Y Rating: 5/5 Jul 13, 2006 08:09 Send this review to a friend
perfect for ladder-line  Time owned: more than 12 months
I've used this device for a 135-ft dipole, with my tuner...works great for bands 80-10M, also tie ends together for operation on the 160M band; BUT because I had work done on the outside of the house, had to take down, after using/being-up for 3-years...Now putting-up another one, since outside work is complete on house...Is perfect device for my ladder-line
 
K3AN Rating: 5/5 Jul 13, 2006 06:36 Send this review to a friend
Does The Job  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
This product makes it easy to support window-type ladder line and connect the antenna wires to it. Simple, rugged, inexpensive. What's not to like?
 


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.