eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


Reviews Categories | Transceivers: VHF/UHF+ Amateur Hand-held | Icom IC-91 Help


Reviews Summary for Icom IC-91
Icom IC-91 Reviews: 8 Average rating: 4.4/5 MSRP: $ $369.95
Description: Type: Amateur VHF/UHF transceiver
Frequency range: TX: 144-146 / 430-440 MHz
RX: 0.495-999.990 MHz
5/6.25/8.33/9/10/12.5/15/20/25/30/50/100/200 KHz steps
Mode: TX: FM (DV option (Digital voice) UT-121)
RX: AM/FM/WFM (DV option (Digital voice) UT-121)
RF Power output: Hi: 5/5
Lo: 0.5/0.5 W
Sensitivity: N/A
Selectivity: N/A
Image rejection: N/A
Voltage: ? VDC battery or 10-16 VDC external
Current drain: RX: 17-370 mA
TX: Max 2.2 A
Impedance: 50 ohms, SMA
Dimensions (W*H*D): 58*103*34 mm
Weight: 300 gr (with battery and antenna)
Manufactured: Japan, 2006-200x
Other: 1304 memories. DTMF and CTCSS. Spectrum scope
PC-programmable. Alpha tags. Twin RX. D-Star option
Product is in production.
More info: http://www.icom.co.jp/world/products/amateur/e91/index.html
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the Icom IC-91.

VE7REN Rating: 5/5 Feb 18, 2017 16:19 Send this review to a friend
excellent  Time owned: more than 12 months
whats not to like. fits well in hand, great size,the dual receive is awesome,and its got great backlighting for night use. battery life is stellar and the aa pack uses my duracells for a long time. overall a great ht. if I had one complaint.....the volume could be a little louder for a noisy environment. but it works ok ..I have the ic80ad and its identical other then dual receive. and I rate it the same class as this one
 
VA7VO Rating: 5/5 May 30, 2013 18:38 Send this review to a friend
Great Dualband  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
First of all i give it a five considering that a 4 does not describe the performance. I got this in a partial trade and so far i like it.
Easy to program and to setup into memory groups/banks.
Manual requires some reading as they believe you are Icom intuitive.....
Fits nicely in the hand, not much difference in this than the Knwd Thf6.
Good audio perhaps it's me but it is a nice little radio for basic communications and monitoring the airbands.
Battery life is better than my Kenwood.

Glenn, VA7VO
 
F8RFL Rating: 3/5 Jan 27, 2012 09:44 Send this review to a friend
Too small rig, little autonomy  Time owned: more than 12 months
He does what is asked, but here are the main complaints:

The sound delivered by the too small HP is poor.
The battery life is low and the charge indicator too imprecise.

Is it necessary to produce ever smaller ?

73"
Eric - F8RFL
 
WX0NWS Rating: 4/5 Jul 27, 2011 06:13 Send this review to a friend
IC-91A  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
This radio is very nice and works well on TX/RX.

PROS:
*Dual Recieve w/Dual S-Meters
*Green Backlight
*Feels good in hand because it's shaped like a microphone
*The VFO/Volume knobs have nice tension.
*Very easy to operate and program.
*RF Squelch function in menu (great for keeping out traffic light noise at intersections)
*Feels very solid, even the stock antenna is solid
*Not a bunch of fancy features to work through, the menu is simple and well formatted


CONS:
*Belt clip needs to be replaced with an Icom MB-111 (fits perfectley)
*Heavy
*Backlight brightness level is unadjustable but it's nice and dim for night use only
*Must reset the radio when you get it, there are some weird things stored in the memory

73 DE WXNWS Donnie
 
2E0PAK Rating: 4/5 Apr 9, 2009 05:58 Send this review to a friend
Well featured "handie"  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
This is a great choice for a dual bander, in a very compact, fully featured unit.

As previous reviewer mentioned, everything is intuitive - apart from programming the memories for repeaters - not simple at all (in fact I still only have managed to get one in properly and working!) hence my 4/5.

Can highly recommend it, especially for the dual watch facility, if you're a newbie to VHF/UHF like I was!
 
KB3MMX Rating: 4/5 Feb 25, 2007 06:09 Send this review to a friend
Not for Construction environment  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
HIGHS:
--Big display, easy to read
--Quick charging
--Li-ion battery is small
--Reciever coverage
--Display backligting
--SUPER EASY to understand LOGICAL MENU!!(WOW!)
--Programming software is EXCELLENT!!!!
--Battery has a water resistant seal around it.
--Good audio compared to Yaesu water proof models

LOWS:
--1300Mah battery doesn't cut it for a talker like myself
--Speaker volume hard to hear in a high noise environment compared to the V82 and the T2H which has incredibly loud audio!!
--Stock antenna stinks compared to the diamond RH77 aftermarket replacement.

================================================
================================================
Wishes:
--Why can't ICOM include SSB reception!!

--Why can't ANYONE give us a 2000+Mah Li-Ion Battery pack!!!!! FOR PETE'S SAKE!!!!!
My V82 and T2H give FULL output on 2650Mah Ni-Mh rechargeables(duracell for $16 at wal-mart) that last for a minimum of TWO SHIFTS at work without charging!!!!
These Amateur radio manufacturers need to GET ON THE BALL and make a REAL WORKING MAN HT!!!

--Would have preffered a BNC antenna jack for easier swappng of antennas on a regular basis.

--6 Meter coverage would have been nice.


I guess that's about it.



73,
DE KB3MMX--Chuck


 
MM0PMW Rating: 5/5 Feb 17, 2007 03:30 Send this review to a friend
Well featured rugged dual band handheld transceiver  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
This is a good radio, it feels good in the hand,I would describe it as rugged. The IC-E91 as it is known in the UK,has the benefit fo a wideband reciver.
My preference in use is the Auto squelch setting, for all modes.
It is very easy to use,audio reports are good,I use it with a speaker/mic.Having owned five other handhelds,(Yaesu VX-7R and VX6E, the Kenwwod TH-F7E and two Alinco handheld radios) this radio is user friendly in comparison to some of the the others I have owned. It is a good all rounder in my book.
 
LA9AKA Rating: 5/5 Dec 3, 2006 00:27 Send this review to a friend
Great radio!  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I have owned several handhelds, this one is by far the best and easiest to use! No need to consult the manual, the menu system is very logical.
Overall quality is very good, including knobs, display and the casing itself. And I have received only good signal/audio reports on the air with this radio.
 


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.