eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


Reviews Categories | Receivers: General Coverage | Icom IC-PCR1500 Communications Receiver Help


Reviews Summary for Icom IC-PCR1500 Communications Receiver
Icom  IC-PCR1500 Communications Receiver Reviews: 11 Average rating: 4.5/5 MSRP: $499.99
Description: The IC-PCR1500 is a PC controlled receiver with all functions controlled via the PC interface. Coverage is from 0.01 to 3299MHz.
Product is in production.
More info: http://www.icomamerica.com
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the Icom IC-PCR1500 Communications Receiver.

Page 1 of 2 —>

ZS5J Rating: 5/5 Jul 20, 2016 14:21 Send this review to a friend
Receives it all  Time owned: more than 12 months
I bought one of these from AES in Milwaukee on a vacation trip there several years ago. I also bought the remote head, which was an option, and it came bundled with Bonito software in addition to the Icom software.

It worked extremely well with the remote control head. I then tried the Bonito software - absolute trash. I tried for days to get the Bonito software to talk to the 1500 without success. I thought it was me, but then I looked at the reviews for the Bonito software here on eHam, and everyone says the same thing. I then tried the Icom software, it worked okay but was full of bugs, and quite restricted in functionality. After a few days use I put it back in its box and kept in storage in a closet. It stayed there in the closet many years, maybe 8 years.

Then in April I bought a new IC-7300. While looking at the Icom firmware download page, looking at IC-7300 updates, I noticed there had been several new firmware AND software updates for this receiver since I had bought it. I installed the latest firmware into the receiver, and loaded the latest control software onto the PC, and wow.....it is now wonderful to use with a PC - so many enhancements !!!! The latest firmware and software has made this receiver really functional and a joy to use with a PC.

As far as receiver performance - it is excellent, it really can receive anything and everything that is out there. Massive coverage, all the modes, extremely fast scanning, excellent band scope with the latest firmware and software, recording to the PC etc
 
K5CPF Rating: 5/5 Oct 13, 2014 18:03 Send this review to a friend
Great Receiver  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
I have been using an Icom IC-PCR1500 for about a year and have thoroughly enjoyed it for monitoring the HF band using a Ventenna VT-SWL active shortwave antenna.

Using FLDigi and MultiPSK, I enjoyed 20 meter PSK31 so much that I picked up a Small Wonders PK20 QRP rig and attached a MFJ-1786 to it with remarkable results for <1 watt into the antenna at 2ft.

Because of that experience, I now find myself awaiting delivery of an Icom IC-7100, which means that the IC-PCR1500 will become a secondary receiver.
 
K5TED Rating: 5/5 Feb 4, 2012 15:07 Send this review to a friend
Great receivers  Time owned: more than 12 months
I have a fleet of PCR's including two PCR-100's, two PCR-1000's and two PCR-1500's.

They are all set up as web controlled receivers, and all work quite well.

 
AUSSIE Rating: 5/5 Feb 4, 2012 12:52 Send this review to a friend
Excellent  Time owned: more than 12 months
I bought the Icom-PCR1500 when it came out mainly monitor the vhf airbands antenna Icom-AH7000 discone for hf hooked up to a Wellbrook-ALA1530 active loop to monitor aero/utilities performance on hf/vhf/uhf is excellent both antennas are hooked up to a Watson WAM-599 antenna combiner very happy with purchase..

Regards Lino..
 
WA7ZYQ Rating: 5/5 Jan 19, 2012 00:51 Send this review to a friend
Outstanding Receiver  Time owned: more than 12 months
PAULGBLUNDELL has given a very thorough review and I can only say that I agree with most of what he says and won't repeat it. I have tried several other SDR receivers (and not a few non-SDR) looking for one that covers all of the bases well and this is the one that I kept.

I enjoy, in particular, MW and SW use of the radio. There are nights when I can barely get a MW signal on other receivers that I get a solid copy signal virtually every 10 KHZ with this radio.

I use it 90+% of the time with the control head and only wish that the head fit onto the body of the receiver similarly to the Icom 706, 703, etc. Once you get used to using the control head, it is hard to see why you need the computer if you aren't going to use it for scanning memory banks, etc. I am a manual tuner and with the control head, tuning is very versatile, with the ability to switch modes, tuning steps, etc, very smoothly and quickly.

In my experience and for my use, this radio is a solid winner.
 
N7BUI Rating: 0/5 Aug 31, 2009 19:46 Send this review to a friend
Deaf as a rock on VHF/UHF  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I purchased this radio to replace a PCR-1000 due to poor sensitivity on the VHF/UHF bands. I found out it was even worse! Wish I had looked at the Icom specs. Comparing between a full quieting signal on a Yaesu FT-897, the Icom was extremely noisy. Same antenna and cable as the Yaesu. Sold it within days of purchasing. I'm not sure why Icom made the front end of the higher bands on these radios so poor. I would certainly not recommend any of this series. Icom has put out some fantastic UHF/VHF radios, but the performance seems to have bypassed the 1000/1500's. For shortwave listening below 30 Mhz they do a pretty good job.
 
W1TXT Rating: 5/5 Jul 13, 2008 04:10 Send this review to a friend
Very Enjoyable  Time owned: more than 12 months
I've had the receiver since they first came out and have not experienced any problems. I enjoy this receiver and have it deployed on www.globaltuners.com if you would like to try it. The radio has the DSP option installed, which I think is not of much value. I wish ICOM had designed the receiver to do band scans in SSB but other than that, I think it's a joy to use. Mine has the remote head, which I don't really use.

You won't go wrong with this receiver.
 
AF4KK Rating: 5/5 Jul 4, 2008 17:52 Send this review to a friend
Amazing receiver! (WOW!)  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Is there something this radio CAN'T do? I can hear the LF beacons, the utility staions, the HAMs, the "mega-watters", the public saftey (poice, fire, etc) all the way to the the microwave relays (sort of). The radio's kind of "deaf" under 400 kHz and over 1300 mHz but it still holds it own very well. I purchased the R-1500 with the remote head and it adds even MORE to the versatility of this unit! GREAT radio, Icom!!
 
PAULGBLUNDELL Rating: 5/5 Jun 11, 2007 21:50 Send this review to a friend
Great unit - Love the Remote Head  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Icom R1500 Review
June 2007

Specs / what you get
The Icom IC-R1500 remote head / PC control DC daylight receiver is one of four models currently available from Icom, a well known and much respected electronics manufacturer in Japan.

Many amateur radios operators swear by Icom gear and my previous experience with Icom equipment has included the R5 and R20 handheld scanners, the V82 amateur 2m handheld and IC-P7A 2/70 mini handheld as well as the monster R8500 wideband receiver.

All of my previous experiences with Icom have been very enjoyable and about the only thing I can say is that their gear is very different from your average Uniden or Radio Shack scanner and so if your use to that sort of equipment then be prepared for a fairly steep learning curve with the R1500.

The R1500 has some very impressive specs / features, some of these include:

10 kHz-3300MHz range
2600 channels per file (1000 w/R1500)
Scan rate of 60 channels per second.
10, 20, 50, 100, 500Hz; 1, 2.5, 5, 6.25, 8.33, 9, 10, 12.5, 15, 20, 25, 30, 50, 100, 125, 150, 200, 500 kHz; 1MHz steps
AM, WFM, FM, LSB, USB and CW
CTCSS/DCS decode
Multi-channel monitor
Recording operation
Band scope
Signal meter
Attenuator
Narrow/wide filters
Noise blanker (NB)
Automatic notch filter (ANF) (optional)
Noise Reduction (NR) (optional)
Voice squelch control (VSC)
AFC
AGC
Priority watch
Auto store
Frequency offset (duplex feature)
6-character alpha-tag (On remote head)
50 search limits
Import / export CSV files
What you get out of the box:
Icom R 1500 unit this is quite large but lighter then what it
looks and seems to be very well built.
It has the following connections:
BNC aerial connection
Ground Connection
12V DC in
PACKET connection
Remote controller
USB Connection
External Speaker

12 V DC power supply this is quite small and seems to work fine.

USB Cable this is quite short and Icom don't recommend the use of
other USB cables, I have tested it with a good quality 20M USB cable
and it still seemed to work ok. This might be a good option for somebody who wants to mount the R1500 unit away from the computer and use a shorter coax cable for less signal loss, maybe in a roof or somewhere like that.

Test aerial - This is a telescopic whip on with a base that has double
sided tape and a few meters of coax, I used it for a while and seemed
to work ok but you really need to use an external aerial to get the
most from it.

Software / driver CD This has the drivers and the Icom software. The
software in general is good but a few of the features seem to not
quite work as they should, the scope feature seems to cause the radio
to drop it's audio and the record feature does not work at all, if
these are issues with the software or I have not got them setup right
I don't know.

Remote Head To me this is the best thing about the radio and works
very well with it. Not all the features that you can use via the PC are supported on the remote head but there are enough to keep you busy for quite a while.


PC use
The first step to getting the R1500 working with a PC is to install the software and driver that comes on the enclosed CD, this is a simple process for anybody who has ever installed software before and only takes a couple of seconds to install.

When you connect up the R1500 to the computer (in my case a laptop) using the USB cable you are asked which port it is on, once you set this you are away and can explore the software and the many features it offer.

The R1500 software seems to work very well and has a lot of features.

I have programmed in the 360 channels I normally have in all my radios, one thing is that Icom have finally got the software right this time as far as programming goes, you can now import / export you files in CSV format so it is a simple copy / paste job, unlike the software for the R20 which you had to manually type in everything.

Each bank can have 99 channels but you can finally have multi-bank
scanning which makes it great for people like me with heaps of
channels they want to scan.

My normal test of scanning my 360 VHF / UHF channels has shown that not a single channel has had any issues at all with lockups or rubbish from my laptop getting on to the radio, if only I could say the same for my 396T which has quite a few issues when used near my laptop, especially in the UHF band between 470MHz and 490MHz.

I have also run a search of the following ranges to see if I get any
problems with lock ups, here's the results using the internal test aerial.
70MHz 86MHz 3
118MHz 136MHz 1
144MHz 174MHz 3
406MHz 512MHz 14

As you can see above it does lock up on some channels, thankfully none
of them carry traffic I want to listen to so I am not fussed about it.
The UHF channels above where it locked up were around the 408 MHz
area and the 470-490 MHz area.

One of the best features I have found is the 25 channel multi mode
monitor; basically it allows you to program 25 channels and watch on
the screen as they become active, you then simply click on the active
channel and you hear the audio, I think I am going to get a heap of
use out of this feature, I was using it last night for a while and it was really good to be able to see what channels were active and simply click on them and hear the audio.

I tried a little bit of HF using the laptop to control it but I was getting too much RFI from my laptop to make it worth listening.


Remote head use
The remote head works very well and that's how I use it most of the
time, as it has a 3.5m cord so I can leave the main body of the R1500
beside my bed and just move the head around depending on where I am
sitting.

Setting up the R1500 in my car, which required the purchase of a $20 cable to power it and taking it to a hill top in Launceston really showed what a versatile receiver this is.

I setup at Free Landers lookout in Riverside. I
decided on that spot as it is line of sight to Mt Barrow, Abel's
Hill, West Launceston and the FM station in riverside so it is a
fairly tough spot for radios, my 396T performs worse up there then
even on the top of Mt Barrow with all the high power stuff a only
few hundred meters away.

Running my first test of scanning my 360 VHF / UHF channels I have
programmed in to the R1500 with the mobile aerial didn't show any where
near as many problems as I was expecting or what the 396T has up
there with even it's normal aerial let along on the external one. I
only found 4 channels with problems and they were not any ones I
really listen to that much.

Searching each of the following bands with the mobile aerial showed
the following:
70-86MHz 5 channels with broadcast band audio / lock ups.
118-136MHz 0 problems (VERY surprising)
144174MHz 4 channels with mainly 7NT (91.7MHz) audio
406-450MHz 12 channels, mostly between 411-414 with TV audio.
462-512MHz 14 channels with TV audio, around 488MHz, 497MHz and
503MHz
865-870MHz 9 EDACS control channels and 6 channels with broadcast
audio between 867.8 and 868.5625MHz

So overall it seems to work quite well and I am very happy with it.
I also had a bit of a listen to HF with about 20m of wire hanging
between my car and a tree up there and it seemed to work ok, I did
notice some broadcast band signals between 2MHz and 30Mhz but I
guess given where I was that is not really unexpected.

I have been using it at home this afternoon and running it side by
side with the 396T scanning the same VHF / UHF channels (no
trunking) shows it's scan speed is around 40 channels a second and
that I am picking up so much more then the 396T does.

Good points
- Remote head is great and works really well.
- Wide Band coverage
- Fast scan / search speed (around 40-50 steps / channels per second)
- Bank linking actually works
- AFC (see how far off people radios are on UHF CB)
- Voice Scan Gets rid of the annoying EDACS beeps and is set per channel
- 50 search banks
- Many other things I have not even tried yet.
- Great Audio.
- Multi-channel monitor (see 25 channels at once)

Bad points
- Has some small issues with broadcast audio (AM and FM bands) on other channels.
- Only 6 character alpha tags on remote head.
- Manually adding a channel on the remote head is easy once you have done it a few time but is very slow


Overall comments
This radio was purchased as my do it all radio and has to last me a few years so I was looking for the best radio that I could afford, I think I have found it.

One strange thing I have noticed is that you have two totally
different sets of memory, one when you are using a pc / laptop to
control it and another when using the remote head, when using the
different control methods you can only access the memory for that
mode, this means you have to keep two different memory sets updated
with information if you want to change info or add new stuff.
When you connect up the USB cable you can read / write the "internal"
memory that is used with the remote head and make changes but you
can't scan the channels, only the ones in the pc / laptop file.

So over all I am quite happy with it. Icom seem to have taken the best
features of the r8500 and the R20 and put them all together in to this
package.
The software works very well and I can't find anything I don't like
about it so far, it is full of options and it will take me quite a while to come to terms with it all.

Sure it is not quite to the same level as an AOR 5000 type radio (but it is close) and some people might not like the idea of having a radio that needs a pc to use some of the features but to do most things you can use the remote head.
I really do think that I have finally found a radio that suits my needs. The VHF /UHF performance is great for my needs and is better then my Uniden 396T.

I have not had much of a chance to use HF on it yet but having a bit
of a listen to some HF channels this morning has shown it is capable
of picking them up fairly well, 8867KHz and 5643KHz are two I have been getting very well.

Over all I am very impressed with it and it will be my main rig for quite a long time, atleast until the R3000 comes out 

Paul
www.scaningtasmania.org
www.geocities.com/paulgblundell
 
N3PKC Rating: 5/5 Dec 3, 2006 12:56 Send this review to a friend
Excellent  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Wonderful receiver. Real-world sensitivity on 50MHz USB is up to par with my proII. The connection is nice, but getting the audio to come out of your computer speakers is sometimes difficult to configure. Once you get it set right, that works great. Easy recording is nice. I would have liked to have seen more than 25 channel banks from the beginning. The selectable filters are nice, but I would have liked have seen a fuller range audio across the board. For monitoring, it's no better than a PCR1000 aside from some conveniences you should do on your own anyway (Like PC audio recording & USB connection). I wonder if the built-in downconverter for the higher frequencies has any kind of attenuation effect on other frequency ranges? I'll be curious to see what others have to say about this.
 
Page 1 of 2 —>


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.