eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


Reviews Categories | Ham Radio Awards | ARRL QRP DXCC AWARD Help


Reviews Summary for ARRL QRP DXCC AWARD
ARRL QRP DXCC AWARD Reviews: 7 Average rating: 3.3/5 MSRP: $10.00
Description: "The QRP DXCC Award certificate is given for working 100 different DXCC entities on the DXCC list while operating with a transmitter power of 5 watts or less. Applications will be accepted beginning January 2, 2002. Contacts may have been made at any time since November 15, 1945. This award is not endorseable. Certificates will be dated, not numbered. The applicant must certify the authenticity of log information for contacts with 100 entities using 5 watts or less. No QSL cards are required for this award. This award is separate and distinct from the traditional DXCC award program. Credits are not assigned to other DXCC awards. This award is available to all Amateur Radio operators anywhere in the world. The standard DXCC rules apply to this award. The award application and an alpha-numeric list of 100 contacts is required in order to facilitate processing. The fee for this award is $10.00. This includes all postage and handling fees. Faxed and web applications must be accompanied by a credit card number for payment"

Send application forms and fee to: DXCC Desk, ARRL HQ, 225 Main Street, Newington, CT 06111, USA.
Product is in production.
More info: http://www.arrl.org/awards/
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the ARRL QRP DXCC AWARD.

N4DSP Rating: 0/5 Dec 23, 2012 17:21 Send this review to a friend
Discontinue this award  Time owned: more than 12 months
Discontinue this award
Remarks: Awful looking award and surely one that will never find a place on my shack wall. The ARRL could have taken more effort to design an award for commendable excellence worthy of the operator.

This certificate cheapens the Art of QRP and quite embarrassing to me not only as a member of the ARRL but also of being a QRP Operator. This is not worth the paper it is printed on. Imagine the QRO DXCC Award looking like this! Surely the ARRL doesn't think highly of QRP Operators.

This award should be discontinued until a more worthy design is fitting to the QRP Operator.
 
K2QPN Rating: 5/5 Dec 23, 2012 08:37 Send this review to a friend
Fine award.  Time owned: more than 12 months
The ARRL QRP DXCC award is necessarily different form classic DXCC. QRP not does not require confirmed contacts and the use of QRP cannot be proven. I think the award looks great.

I earned my QRP DXCC with a PFR-3 and a vertical and I am proud of it.

73, Bob K2QPN
 
N4EES Rating: 3/5 Dec 23, 2012 05:51 Send this review to a friend
...seems like an ARRL afterthought  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I am very proud of earning DXCC QRP, but I don't understand why, unlike the QRO version of DXCC, the QRP version of the award is not also endorsable to encompass all DXCC entities. As to it's appearance, to me it looks more like a magazine ad than a certificate. Nonetheless, I am proud of the accomplishment...and I am glad the ARRL offers some recognition for QRP achievement.
 
N4NYY Rating: 4/5 Jan 29, 2012 19:29 Send this review to a friend
Nice awards for honor system  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
I gave it a 4 for two reasons.

1. The certificate should be a more classic looking certificate like the regular DXCC award. Right now, it looks to much like a magazine cover.

2. It does not require QSLs, but rather QSOs with you submitting a log and signing a statement that you worked them with less than 5 watts.

I assuming they did the honor system for a reason. Typically, you use a call followed by QRP, for example, N4NYY/QRP. However, even though you make the QSO, the QSL might only be returned as N4NYY. I also am not sure how QRP callsigns work with LoTW.

I guess the bottom line is that if you want to work under 5 watts, then they trust you enough to know that you are honest.

It took less than a year to work this award. If conditions are good on the upper bands, you can work this in a month.
 
K4EQ Rating: 5/5 May 1, 2010 17:11 Send this review to a friend
Nice award!  Time owned: more than 12 months
The ARRL QRP DXCC award is a nice acknowledgment for a station working 100 DXCC entities with low power. However, the League could never certify this like they do for confirming countries worked. Just because someone signs /QRP doesn't mean he or she actually is using low power. The QRP ARCI offers a number of QRP awards for those interested.
 
ON6AB Rating: 1/5 May 1, 2010 15:44 Send this review to a friend
neglected  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Ok, the ARRL has a QRP DXCC award but that's then about all you can say.
Not numbered and not endorsable (I wonder why not), furthermore the award looks like the frontpage of a comic book.

A very poor effort.

The ARRL on the contrary should encourage low power operation for several reasons these days: band polution, TVI, power consumption, radiation, challenge, skill, modern low power digital modes,...

What's the challenge working the world with a KW?

Instead of being a cheap version of the standard dxcc award, the qrp award deserves special attention in order to reflect the extra difficulty to obtain it.
 
OE3SGU Rating: 5/5 Oct 5, 2009 09:38 Send this review to a friend
good idea  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Mine was in the mail today - surprisingly. It only took the leagua 14 days to process my application! This award is a nice idea to honor the achievments of QRP'ers. I worked 90 of the 100 entities with 5 watts and my indoor antenna (superantennas mp 1). I only wish the league had more QRP awards. Remember: Power is no substitute for skill!
 


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.