eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


Reviews Categories | Microphones | Neumann U87Ai Large Diaphragm Microphone Help


Reviews Summary for Neumann U87Ai Large Diaphragm Microphone
Neumann U87Ai Large Diaphragm Microphone Reviews: 3 Average rating: 5.0/5 MSRP: $2,799.95
Description: Over 50,000 U87 users can't be wrong, this microphone is the professional standard and sets the mark by which all others are measured. The U 87 will celebrate its 40th birthday in 2007 and is still going strong.

The U 87 is probably the best-known and most widely used Neumann studio microphone. It is equipped with a large dual-diaphragm capsule with 3 directional patterns: omnidirectional, cardioid, and figure-8. These are selectable with a switch below the headgrille. A 10 dB attenuation switch, located on the rear, enables the microphone to handle sound pressure levels up to 127 dB without distortion. Furthermore, the low frequency response can be reduced to compensate for proximity effect.

Features:
Variable large diaphragm microphone

Pressure-gradient transducer with double membrane capsule

The studio microphone classic

3 directional characteristics: omni, cardioid, figure-8

Switchable low frequency roll-off

Switchable 10 dB pre-attenuation

Ideal as main and as support microphone in the most differing recording situations.

Technical Info
Acoustical Operating Principle: Pressure gradient transducer

Directional Pattern: Omnidirectional, cardioid, figure-8 plus

Frequency range: 20 Hz-20 kHz

Sensitivity at 1 kHz into 1 kohm: 20/28/22 mV/Pa*

Rated impedance: 200 ohms

Rated load impedance: 1000 ohms

Equivalent SPL CCIR 468-3: 26/23/25 dB*

Equivalent SPL DIN/IEC 651: 15/12/14 dB-A*

S/N ratio CCIR 468-3: 68/71/69 dB*

S/N ratio DIN/IEC 651: 79/82/80 dB*

Maximum SPL for THD 0.5%: 117 dB (cardioid)

Maximum SPL for THD 0.5% with preattenuation: 127 dB

Maximum output voltage: 390 mV

Dynamic range of the microphone amplifier cardioid DIN/IEC 651: 105 dB

Supply voltage: 48 V 4 V

Current consumption: 0.8 mA

Matching connectors: XLR3F

Weight: 500 g

Diameter: 56 mm

Length: 200 mm

* Omnidirectional/cardioid/figure-8
Product is in production.
More info: http://www.zzounds.com/item--NEUU87AISETZ
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the Neumann U87Ai Large Diaphragm Microphone.

KE6PID Rating: 5/5 Aug 27, 2015 12:51 Send this review to a friend
Great! If you can afford one go for it.  Time owned: more than 12 months
My, my. A Neumann U87? For ham radio? On HF?

I saw this review, and since I have access to many mics, including the U87 I decided to try one with my Tentec Orion. I know how they sound in a studio environment (if used properly it's the gold standard-every one has heard one if they listen to any music at all). So I connected it, used an Orban 787 mic processor to add phantom power and feed the rig and the genuine Neumann wind/blast/pop filter.

It was my turn to be net control that night. Every person on the net made an unsolicited comment of how much fuller my audio sounded than usual. Most people were guessing I got a new rig. The regular mic is a Shure SM-7 with the Orban 787 and was surprised that anyone would hear the difference. But they did!

If you can afford a mic that costs more than most HF rigs, and you really are into audio vanity, hey(!)go for it.
 
K8JHR Rating: 5/5 Jul 10, 2012 19:02 Send this review to a friend
Wasteful overkill in the ham shack...  Time owned: more than 12 months
This is an excellent microphone. SSB uses very little speech frequency audio bandwidth, about 2800 Hz, so virtually any good quality microphone costing more than $10 will sound good on pretty much any transceiver. Sheesh, practically ANY microphone will show a flat, linear response curve across this frequency range. This is an excellent microphone for recording studios, where ambient noise is suppressed, but this type of microphone is generally so very sensitive, it will pick up the sound of a gnat's sneeze across the room, so it will also pick up loads of ambient noise from within the shack, such as power supply and computer cooling fans, aong with the sound of your voice, and that will NOT bode well for clear, intelligible speech communication. Great mic for the studio... lousy pick for the shack. So, yeah it will work, but is not really the best tool for the job, despite its reputation in the studio, and, of course, the exorbitant cost.

PS - I concur with everything W8AAZ says below.

Happy trails and good DX. // K8JHR //

James / K8JHR
 
W8AAZ Rating: 5/5 May 24, 2008 07:28 Send this review to a friend
Not a Ham mike unless you are AM freak.  Time owned: more than 12 months
This might be something a very rich AM'er working for the last little bit of HIFI in his classic station might try, but it is for recording studios, not broadcast or ham. Although Howard Stern uses one. Want to be like him? I had one and eventually sold it for a nice profit. Super studio mike. But for ham use you might as well forego a phantom power condenser and get something like one of the EV broadcast dynamic mikes for alot less. And for SSB get something like a Heil for vastly less, or a Shure 444 or a Ten Tec desk mike. Or play with an old Shure 55, a ribbon mike, or anything. This costs more than most radios. Keep for your home studio.
 


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.