eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


Reviews Categories | Amplifiers: RF Power - HF & HF+6M | SPE Expert 1K-FA Help


Reviews Summary for SPE Expert 1K-FA
SPE  Expert 1K-FA Reviews: 90 Average rating: 4.9/5 MSRP: $ 2700 Euro
Description: 1 KW Solid State Fully Automatic Linear Amplifier HF and 50Mhz

Product is in production.
More info: http://www.linear-amplifier.com
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the SPE Expert 1K-FA.

Page 1 of 9 —>

9K2SJ Rating: 5/5 Jun 21, 2017 13:42 Send this review to a friend
1K-FA like a dream   Time owned: 6 to 12 months
This 1K-FA linear passed my wildest expectations it works like a charm never failed me. I tried half power 600w perfect and full power hits 1200w. With CAT installed just turn it on and go dxing. Smooth system with a great menu so portable with internal tuning system i take it with me to camp and dx.

I ham happy with 500w output rarely i push full power just when needed the extra punch.

In one word FLAWLESS.

It is discontinued now they don't make it anymore but if you can get one new or working used get it and you won't be sorry.
 
WB8LBZ Rating: 5/5 Feb 9, 2017 10:11 Send this review to a friend
only one you need  Time owned: more than 12 months
I have had the 1K-FA for several years. It has never failed me and always gives me the extra punch for a solid contact. I did pay a little over 4K for it but it was worth it. I introduced myself to Bob Hardie(Expert Linears of America) and told him this was the only time I would be talking to him since the amp was so good. I'm so confident I have not considered a back-up.
 
W0XXX Rating: 5/5 Feb 9, 2017 09:40 Send this review to a friend
Fantastic!  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Solid state is the way to go...

It is of my opinion, that the tube market has seen its day. I will admit I was an Alpha guy long ago, I've owned two 87A boxes at one time and loved them. What causes me concern these days is the flooded market of manual and auto-tune high power amps on the trade boards. 20 years ago, I had complete confidence in ETO/Alpha. I cant say that any more. Things have changed, and modern technology is winning this battle. Those older 4cx/3cx driven amps will always have a fan base, but there will be a huge cost associated with it.

On to the review...

This was not an impulse purchase. This sort of investment (at least for me) requires some sort of research. I really like what SPE is doing. They have three models, and these three models have the same fundamental structure. Through my eyes, simple always wins at this sort of thing. There are no radical departures within the designs of these three models. That saves a TON of $$$ while doing research and development. On top of that, you have a local rep (in the USA) who has a solid RF background and understands the product. I did my research on Bob Hardie before I contacted him concerning my order.

Everything about this purchase was wonderful. The un-boxing confirmed I made the correct purchase. Its packaged perfectly. The carry case is something I wouldn't have expected, and it's classy. The menu system on the amp is simple and easy to navigate.

Dan Tassell made my cable set for my IC-7600. He got it right. I plugged it in, and it worked. I've since ordered a set for my TS-590SG as well.

Another thing which impressed me was the fault log. I can tell Bob did a solid run-up on my amp because I can see the faults which were created to make sure this thing was ready to go. It seems he didn't wipe the fault log after testing, and left it in place as proof. I like that.

SPE has me as a customer now, and I'm sure I will be working my way through their product line.
 
WX2CX Rating: 5/5 Feb 9, 2017 03:20 Send this review to a friend
Great amp  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
Great solid state amplifier, 1.2k on all bands. Very simple to set up and operate. Built cable as per manual to follow band and works fantastic.
 
ZS5WC Rating: 5/5 Jan 29, 2017 05:36 Send this review to a friend
QRO IN A BLINK!  Time owned: more than 12 months
I Simply LOVE the 1K-fa to bits!..
I have used it over a year with the TS-870, IC-7700, and now the Yaesu FTDX-3000.
Easy to interface , easy to set up and work DX.
With the FTDX I use the Band Data to control the amp-faster than the serial connection as it is simply a BCD combination.

Quiet, stays cool and is a pleasure to use.
I reset the Bias on my 6 Mosfets a while ago to correct spec. , and now she is even better.
Only negative comment there-the Bias set pots should REALLY be multiturn!.

The other nitpick is the front panel stiff membrane keypad. Would have preferred something along the line of a membrane keypad of a rig.
But it does work well, and you would be advised to use short fingernails and no sharp objects to operate the keys.

To All the Naysayers out there biased against Solid State amps, this one is the "prancing horse" of SS QRO.
Way of the future.
 
G0MJK Rating: 5/5 Jul 12, 2016 03:27 Send this review to a friend
Keeps on performing  Time owned: more than 12 months
I thought it was time to update my review having used this now for nearly two years. It has primarily been used with my Icom 7700 but I have also used it with an Icom 7600, both radios were linked to control the amp from the radio. I cannot fault this amplifier which keeps on exceeding my expectations. I may upgrade to the later 1.3KFA sometime but the waiting list currently is 3-4 months so am happy where I am.
 
G7NKS Rating: 5/5 Feb 28, 2016 07:46 Send this review to a friend
Excellent purchase and well pleased  Time owned: more than 12 months
I've had my SPE1K now for just over 1 year. I added it to my station alongside my trusty TL922. It's driven by a JRC JST 245 and it simply "works". It has significant levels of "operator error annulment" built in and it gives a good healthy 1 kw out, though I tend to run it on the half power setting as 500w out the back is often all that's needed for most Dx. I got mine 2nd hand off a nice chap on an auction site and it came complete with bag, box, discs etc. I still use the TL922 too, but the SPE1K is a nice "fire and forget" solution. Worth the money. Jim G7NKS IO92ub
 
UA9CDC Rating: 5/5 Jan 12, 2016 11:00 Send this review to a friend
8 years and still going  Time owned: more than 12 months
See my review back in Feb 2009. This amp is still working as new despite of more the 150 000 QSOs made mainly in contests. I am going to sell it now to one of my friends (got at least 3 local perspective buyers waiting for it) because I now have 1.3K-FA.
 
VK2PV Rating: 5/5 Dec 8, 2015 21:58 Send this review to a friend
1K-FA front panel fix and working  Time owned: more than 12 months
Final update on my postings about the 1K-FA front panel repair.

After contacting SPE in Italy, I received an e-mail asking for confirmation on the serial amp number. Once forwarded, they dispatched a new front panel assembly straight away in the mail, including instructions to fit, all free of charge. They could not have been more helpful.

Some communications with Mario, YS1MAE around the same time indicated he was receiving the same service level as well.

Once received, the new panel was installed within 30 minutes, including a small mod to ensure the fault does not re-appear.

Amp is working like a dream.

Quality service 10/10.

73's,

Peter - VK2PV
 
DD4DA Rating: 5/5 Nov 23, 2014 13:46 Send this review to a friend
900Watts - great job  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I decide me for that AMP instead using an ICOM PW1Euro reasoned by the size of the ICOM and the prize of the Unit, that's doubled. I know that ICOM uses two PA unit's thats similar designed as in the IC-7800/IC-7700 that's blowed a couple of time. I like it more compact and this is payed by the noise of the EXPERT's blower. Well, compared by the datasheets, the PW1 even the most other Mosfet-PA's don't like Operation modes with longer on-air duty-cycles like RTTY, FAX or others. The Expert 1K-FA's small design with there small blowers and less room for a bigger coolerblock in Addition with the smaller transformer is responsible for that. The only one MOsfet i know who can handle 100% duty-Cycle for 24/7 Hours was the JRC's JRL-2000F and JRL-3000F.
They are very noisy reasoned by the used 120x120mm 146cm³ air-stream volume blower for the PA block and the switched mode power supply.
well, i am not need that for just a couple of qso's a year i had the time left, actually.
The amp is very fast linked with an ICOM Tranceiver that's supports CAT. The shipped RCA-Stereo-Cables for Relay and ALC are in bad Quality - they are unsoldered or not finaly crimped properly. I am recommend to replace them soon. I decide me to build me a single cable solution that all required lines that's need.
All required signals are available at the 15pin connector on the backside for each input. Maybe CAT6e Cable can do the Job, is cheap, good available and each wire pair is well shielded.
The antenna tuner wrks as decripted - not better as the icom IC756-pro3 internal tuner.I assume that the ATU feature is a variant of an output filter, that required anyway and protects the amplifier if the SWR line is'nt flat enought to operate without it. It's not an replacement for an external antenna tuner, if the antenna's complex reactance and impedance needs to be matched. This is a common issue of all PA's i know. The Tuning is fast and if the antenna wirks properly, a retuning is not required. The CAT Support Setup the tuner just-in-time the qrg or band is changed. The PA is very silent at normal Operation. At a contest or pileup, it's recommended to set the PA into contest mode. The blower response this with a faster run of the blower.


 
Page 1 of 9 —>


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.