eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


Reviews Categories | Transceivers: VHF/UHF+ Amateur Hand-held | Jingtong JT-208 Help


Reviews Summary for Jingtong JT-208
Jingtong JT-208 Reviews: 8 Average rating: 2.9/5 MSRP: $$ 30-50
Description: 136-174 MHz FM handheld, 2W, 30 channels can be stored,7.2V nicad battery,channel spacing 5,10,12.5,25 kHz, CTCSS, up and down shift, scan facility, Cheap.
Product is in production.
More info: http://
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the Jingtong JT-208.

KI4PEM Rating: 0/5 Jul 26, 2011 02:10 Send this review to a friend
Jingtong = Junk  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
I Made The Mistake Of buying one of these pieces of crap A few years back #1 the Mic sounded horrible
#2 I Had To Buy A converter From Radio Shack To Get The Charger to Work On 120 It only worked On 220
#3

Some Of the repeater Tones Didn't Work On US Repeaters

I ended Up Giving this Piece of crap to My Kid to Tear apart Jingtong = JUNK
 
PY1MV Rating: 5/5 May 16, 2010 04:38 Send this review to a friend
Great deal for the money!  Time owned: more than 12 months
Ham comunity, please do not compare these cheap hand talk with Icom, Kenwood, Alinco and Vertex.
. Very resonable price, you can get one of this chinese for only 50 USD including shipping cost to any where in the entire world. If you donīt wanna carry with you the expensive TH-F7 during field days, the Jingtong JT-208 is the best choice.
The only mess is regarding to have to drill a hole where the internal mic is.
If you donīt have one of this, take a look on this website. Very usefull information.
http://www.g4ilo.com/jingtong.html
 
NS1R Rating: 5/5 Feb 20, 2010 10:07 Send this review to a friend
Good value for the $  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
I have two and tehy work just as good as my Icon and Yaesu for 1/3 the cost. The accesories are also dirt cheap unlike the Icon and Yaesu. In side by side tests the radios worked just as good on recive and transmit. Tunning knobs and buttons are solid. Highly recommened. Just don't tranmit outside the USA ham bands and there are no issues.

Steve
 
KK2DOG Rating: 0/5 Feb 20, 2010 09:00 Send this review to a friend
Illegal ?  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Here's an article concerning cheap Chinese HT's:

http://tinyurl.com/yhnz45h
 
WB8NUT Rating: 0/5 Feb 20, 2010 04:07 Send this review to a friend
A piece of JUNK!  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
I ordered and received one of these a few years ago. The controls were tight and were hard to turn. Audio was horrible!!!! Hard to program. Case quality was terrible. I think I paid around $70 shipped. It's not even worth $10 shipped. Save the money and buy something with quality and stay away from this awful Chinese JUNK....and I do mean JUNK!!!
 
KD5IXK Rating: 5/5 Nov 21, 2009 06:54 Send this review to a friend
Very Good  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I'll give this radio 5-Great!
It works great and is easy to program. It carries PL tones and works great with ctcss. I have no problems whatsoever with hearing or understanding tx/rx. Its a very clear sounding radio. I got 2 of them and gave one to a fellow ham. We talk back and forth through a local ARC repeater and it works great. It has a battery saving device that allows the battery to be saved when not tx'ing. It works with the set key in combinations to change modes. set 1 - Direct Freq mode. then enter a standing freq. From there you can use set 4, set 5, set 6, set 7 and so on to change step size, offset, and + or - the offset and turn on and off CTCSS coding and set the PL Code -. You may have to search to find the PL code freq list. Email me and I'll send you a list. KD5IXK 73's
 
G4IPZ Rating: 4/5 Jan 23, 2008 06:12 Send this review to a friend
for the money - excellent  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I got mine via Ebay, brand new from Hong Kong for Ģ23 ! (About $48 US) The TX speech quality is decidedly iffy because someone made a mess of the design and forgot to leave a hole for the microphone, instead leaving a trough between the speaker placement which was hoped would suffice. It doesn't!
There are two ways round this. One is to drill a hole where the mic is (bye bye warranty) the other is to make up a simple external headset/microphone unit. Easy!
One moan is that the the antenna connection is via a reverse sma connector and the adaptors for these are like hens teeth! So if ordering a 208 from HK get the bnc adaptor at the same time.
For the money it's excellent and holds it's own for a general purpose handi with anything by the big names. There is one potential problem which I have detailed on my review of the JT-308 UHF HT.
 
PA0FRI Rating: 4/5 Nov 16, 2006 05:59 Send this review to a friend
Cheap and good  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
When switched on, the radio emits a loud and rather annoying short tune. This cannot be turned off. You will need to remember the key combinations for the various options as there is no text menu on the display. The manual, in Chinese and English, has been very poorly translated. Once the radio has been set up, you can keep it in memory mode and just use the up/down buttons to switch between channels or select an other channel. The transmitted audio is a bit bassy and muffled but can be cured with a 2mm hole in the front panel.
 


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.