eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


Reviews Categories | Transceivers: HF Amateur HF+6M+VHF+UHF models - not QRP <5W | ICOM IC-706 - All flavors Help


Reviews Summary for ICOM IC-706 - All flavors
ICOM IC-706 - All flavors Reviews: 467 Average rating: 4.4/5 MSRP: $IC-706MKIIG
Description: Ultra Compact HF/6 Meter/2 Meter/440MHz Transceiver
Product is in production.
More info: http://www.icomamerica.com/amateur/hf/#IC-706MKIIG
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the ICOM IC-706 - All flavors.

Page 1 of 47 —>

N9MXY Rating: 5/5 Dec 18, 2016 15:28 Send this review to a friend
Million mile radio?  Time owned: more than 12 months
I own a MKII bought new in 98 with the DSP module. Put 270,000 miles on my S10 then moved to to a blazer put 160,000 miles on it then moved it to a Buick Century put 170,000 miles on it then pot it in a Subaru outback and put 80,000 miles on it. Currently it's sitting on my dryer at my 2nd home as a backup base. Other than installing a 1.9khz roofing filter the case has not been cracked! I did some side by sides a couple years ago when I got my IC7000. The S/N on the recieve was not as good and the selectivity fell a little short but I doubt that the 7000 would stand up as well to about 700,000 miles mobile!
 
ZL1BAK Rating: 5/5 Oct 21, 2016 01:15 Send this review to a friend
Great compact hf rig  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I have the original 706 and i use it as my main rig. It puts out 100 watts on hf and 10 watts on 2m, i use a computer headset with it and always get good reports.
The menu system is very easy to use compared to some other compact rigs i have tried. The receiver is very good and i rarely need to use the preamp. The only thing missing that would be nice to have is a notch filter. All in all a great compact radio.
 
VE8AP Rating: 5/5 May 17, 2016 14:19 Send this review to a friend
706MKIIG great radio   Time owned: more than 12 months
I own two ICOM 706MKIIG's I love them been dependable no issue's what so ever in the 5 years of owning them. I find them easy to use menu's are great easy to make adjustment when needed with out revisiting the owners manual.I am going to try on on the boat this summer Marine Mobile should be fun 73's all take care
 
NA5XX Rating: 4/5 Dec 19, 2015 20:13 Send this review to a friend
Using it mobile 706 original  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
I bought this radio to install as a mobile rig and it is great. It does all I want when teamed with an LDG auto tuner and 102 inch whip antenna. I got it with the separation kit with is a plus when mobile. If you find one at a good price go for it.
 
KI6GOT Rating: 5/5 Aug 6, 2015 15:43 Send this review to a friend
Fantastic miniature radio.  Time owned: more than 12 months
I love this radio. I bought it used and have had it for several years for DXing on the HF bands, and a little bit of Aurora contacts as well. I've added the narrow SSB and 500Hz filters. I've also added the TCXO and an IF tap board to add pan adapter functionality.

The only issues i've encountered internal oscillations when transmitting on 15M and 12M. This was resolved by tightening the internal screws and making sure I was connected to a proper ground.

Overall a great little rig. Do buy one if you can find a good deal.
 
N1JFE Rating: 5/5 Mar 23, 2015 09:59 Send this review to a friend
VHF INSTABILITY  Time owned: more than 12 months
AWESOME RIG.

That said, I did have an intermittent problem on 2m.
The radio would self oscillate and produce output at around 120MHz when keyed up in the 144-148 range, AND ONLY with the power turned all the way down.

A slight tap on the cover would clear this up.

TIGHTEN ALL PCB SCREWS on both TOP and BOTTOM of radio. PA PCB and ANT FILTER board (opposite side). Might as well tighten up the screws on the main board while your in there.

This SOLVED the problem and the radio is now stable once again on all bands.

The screws do not have star washers, which is probably a GOOD thing as it's designed as a mobile unit, and you wouldn't want one bouncing around causing shorts, BUT the screws will eventually lose their GROUNDS from vibration and heat cycling.
Give them a 1/2 turn CCW and then tighten to reseat. No need to be a gorilla, just snug.

I think this is a good idea to do for ANY mobile radio.

PS. This particular IC-706MKIIG has always been installed as a base an never in a mobile, but it still had the VHF oscillation.

73,
Greg
 
WA0UAY Rating: 5/5 Mar 14, 2015 12:25 Send this review to a friend
FL-223  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Buy the FL-223 filter. It really does make a difference!
 
AF5CC Rating: 5/5 Mar 8, 2015 19:54 Send this review to a friend
706 original-great value  Time owned: more than 12 months
If you do much looking, you should be able to find an Icom 706 original model (HF-2m, 10 watts on 2m) for $300-$400. It is a great rig for that price range. Look what else you can get in that price range: Yaesu FT840, ALinco DX70TH, Kenwood TS140 or TS680, Icom 725 or Icom 707. It blows away all of those rigs. Not only does it give you extra bands compared with those rigs (6m and 2m), it has a built in keyer, built in SWR meter, speech compression, it can take a SSB or CW narrow filter, and does FM out of the box. I would dare say it is a better value than an Icom 718 also as it gives you more features.

Yes it has some menus, but they aren't a big deal. Read the manual a couple of times, play with it a little, and the menus become intuitive.

The receive is actually pretty good on this little rig. Don't use the preamp on 30m and below as it isn't needed. With the preamp off it actually has about the right amount of receiver sensitivity on the low bands-you hear the signals fine but not a lot of background noise. In this area it does better than the 706MKII or 706MKIIG which are noisier on the low bands even with the preamp off.

Another nice feature is that it is very easy to interface for the digital modes. You can get AF audio out on the mic jack so all you need if a RJ45 cable to plug into the mic jack, 2 1/8" jacks to plug into the soundcard, and you are ready to go. Turn on the VOX and go to it on RTTY, PSK, whatever you like. I have been using mine on RTTY this way with really good results. You can also use the narrow CW filter on AFSK, just tell the radio it is the FL223 and it lets you select this filter on SSB, and it still works on CW just fine also.

Another nice thing of the 706 original compared to the 706MKII or 706MKIIG is that the fan runs all of the time, even on receive, which keeps the rig much cooler. The fan noise isn't objectionable, though.

I don't know what the previous reviewer was discussing in terms of VHF/UHF operation. The rig hears just fine on 2m, and I have used an Icom 706MKIIG before on 2m and 70cm with no problems-even made quite a few satellite QSOs with one.

So, if you are looking to get into HF for a fairly low price, give this rig a definite thought. Performs well, plenty of features, the optional filters for it are pretty reasonably priced, and you really do get a lot of rig for you money.

Only use the noise blanker if you need it, it does degrade receiver performance with it on and on a busy band.
 
ON2HB Rating: 4/5 Oct 17, 2014 07:53 Send this review to a friend
Great on HF, but deaf on 2 and 70.  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
I have had this device for about a year, and it's a great performer.
Once you install the extra SSB filters it will work even better then standard, and yes it's worth it to add them as it will help a lot on small signals.
However, this tranceiver is kind of deaf on 2 and 70, and with deaf I mean real deaf. It doesn't hear small signals that my Kenwood TK-780 does hear without much trouble.
And do not expect to use it for repeaters, it has very poor memory programming and is terribly at CTSS.
For HF it's a great device, but it's bad on VHF and UHF.
Don't buy it if your goal is VHF/UHF it will let you down.
 
KE5CVT Rating: 5/5 May 27, 2014 13:26 Send this review to a friend
EXCELLENT!  Time owned: more than 12 months
I own two and use them in conjunction with the AH-4 antenna tuner in mobile, portable and fixed operations. Push the PTT, tunes automatically, transmits and receives from 1.8 to 470 MHz in all modes (AM/FM/SSB,ETC) with the CAP/MARS mod. Menus are simpler and displays are easier to see than the IC-7000 and the Yaseu 857D. Simple. Dependable. Rugged. Getting harder to find.

The Leatherman multi tool of Amateur Transceivers.
 
Page 1 of 47 —>


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.