eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


Reviews Categories | Amplifiers: RF Power - HF & HF+6M | Linear Amp UK Explorer 1200 Help


Reviews Summary for Linear Amp UK Explorer 1200
Linear Amp UK Explorer 1200 Reviews: 6 Average rating: 2.3/5 MSRP: $£1595
Description: EXPLORER 1200 Linear Amp UK 1200W HF Linear Amplifier 1.8-30MHz (Inc WARC)
Product is not in production.
More info: http://www.linamp.co.uk/
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the Linear Amp UK Explorer 1200.

M0HDX Rating: 0/5 Feb 8, 2015 03:56 Send this review to a friend
Problematic  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
My explorer 1200 spent more time being repaired than on the air.Poor quality product and not worth buying. Save the extra cash up and look at better options like the Acom 1000 or 922
 
M0KKW Rating: 0/5 Feb 5, 2015 15:46 Send this review to a friend
Awful  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
Just rubbish. Looks like an amateur had built it as a one off with cheap bits out of a junk box. Not something worth putting expensive 3-500s in.
The workmanship and techniques used are wholly inadequate for a commercial product and barely better than CB trash.
 
GM7NVA Rating: 4/5 Apr 19, 2009 02:10 Send this review to a friend
Heatherlite Explorer  Time owned: more than 12 months
I have 2 Heatherlite Explorer HF amps. Both of these date back (1980's) to the early years of Liner Amp (Heatherlite), when Peter Rodmell (?) owned and built these amps.

Both of my amps have performed very well over the years. There has been the odd component failure but I expect this from a heavily used 1k 2 bottle amp. The 3-500's (I use Chinese) are good valves. I have changed mine once in this time. Both amps were bought used (1 from the factory and 1 from a local ham).

The build might not be on a par with the big names such as Yaesu or Kenwood but they are rugged and do what they claim.

I am by no means an expert on high power amps but from an operators point of view, these amps give fair value for money and are easy to repair. The main downside being that the 3-500 valves are expensive.

If you are buying your first amp and are new to electronics or radio, looking around for a newer more up to date model from better know manufacturers might be the best way to go. However, a good deal is a good deal so, don't walk away from an old 'Heatherlite' if you find one. The early ones had a chocolate brown front panel. Some had brown cases also. The earliest had no soft start.

The guy who built and designed these in the 80's and early 90's, no longer has the company, as far as I know it was bought over. At the time of writing I understand they have moved to a new factory unit.

The original owner was very customer friendly and general advice on amps was always available by phone if he wasn't too busy. It was a family business then.

Good luck all John - gm7nva
 
G8ITB Rating: 0/5 Mar 31, 2008 16:19 Send this review to a friend
Poor Quality!  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Having just used an Explorer HF linear in contest mode - for a while anyway! Till it stopped working after a very few hours use!

A detailed examination revealed extremely poor quality construction practices by the manufacturer; i.e.
Using a "BOLT" fixed to the range switch arm to contact a HV capacitor on one band.
Voltage doubler circuit for HV.
No Co-Axial antenna relay - just two holes punched in a relay case and the small diameter wires to/from the RF in/out SO239's soldered directly onto the relay leaves using wires going through the relay casing.
A low throughput 'muffin' fan pulling air out past the output valves - no way was this set-up capable of cooling the linear - air intake was minimal and further restricted if the case placed on a hard surface - the intakes are punched holes in the base.
No cooling in the toroid mains transformer area.
Components are working on limits.
"Soft Start" - just look at the schematic; then the construction [stop laughing, please].

Linear Amp UK was the 'successor' to Heatherlite - and all their products have a reputation in the UK as 'nasty' and this one confirmed it as correct.

Linear Amp UK has ceased trading as of March 2008 and production has been taken over by Elite Interfaces Ltd, Reading, Berks, RG1 8JP.

Lets hope they can do better!

In the meantime if you are offered a Linear Amp UK amplifier [even free] - just walk away!

Maybe I had a 'Friday Night Special' - mine has no resemblance to the items the previous two reviewers seem to own!

 
G3VCQ Rating: 5/5 Apr 3, 2007 08:14 Send this review to a friend
QRP? No chance! DX chasing has never been so much fun!  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
I previously owned a FL2000B (Still have it on standby) and the Linear amp UK Ranger 811K (now sold).
I upgraded to the Explorer last year and was amazed at how well built this bit of kit is, a quality amp with excellent good looks! Sitting at 400w my FT1000MP MK V Field loves it - 35 watts will give me my max legal out and the fan is silent almost, My Pro40 does not even pick it up! If your looking for a middle of the range value for money amp - you wont go far wrong with this one thats for sure. 73 Colin G3VCQ
 
M5TAW Rating: 5/5 Mar 9, 2007 04:56 Send this review to a friend
Nice amp  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Nicely constructed amplifier with a quality feel.
Provides approx 10 times power amplification - 40 in gives approx 400 out (UK limit) - the amp is just ticking over at this output and doesn't even get remotely warm. The fan is relatively quiet too.
This is my first Linear Amp UK amplifier and I'm very pleased with it. The telephone support is excellent and it's good to know that I can speak directly with the man who designed the amp in the unlikely event that anything goes wrong.
 


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.