- Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Friends Remembered
Survey Question

DX Cluster Spots

Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement

donate to eham
Reviews Categories | Transceivers: HF Amateur (inc. HF+6M+VHF+UHF models) | Elecraft K3 Help

Reviews Summary for Elecraft K3
Elecraft K3 Reviews: 226 Average rating: 4.8/5 MSRP: $1,399
Description: ELECRAFT K3 Transceiver
High Performance 160-6 Meters 100 W
Dual 32bit DSP, "switched mode mixer"
Factory Assembled or No-Soldering Kit
160-6 meter ham-band coverage; optional general-coverage filters
High-contrast, full-custom LCD with with alphanumeric text display
100-W or 10-W (upgradeable) models
32-bit I.F. DSP
Rich I/O complement (see rear-panel drawing above)
All modes: SSB, CW, Data, AM, FM
Built-in PSK/TTY decode/encode allows data mode operation with or without a PC use CW keyer paddle to send PSK/TTY too!
High performance DDS/PLL Synthesizer with TCXO reference
Product is in production.
More info:
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the Elecraft K3.

Page 1 of 23 —>

VK4SX Rating: 5/5 Nov 11, 2015 13:38 Send this review to a friend
Synthesizer Upgrade fantastic  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I am a late adopter of ELECRAFT, and was very very fortunate to have been offered a VK4BG assembled and tested 07XXXX K3, fully locked & rocked, the alluring feature was the updated Synthesiser boards, and yes, it sure does make a difference, after 2 days feeling my way, I find it will be 2 yrs before I have it all under control, what a wonderful well thought out piece of amateur equipment, every adjustment you could wish for, is catered for in the K3, the ability mix & match different microphone types etc in a simple fashion, is fantastic,

just love it,
have had plenty of quality gear to compare it to, and it has quite a few mates covered up on the bench,

the K3 & ELAD & SPE 1.3, will keep me smiling for years to come,
great stuff Elecraft.
Dennis vk4sx
W0LD Rating: 5/5 Oct 20, 2015 11:32 Send this review to a friend
Synthesizer Upgrade is Great!  Time owned: more than 12 months
I had the synthesizer upgrade installed at the factory. What an improvement! I can operate within 2 Khz. of extremely strong stations under contest conditions on 6 meters. The internal preamp mod, also factory installed, really does things for the receiver on 6 meters. On HF, the receiver is second to none! If you can find a K# with both mods you don't need to buy the K3S.
VE6AMI Rating: 5/5 Oct 19, 2015 21:44 Send this review to a friend
KSYN3A Boards - Great Mod.  Time owned: more than 12 months
Recently added new synthesizer boards. Super improvement to a already solid radio. Worth every dollar!
KD8OPI Rating: 5/5 Jun 14, 2015 13:48 Send this review to a friend
A twist...  Time owned: more than 12 months
First, everything thats great about the K3 written in this thread is true. I've had mine for over 3 years and I love it. If they keep upgrading the firmware and boards as they have been, it will be the last radio I'll need to buy.

Here's a twist from the reviews here, the K3 is an outstanding broadcast shortwave receiver.

I know, I know, SWL is essentially dead in this hemisphere. But come on, if you're the typical ham reading this post you know that your fascination with this hobby at some point included listening to SW broadcasts.

Recently, cheap upgrades to my shack have enabled me to hook up a few of my old 80's era portable SW receivers to my small antenna farm (S9 31' vert. with 34 ground radials, Cushcraft MA5B, Comet Gp-9). So, Ive been playing around with them, trying to find a way to use them in a useful way (I think a dedicated PSK reporter server for Jt65 will fill the bill). Anyway, for giggles, I wanted to see how the K3 would do listening to SW broadcasts by comparison.

Well, it was mind-blowing (for me at least). In combination with the P3, finding carrier waves is like shooting fish in a barrel, adjust your filters, put on the DSP NR, and whammo - shortwave broadcasting that is deaf to my admittedly bygone era receivers (Sony 2010, Sangean 803A) is easily copyable from surprising locations.

Example: While I need all the prayer I can get, I dont listen to Vatican Radio, in part because its always been difficult to receive - even with God's help apparently. Well, on the K3 I can hear vatican broadcasts in 3 different languages to the middle east and Africa. Granted, its not exciting - but those of you who know of what I speak understand that to even get Vatican radio broadcast to the US isn't easy; and here the K3 was pulling it off beam.

Wanna listen to VOA? Good luck, its designed not to be heard in this country on purpose. The little receivers just don't have the dynamic range to pull it off from a big antenna. With the K3, I was pulling in VOA broadcasts (jammed and unjammed) to Africa and the Middle East, in English from Botswana. Again, the expectation on smaller receivers is you just cant do that - and that expectation is correct. You cant - but you can with a K3.

All up and down the SW dial I was just fascinated at how well the "out of band" performance of the K3 was. Stations that I've never heard from broadast locations and target areas far flung across the globe were pulled in by the K3.

So, if you're so inclined, give it a shot. Its a wrinkle of the K3 I never explored and was happy I did.
W2BLC Rating: 5/5 Apr 26, 2015 16:30 Send this review to a friend
Best I have owned  Time owned: more than 12 months
The combo of the K3 and P3 puts this rig in the leagues with the super high dollar rigs. It is the best I have had in over 50 years on the air. You can custom order with/without all the various add-ons. You can add them later if you wish. Factory help is fantastic - just a phone call or email away.
AC2FV Rating: 5/5 Apr 26, 2015 14:06 Send this review to a friend
Get One!  Time owned: more than 12 months
I have the K3 with pan adapter, 100w, filters, etc. Absolutely killer radio. Get off the fence and buy one, you won't be disappointed.
JG1RVN Rating: 5/5 Mar 19, 2015 21:23 Send this review to a friend
New KSYN3A with K3  Time owned: more than 12 months
Elecraft relieaced New KSYN3A last Jan 2015. It becomes nice C/N ratio ULTRA-LOW PHASE NOISE. I bought KSYN3AUPG = KSYN3A Synthesizer Upgrade Kit for K3 and Sub RX. When you install KSYN3 you should use new firmware MCU 5.14 / DSP 2.83 / FPF 1.19, 2/26/2015. The KSYN3A significantly improves the K3's already excellent RX and TX phase noise at close carrier spacings. The new KSYN3A covers 100kHz-500kHz, so now you can receive 472kHz band by K3. It is Great, K3 did it again!
QRPNEW Rating: 4/5 Mar 6, 2015 22:12 Send this review to a friend
Improving all the time  Time owned: more than 12 months
Just updated the K3 with the new Synthesizer. This upgrade puts the K3 right on the top of the receiver food chain for receiver contest performance. This update along with the DSP board upgrade has made the K3 a very good to excellent general purpose all round radio.

The Synthesizer upgrade has not improved the RX audio IMD. Its still poor on the K3. Maybe Elecraft will offer an upgrade for the audio amplifier chain that improves the K3 even further in this area.

The only other upgrade that the K3 needs to make the K3 the best radio on the market is a upgrade for the 100 watt amplifier. This would improve the TX crud and IMD on transmit.

Buying a K3 with all the improvements offered to date has made the K3 one of the best buys. Rather than buying a new radio, just upgrading it has saved me from having to buy a new radio to keep up with technology performance improvements. Knowing that my K3 will have phase noise performance as good as the 15 thousand dollar Hilberling and new Icom IC-7851 radios makes me very positive about investing in the Elecraft brand which was a rocky road after feeling very disappointed.

The K3 is a mature product now that will delight discerning radio owners. It is great that Elecraft is committed to improving and offering upgrades to the K3 platform. Please keep the improvements coming its the cheap option for me considering the performance that you get when buying upgrades to the K3.

K1PMA Rating: 5/5 Feb 7, 2015 17:15 Send this review to a friend
Expensive but very good.  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
Let me state right here at the beginning that I do find the radio to be pretty expensive once it is loaded with many (not even all) options...mine came to about $4,000.

But although I was somewhat skeptical in the beginning (having had a 590S, FT3000, Flex 6300) after using the radio for 4 months I must say it is an excellent piece of equipment. And I am not even into CW which appears to be a real strong point of this radio.

Although the K3 will not win a beauty contest it kind of grows on you. The display is not flashy but very functional. All the knobs and buttons feel solid. I am glad the knobs are not of the 'endless spin' variety which just doesn't work for me. Since most of what I do is DX SSB the way how I sound to other and how the audio output sound to me is most important and I am very happy in both respects. I get great modulation reports even though I using just the stock mic.

There are a gazillion options one can set and I have not even touched more than maybe 10. One thing I miss is that the radio does not remember the last 3 frequencies used on a band for quick recall like the 590S does (by just pressing the band button).

The KPA500 amp is a great match to the K3. Auto band switching and easy setup, just great.

So in summary I would say if you can afford a somewhat tricked out K3 go for it, if under $2000 is your max get a Kenwood 590SG.
W3HBM Rating: 4/5 Nov 28, 2014 06:23 Send this review to a friend
Excellent but costly  Time owned: more than 12 months
Built it from kit in late 2010. Got the sub-Rx, 3 filters (5 pole) for each Rx, the 100W amp, the optional I/O but not the autotuner. Used regularly on CW, SSB and data almost every day since. Have now added the LP-Pan, LP-Bridge and NaP3 pan display system since the P3 was a bit too rich for me. A few problems keep my score from being a 5:
1) The monitor volume cannot be made to adjust along with the main audio volume; I would think this would be an option in the menus. I sent an email to Elecraft about this years ago, with no response.
2) Since I do not have high-speed internet connectivity, I have to update from a flash stick. There is no mechanism (email?) to alert me when this should be done.
3) The programmer's manual is not complete, and changes are made to the programming commands without notice. (e.g., changing from FW to BW commands.) There seems to be no command to reset the DSP filter shift to 1.5 KHz, and it must be so set for the BW commands to work properly.

I can understand that the Elecraft folks got interested in the KX3 and the P3 to the neglect of other things. However, continued attention to their "flagship" product would seem appropriate.
Page 1 of 23 —>

If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.