eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


Reviews Categories | Antennas: HF Portable (not mobile) | B & W AP-10 Portable Antenna Help


Reviews Summary for B & W AP-10 Portable Antenna
B & W  AP-10 Portable Antenna Reviews: 18 Average rating: 4.1/5 MSRP: $89.
Description: Portable/Window Whip Antenna
Product is in production.
More info: http://www.bwantennas.com/ap10a.htm
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the B & W AP-10 Portable Antenna.

Page 1 of 2 —>

AF2DX Rating: 5/5 Aug 29, 2012 10:07 Send this review to a friend
WOW WEE MOMMY 5+  Time owned: more than 12 months
I wanted one of the and I did have one but sold it,
I called B&W and they told me their no longer made.
I asked (Begged) if they could shop around their factory and find enough parts to put one together and they said they moved out of PA but they would look around and if they found on they would contact me via E mail.
They kept their word and I got a brand new one for $75.00 shipped.
I mounted a 2 foot rod under the coil and used a 10 foot whip from Buddpole W3FF and I put that in the window at night and I worked my share of DX.
The mount is very robust compared to that scrap this metal MFJ has nerve to call a mount.
I always tell everyone to keep experimenting because any antenna is better then a cold rig sitting on the shelf.
BOB
AF2Q
 
K8DK Rating: 5/5 Jun 19, 2012 16:02 Send this review to a friend
Great antenna  Time owned: more than 12 months
Just for fun 5 countries on cw 10 watts in 1 hour.

Good enough to still enjoy radio.
 
W2FB Rating: 5/5 Dec 27, 2010 19:48 Send this review to a friend
Great little antenna  Time owned: more than 12 months
Granted I was operating from the top floor of a dormitory building (28th floor) in the Bronx at the height of the sunspot but still this antenna heard and put out great signal from my apartment.
I worked KH3AE in Johnston Island on 20M CW, heard but did not work 9N1MM, worked all over the world on 20-10M with only 5 W. Simple to set up and operate. The coils for 30 and 40M did not work as well.
 
N4VBV Rating: 5/5 Apr 28, 2008 09:08 Send this review to a friend
Great for what it's designed for.  Time owned: more than 12 months
Bought this antenna new (original version with the coils for each band) in 1989. After reading about it before buying I didn't expect performance like a beam, but planned to use it while travelling while in the USAF.

First used it in Korea to talk around the Far East on 20m; good results. While stationed in Germany I was able to talk to the Eastern US with repeater quality (1990, 20 meters, near the top of the solar cycle). Later I used the antenna again in Korea and in KY while home on leave (talked to the West Coast from KY on 40 meters).

While stationed in Northern Japan in 1997-1999 talked regularly to stations on the West Coast on 15 meters most mornings (just mount the antenna sticking out the window and throw the counterpoise around the room; lay it behind the couch when done; takes less than a minute to set up/take down if you don't change coils). Also used it quite a bit for shortwave listening.

I give it a 5 because it does exactly what I bought it for and it has stood up to quite a bit of rough travel with no defects (although the original box is a bit shabby after 19 years of use - but still servicable). Didn't expect dipole performance with such a small antenna package, but it's great for travel, portable, and emergency operation. And you don't NEED a tuner if you just roll the counterpoise to the suggested length, make fine adjustments, and mark it for later (for your favorite frequencies).

Overall a great antenna for what it was designed for. I've definitely gottem my money's worth from it.

Mike - N4VBV
 
AE6CP Rating: 5/5 Apr 23, 2007 22:23 Send this review to a friend
Have to tell my story  Time owned: more than 12 months
Ok, I've been a ham since July 4th of 2000. I got my general ticket sometime around spring of 2001.
Callsign was KG6CKI. The day I got my CSCE's for the written and code tests. I went down to HRO Sunnyvale and picked up my first HF rig. A Yaesu FT-817 All band / all mode 5 watt QRP tranciever and my first HF antenna which was the B & W AP-10.

That very night I went camping on the top of a hill just East of the SF bay area in Castro Valley. I'm not sure but I would say it was about 1000 ft above sea level.

Now keep in mind this is around the peak of the last solar cycle... I mounted the little antenna on a picnic table and threw out the single counterpoise wire. I tuned it up on 20 meters with the wander lead. The sun had been down for a few hours but 20 was still open. Right at 14.255.50 I heard a huge pileup and stopped to listen in with no intentions of trying to work anybody. (remember at this point I had not made my first HF QSO)
I heard hundreds of strong stations thowing out their call signs trying to work this guy, I had no idea where or who he was, he spoke perfect English so I thought it might be a DX'pedition somewhere.
As I was just about to continue tuning up the band, I heard him say 'Ok, lets open it up for some QRP stations, everyone else please stand by, QRZ for any QRP stations'
I heard a few faint call signs being given and I thought hey I'm QRP, I'll give it a shot.
'KG6CKI' I said nervously into the little mic.

To my amazement I heard 'Kilo Golf Six Charlie Kilo India youre 5-9 into McMurdo Antarctica, welcome to the ice'

My first and most amazing HF QSO. I've had a hundred rigs and a hundred antennas since then but none have ever topped the feeling that little five watt rig and short loaded whip with a single counterpose gave me that night.
73,
=Larry (AD5VM)
 
N1RIK Rating: 4/5 Apr 18, 2006 21:15 Send this review to a friend
works ok, so far  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I just got this antenna a few days ago from an amateur who bought it as a backup antenna sometime ago, but never even opened it. I payed $50 for it, unopened, which was a good deal. I live in an apartment, so I don't have much room for my antennas. Well today, I passed my General written test, so immediately when I got home around 9pm, I fired up the 706MKIIG, jumped onto 20-meters with 40-watts and tuned up. I was able to check into the Maritime Net on 14.300 USB with the help of N0EHQ in Iowa within 5 minutes of getting on. Not to shabby with a 5 foot antenna out on the porch about 3 feet above the ground. The antenna is nothing spectacular, but it gets you a good a SWR, and a signal out. I would much prefer a dipole if I could getaway with it. A few things that I really dislike about this antenna is that it's very cumbersome to change the coils out every time you want to change bands. Also the counterpoise isn't too handy. I stuck the counterpoise outside because it was making my Ten Tec 252 power supply humm while draped across the floor. One thing that really suprised me was there was no 17-meter coil. All and all, for $50, it's an ok antenna if you can't put up a real antenna. Much better than the MFJ-1621 portable antenna, which never yeilded me a contact in the late 90's. Maybe I had a defective unit. I thought at first I was getting the AP-10A with the tap coil, but I'll deal. I might go with a magnetic loop in the future if I can find one that doesn't break the bank.
 
AK2B Rating: 2/5 Jun 24, 2005 08:40 Send this review to a friend
Good Concept - Poor Implementation  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
When I first tried it, the whip pulled out of its base by just extending the whip. I called B&W and was told they were unable to get decent whips from their old supplier and the ones they were currently using were inferior (I donít know why I didnít feel better with that comment!). They sent me two replacement whips which fell apart in the same manner as the original. I ended up just shoving the whip into the base and hoping for the best. It stays put but leaves me with a very insecure feeling.
The coil is also poorly made and the mounting base is not too versatile. If you happen to be at a picnic table, you are good to go. Every other situation will require your imagination.
Having said all that, I still use it sometimes in my ground floor apartment. It does tune as advertised - with the proper counterpoise length.
There are better portable antennas out there these days and I would not recommend this one Ė it is just too poorly made. Itís a shame. If B&W improved the quality of their parts and found a more versatile base, they would have a winner. Or, maybe thatís why there is a Buddistick?
 
AB8MI Rating: 5/5 Mar 22, 2005 11:29 Send this review to a friend
Hey I am back on the air.  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Picked one up at a ham fair on Saturday for $35.00. Got on 20 meters last evening and made contacts into Serbia, Louisiana and Georgia. The band was open but considering I live in a condo with 120 kV lines in my back yard and of course antenna restrictions, I was happy to get on the air again.

Yes it is not a yagi or even a dipole but I am back on the air with decent reports.

73
AB8MI
 
W6TH Rating: 5/5 Nov 14, 2002 12:27 Send this review to a friend
Great for a short antenna  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
I think the price is a little high, but is besides the point at this writing. Our interest is in the performance. Considering where the antenna is mounted is of great importance. In a 10 story hotel building it is terrific, on the first floor, will get you many contacts, but not as good as a full half wave at 20 or 25 feet. It works the way it suppose to work, get you on the air with a small profile antenna. I think it is a fun antenna and worth having, even just to listen on the wavelengths. To be able to work a foreign country would be something to remember. I give it a 5 rating as it does work to some degree and a simple installation to get on the air.
 
N3GMS Rating: 4/5 Oct 15, 2002 08:07 Send this review to a friend
still testing so far but love it!!  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I have recently purchased this product. It has enabled me to get back on the air once again. Yes it's not an outside antenna, but it works well. I used it for several hours on sunday and worked several contacts on 20 M. the only complaint is that I wish that they provided different ways of mounting for different types of windows. It's enabled me to enjoy the hobby after being off for six years!! thanks for a great product!!
 
Page 1 of 2 —>


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.