eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


Reviews Categories | Microphones | Heil PR 781 Microphone Help


Reviews Summary for Heil PR 781 Microphone
Heil PR 781 Microphone Reviews: 91 Average rating: 4.7/5 MSRP: $179.00
Description: Dynamic microphone designed for the IC 7800,successor of the PR780
Product is in production.
More info: http://www.heilsound.com/amateur/
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the Heil PR 781 Microphone.

Page 1 of 10 —>

WA3HDW Rating: 5/5 Jun 25, 2016 06:01 Send this review to a friend
Outstanding audio  Time owned: more than 12 months
I got my PR 781 from a friend to try and compare to my Behringer B1. The PR 781 has much better audio than the B1 and I get great audio reports on the air with both my FT 5000 DX and TS 870. I love this mic. Bob Heil has designed a wonderful microphone that provides outstanding audio where ever I install it.
 
W2NJU Rating: 5/5 Nov 11, 2015 02:38 Send this review to a friend
You'll have to pry it from my hands.  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
This is a well made, large diaphragm mic with the perfect 600 Ohm rating my Kenwood TS-2000 wants to see. The frequency response is wide and so it will fill the audio envelope of your transmitter fully, edge to edge. I like to work mine close and have ordered the pop filter. My rig had a real problem in VOX mode using my previous mic, a Heil HM-12, no matter what I tweaked. I suspect the Kenwood did not like the 1000 Ohm impedance on the mic although its sound was very good. VOX is perfect with the 781. Interesting that I have had no compliments on my SSB audio, but on FM one operator told me he's never heard such beautiful audio. Go figure. The 781 is a keeper.
 
K5FAB Rating: 5/5 Apr 28, 2015 18:07 Send this review to a friend
Just the ticket!  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I have a bassy monotonic baritone voice with some nasal element, think Richard Nixon. I needed a non-condenser mic that would pick up some high end for vocal silabance but also deliver a natural sounding smooth low end. Previous use of ribbon mikes made the voice smooth but too muddy without the use of massive EQ. I thought the PR-40 might be too "boomy" so I opted for the PR-781. Audio is much improved using only the internal EQ in the Ten-Tec Orion II and Omni VII. The quality of the microphone was much better than I expected. Heard people complain that Heil mics were overpriced. This one actually saved me money, as I was able to sell the outboard EQ and have money left over after buying the mic. Highly recommended.
 
VE7AGW Rating: 5/5 Apr 10, 2015 16:21 Send this review to a friend
Great Audio  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I bought this mike because I wanted to try a boom mike, I've used headsets for years, mainly because I've use them while flying, namely the David Cark and I wanted to get away from the headset for a change. I've had a number of Heil cartridges that I've installed in different desk microphones but I never used a boom mike till now. Well I was pleasantly surprised by the reports I was getting back. So I asked a fellow amateur to record my audio while I transmitted with each microphone and low and behold the PR-781 was fantastic, it had the widest frequency response I've ever heard. So out came the oscilloscope and I did some audio tests, the normal thing, frequency wide, gain level, voltage. Again I was surprised the mic actually did what Heil stated it would, in fact I found it to perform better than what Heil listed it as. But this is understandable because no two microphone are exactly the same and manufacturers state you will get the minimum responses. My hat goes off to Bob Heil and his employee's they have an impressive microphone both in appearance as I bought the Gold one and in performance. It works great with my PA amp, my mixer for podcasting, voiceover and most of all it does a great job on my IC-756ProIII.
 
W4DXL Rating: 5/5 Jan 20, 2015 09:27 Send this review to a friend
Impressed with the quality  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
In truth you don't need an expensive mic for SSB just about anything should work. I wanted a decent mic that I could use with a mic boom and that's exactly what I got. In the back of my mind I thought it would be nice to have a mic that would work in other applications, maybe podcasts or voiceover work. I ordered the HB1, the Heil balanced cable and the PR781 both the boom and the mic were discounted. Having been in broadcasting for many years I have seen all kinds of mics and booms I must say I was very favorably impressed with the fit and finish, everything went together without a hitch. The only other thing I needed was a mic extension cable that I found at the local musical instrument store. I made my own PTT switch. Setting the EQ on the FT-950 has other people raving about how much better I sound. No more bending over a desk mic. No problems and that's rare!
 
N0YXE Rating: 5/5 Jan 3, 2015 21:11 Send this review to a friend
OUTSTANDING, AS USUAL  Time owned: more than 12 months
I am using the PR 781 with my ICOM 7410 radio. BOB gave me the settings on e-mail, but I just use the compression adjustment and all is fine. I'm using the PR 40 with my Icom 756 PRO III. Look around for the best pricing and you will get a great microphone!
 
W5EAK Rating: 5/5 Sep 29, 2014 07:46 Send this review to a friend
OUTSTANDING  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I have been a HEIL customer for many years. Recently one of our Great Grandkids was playing with my Pro Set and broke it beyond repair. I then ask Bob Heil to suggest the best replacement for my FT-2000. Bob suggested the PR781 and to go to their web site for the proper settings on my rig. It took less than a hour to get the settings and microphone working. I was very impressed with the results. I made contact with friends I know and communicate with daily asking if they noticed a difference. Everyone thought I added more power and all loved the clarity my voice. As before, HEIL proved its self to be the finest choice for microphones available for Hams.
 
W5KG Rating: 5/5 Jun 19, 2014 06:52 Send this review to a friend
Very Nice  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I have had two of these mic's. They were and are a very nice addition to the station. I bought a new FTdx3000D and I thought I needed to have "new" used mic to go along with it. I have had this one about 2 months.
I have never had a bad report using the PR781 on either using a FT950 or the FTdx3000D.
I use VOX most of the time so not having a PTT switch on the mic does not bother me one bit. I do have a foot switch to key the rig if I need to.
I also built my own mic cord so I did not have to spend $25+ for a cord.
You can buy the PR781 new for $139 or so now so not very expensive.
I do not think you would be disappointed in buying one.
Don, W5KG
 
F5PBG Rating: 5/5 Jun 19, 2014 05:59 Send this review to a friend
The best microphone I've never had  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Whenever I hear this microphone, i find it great.

So I bought :
. Heil PR-781 : Microphone
. CC1-XLR-YBAL : Cable (for FT2000)
. HB-1 : Articulated arm
. FS-50 : foot PTT

Settings on FT2000 :
PROC : ON - 50%
MIC : 100%
085 : 2-28 (200 to 2800 Hz)
134 : 200 (PE1 FRQ)
135 : -8 (PE1 LVL)
136 : 1 (PE1 BW)
137 : 900 (PE2 FRQ)
138 : 4 (PE2 LVL)
139 : 2 (PE2 BW)
140 : 2100 (PE3 FRQ)
141 : 9 (PE3 LVL)
142 : 1 (PE3 BW)

See http://radioamateur.forumsactifs.com/t1689-ft2000-micro-heil-pr781
(use Google Translate for other language)

People who can not get good results may be set wrong settings on their tranceiver.

You need a microphone parametric preamp on the tranceiver (or outside) with this kind of microphone.

Excellent results on FT950, FT2000, FTdx5000 and FTdx9000 (probably also on FTdx1200 and FTdx3000).

This is only my opinion and the opinion of my correspondents... ;)

Best regards,
Ludovic Vuillermet - F5PBG
http://f5pbg.free.fr
 
AB4D Rating: 5/5 May 6, 2014 19:01 Send this review to a friend
Works FB  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Hi. I recently received a Heil PR 781G. I opted for the G version because I preferred the color scheme of black and gold. Prices for the microphone vary significantly from dealer to dealer, so shopping around for the best price is advisable.

The PR 781 is a studio type microphone with no PTT switching including. It integrated well into my station that uses a footswitch for the PTT. Audio reports have been favorable. When compared to an Electrovoice RE27 I use most of the time, the hams I work on a regular basis could not really tell a significant difference between the two. The PR 781 seems to be well built and is compact enough to be unobtrusive in the shack. I have no complaints about this microphone.

73
 
Page 1 of 10 —>


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.