eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


Reviews Categories | Antennas: HF: Yagi, Quad, Rotary dipole, LPDA | OptiBeam OB15-7 Help


Reviews Summary for OptiBeam OB15-7
OptiBeam OB15-7 Reviews: 4 Average rating: 5.0/5 MSRP: $3,925.00
Description: 15 Element Yagi 40-30-20-17-15-12-10m
7 bands - no traps - 1 coax - no tuning - no moving parts - radiation on all bands into one direction - perfect performance
Product is in production.
More info: http://www.optibeam.de/
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the OptiBeam OB15-7.

EI5KF Rating: 5/5 Jul 16, 2013 12:35 Send this review to a friend
OB 15-7, superior German engineering and performance  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I was looking for an antenna that would cover most bands.

The 15-7 fitted the bill and Tom was most helpful answering my many e-mail.

After receiving my antenna, we set about assembly and testing. The antenna parts were all marked and assembly is easy. As with all engineering works, "RTFM" and you do should not have a problem.

The antenna went up, tested perfect and was operational for IARU HF Champs the following weekend. Having only worked thru an 80m doublet up to now, the 15-7 was a dream on all bands, just point and shoot.

Thanks Thomas for a quality product, I look forward to getting many DX contacts in the coming years.

EI5KF



 
LA9TJA Rating: 5/5 Aug 28, 2011 11:49 Send this review to a friend
Great!  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
After a breakdown in march this year, i had to get a new yagi. And i have seen much on Optibeams home site, looking for OB 15-7. I decided fast to order this one. First off all, what a great construction. And how easy it was to get togheter. Very nice mark of all the elements. And the manual was easy reading. After trying this for a month now, i have to say i am impressed. I have easly been comming through the piles so far. Also after two contests, it seems that the OB 15-7 has a big gain. So i can in the strongest way recommend this antenna. And by the way... Thomas DF2BO gives a great service if needed.
 
MM0KTC Rating: 5/5 Jul 4, 2011 02:40 Send this review to a friend
Multi Band Yagi - 40-30-20-17-15-12-10m  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
The Storey
i have been licensed for about 3 years. i was granted permission by Fiona (my wife) to erect a tower with a better antenna than the SteppIR Vert i had at the time (and still have). the criterai was to find an antenna, that would cover all HF bands and once up, would be maintainance free.

haveing looked any various options, the OB15-7 was the choice without doubt. the order was placed, and about 3 months later it arrived along with a OB6-5.

Assembly
this was easy, the instructions where clear (but i overlooked one part) and as al the part where clearly marked and bundled together, the assembly only took a couple of days. i did not rush this, just took my time as the weather was hot and sunny at the time (April 2011).

Fixing to Mast
Again, this was simple, due tot he manin boom being in 3 parts. i was assisted by several friends from my radio club, and this only took a few hours. connection was made and i was off.

Problems
always read carefully the maunal, and check and diference. if i had done this, i would not have conected the feed at the wrong place. this caused the vswr on one band to be off the scale, but this was all sorted by Thomas, once i had emailed a picture and to ask what could be wrong.

Tuning
the antenna was about on the mark for tuning out of the box. my location though, being surrounded by trees, may have affected things, as the point of resonance on 12m and 17m was below the bottom of the band. Again, Thomas remodeled things based on my readings, and suggested that the 17m and 12m elemts could be shortend slightly, this worked and all is now spot on.

BackUp
i have not made this clear above, byt there was a period of about 4 weeks where Thomas and I where emaiing with regard to the issues i had, the help recieved was second to none, and if i where to give him a mark out of 10, it would need to be 12. the help and support given was amazing, and for that, alone, i will always be in his debt.

Performace
again, this is simply superb. have been lucky to use some big club statons, this is on parr. when the antennas is at full hieght (22m) breaking pile ups is not an issue, often on first call.

Summery
the whole package is simply great, the antenna is very well enginnered, and to quote a friend who when first saw it asked "is it made in Germany?" and then whent on to say "you can tell, nothing else could be enginnered that well." i think sums it up. the performace is second to none.

if i was asked to recomend an antenna, then the range from Optibeam would be the choice.
 
I2VGW Rating: 5/5 Sep 19, 2007 14:28 Send this review to a friend
An absolute "dream Yagi"!  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
After many years of dxchasing to climb the top of dxcc I decide to change my two Cushcract X/7 and A3WS (with the element of 30 meters).They did a great job so as a matter of fact it was not so easy to find the new, ideal beam for my shack because Ií was looking for a unique antenna, highly performancing and without any compromise. Eventually Ií decided for the new OB15-7 , thatís 15 Elements Yagi 40-30-20-17-15-12-10 meters, made in Germany by Optibeam, company managing by Thomas Schmenger ,DF2BO. Tomís ham spirit , his great, professional experience, his reputation and, last but non least, his friendship habits, help me to find just the right antenna for my more and more increasing wishing of enthusiastic dxer. Easy to assembly, now I have my new OBI 15-7 on my roof since two weeks and I can tell thatís is really an unbelievable product. Solid , with no compromise mechanical and material choices :only aluminum, stainless steel and quality insulating material And with particular benefits like lossfree shortened 40m elements high Q air coils, by the "OptiBeam decoupling stub technique". Broadband single 50 Ohm coax cable feed system by the high efficent "OptiBeam direct coupled driver feed system" . Optimized computer designed German Yagi without traps and with full size elements. High gain and f/b ratio on all bands. Decoupling of the WARC bands from the others by the unique "hidden sleeve element technique". One beam for seven bands, with a big gain. In one word: really seven interlaced monobanders on one short boom with one feed line,thatís mean : the Yagi for the ham with the highest demands . Yes, just like me. Congratulations Tom and his team also for a real, extraordinary customer service! Well worth the money, I love it! Sorry for you, friends but I like break the pile-up.
 


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.