eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


Reviews Categories | Transceivers: VHF/UHF+ Amateur Hand-held | Yaesu VX-5R Help


Reviews Summary for Yaesu VX-5R
Yaesu VX-5R Reviews: 272 Average rating: 4.2/5 MSRP: $249 (AES and HRO)
Description: The VX-5R is a miniature tri band FM transceiver
Product is in production.
More info: http://www.yaesu.com/indexVS.cfm?cmd=DisplayProducts&ProdCatID=111&encProdID=nFLhjiVz8z8%3D&DivisionID=65&isArchived=1
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the Yaesu VX-5R.

<— Page 5 of 28 —>

YC3EBW Rating: 3/5 Mar 3, 2006 17:20 Send this review to a friend
Good xmit poor receive  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I bought this vx-5r 3 weeks ago as a companion for my 2 years old vx-7r from authorized dealer in Jakarta. And I chose the latest production of the HT which was shown by the S/N(5Gxxxxxx)I compared (on the easy way) both handies for its sensitivity on several bands and came to conclusion. On the receiving sensitivity vx-5r was not a winner. For example With the same set up on both rigs(Both got an original antenna attached) my vx-7r received the local tv station(WFM) with full scale. No signal on vx-5r(although on the vhf amateur band vx-7r only slightly better). The little brother is not totally deaf, but I need to set the squelch to 0 to be able to hear the broadcast. For transmitting on VHF vx-5r was slightly better(it was also louder). As an amateur of course my main concern is amateur band. However, I should concern with the whole performance vs the vx-5r price tag.
 
CALLSIGN-HIDDEN Rating: 4/5 Jan 12, 2006 11:29 Send this review to a friend
decent radio, full of features  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
First impressions frightened me when it came to programming this radio. There seemed way too many steps to program a single frequency. Reading the manual is definetly a requirement.

Once I read the majority of the radio it became alot easier and made alot of sense! Each programmed frequency can have a multitude of settings quite different from the others. Though there are system wide options mixed in with the individual memory programming and setting the text message per memory takes some time but is quite convenient.

But I soon realized that doing this by hand was a pain in the backside, so I purchased a data cable and programming software which made programming 150 memories a snap right off the bat. I have half the state of wisconsin's repeaters programmed into my ht. When I travel, I just need to tune it to the city and BAAM, Im good to go!

The performance of this thing, even for one watt, is about average if not a little bit more. I am also using a Diamond SRH77CA dual band antenna instead of the short stubby rubber duckie. The factory antenna is crappy to say the least.

I give this a 4 and not a 5 because of the initial programming, tx performance (average to a bit above) which might also be because of my antenna selections (even with external antenna).

If you need a small radio with tons of features and one that is nearly indistructable, then this is for you. If you dont want to learn or dont need a radio that has features up the wha-zoo then this is not for you and not for the faint of heart.

Plus, this unit is easy to modify eithor hardware solder points or secret software updates to set "virtual jumpers"

Out of pure performance and ease of configuration and durability, I still love my Radio Shack HTX-202. Nothing tops it yet.
 
KI4JOT Rating: 5/5 Dec 17, 2005 16:15 Send this review to a friend
Awesome  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
I love this HT! The military specs and coverage of this HT rock! I don't know why anyone is giving it a bad review for being "hard to program". I've memorized how to do it and I'm only 12! You got o the VFO and to the frequency and you hold down function for 5 seconds then you select the slot. EASY!! True, some things are somewhat hard to find but I can search and find it. All in all, I love this rig and wouldn't trade it for anything.
 
G3SEA Rating: 5/5 Dec 10, 2005 13:57 Send this review to a friend
Oldy but Goody :)  Time owned: 0 to 3 months

Santa brought me a VX5RS ( now discontinued ).

Being an expat I use it mainly for IRLP/EchoLink use.

It's compact and Mil Spec rugged.The voltage and rx/tx usage readouts are very useful as are the four power levels ( something lacking in many HT's ). Has several bells and whistles I don't need but it's a remarkable HT.

This may turn out to be a classic HT ?

Mele Kalikimaka ! :)

KH6/G3SEA
 
KM5TC Rating: 5/5 Nov 15, 2005 11:41 Send this review to a friend
Great  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
Obtained this radio a few months ago used.
Once you catch on to the menu system it makes
adding or changing freq easy.

It is small, feature loaded and simply works well.

Good audio, both on transmit and receive, and the
non memory battery is a plus. 73's
 
G7TOK Rating: 5/5 Nov 15, 2005 00:21 Send this review to a friend
Dont make me laugh  Time owned: more than 12 months
TH-F6/7E/A
what a terrible joke.
Deaf as a post.
plastic.
flimsy
dreadful implementation of SSB
overpriced.

VX-5R
Big ears
solid
die-cast
shower-proof
reliable

If you buy a modern handheld radio and are unable to program it even with the manual, that says more about the operator than the radio.
I've had both radios, and although the kenwood has the bells and whistles, its just an essay in the art.
the VX is the novel
Go out to the lot and drop both radios on their butts and see which survives.
yep, you guessed right.

buy a third party antenna, put it on both radios and check the same repeater from the same location.
guess which has the bigger ears.
yep, you guessed right.

going fishing, guess which one I would worry about if it dropped in the water for a few seconds.
the model does not begin with V.
 
N0MUD Rating: 1/5 Nov 14, 2005 22:24 Send this review to a friend
Very poor  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
Wow someone removed my last thread, dont know why all I did was say the VX5r was very poor and the Kenwood THF6a was tops in my book. I had my VX5r for just a few months and it was very difficult to program and I even purchased the program to try it that way and it was still difficult. The only way I got mine programmed was to clone it with another HAM that had one too. It took the two of us to program his and just decided to clone the two instead of trying to program mine. I like the three bands that Kenwood has 2/440/220 and a full five watts on all three bands plus you can receive all the HF bands and that is also a plus. The VX5r's have been discontinued and now the VX6r is the replacement but it is only a dual band radio one receive and the Kenwood is a dual receive HT another plus over the VX5 and 6r. Now dont get me wrong I do have Yaesu radios besides the FT-8800r's I own three I also have the FT-60 and the FT-470 Ht's and I enjoy both of them. The FT-60 is extremely easy to program, you can program a freq into the radio in about 30 seconds it is just that easy. I will keep all three of my HT's because I like all three of them. The FT-470 and Kenwood THF-6a are both dual band receive HT's. Don't waste your money on a VX5r, buy a Kenwood THF-6a or the Yaesu FT-60 for the buck they are the best buy on the market.

73's Mike NØmud
 
AA2LD Rating: 3/5 Nov 6, 2005 15:58 Send this review to a friend
useful as a back up  Time owned: more than 12 months
This was my first handheld. Once our club got a 220 repeater, I purchased a Kenwood THf6A, and saw the light. The Kenwood is easy to program, has versatile (and free!) programming software, has excellent receiver and transmit properties, and is built well.

I never really understood all the Yaesu's menus. The radio was adequate, but now I know better. Thank goodness I didn't go for the 7R.

The VX-5R is now a backup and a play toy for my 3 year old.

Do yourself a favor: buy the Kenwood.
 
SM5PHU Rating: 2/5 Nov 6, 2005 14:14 Send this review to a friend
Bring the operating manual along...  Time owned: more than 12 months
After once again struggling with one of the not so very well described menu functions, I decided to write my first review.

The receiver selectivity is poor. Local signals can be heard loud and clear 50kHz up and down from their actual operating frequency.

The user interface is also not very good:
Such a basic function as the squelch should not be hidden in a menu somewhere.
Memory channels can not be erased without resetting the entire radio, losing all memories.

Even after owning this radio for several years, I still need to carry the (sometimes incomprehensible) operating manual with me,
in order to use some of the features.

The good thing about the VX-5 is it's versatility: it does 6 and 2 meters as well as 70 centimeters and general coverage RX.

The bad thing is it's not very good at anything it does...
 
K9PLR Rating: 5/5 Nov 4, 2005 15:53 Send this review to a friend
Amazed  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
Really had great fun with this little radio, both at home and on the road. Does get warm, as others have stated, so I often power it down, which is a good thing anyway. Don't use the belt clip, because I use an old cellular "flip-phone" case as a holster on the belt. Use autopatch, weather band, AM, FM, and even shortwave, with the aid of a piece of wire inductively coupled to the stock antenna. The greatest testament of all is the xyl even likes it; that's a big thing for someone who reluctantly has tolerated ham radio for 34 years! Might get another for parts.
 
<— Page 5 of 28 —>


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.