eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


Reviews Categories | Electronic Component Suppliers | McMaster-Carr Help


Reviews Summary for McMaster-Carr
McMaster-Carr Reviews: 8 Average rating: 4.4/5 MSRP: $(missing—add MSRP)
Description: Extremely wide range of industrial hardware, machinery, etc.
Product is in production.
More info: http://www.mcmaster.com/
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the McMaster-Carr.

TANAKASAN Rating: 0/5 Jun 28, 2011 04:49 Send this review to a friend
Will Not Supply Outside USA  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
McMaster Carr will not supply any goods to people submitting orders outside the United States. Sure, you can set up an account, but when you submit your order it will be rejected citing US Export Control regulations. After my initial difficulties I wrote to the CEO of McMaster Carr and he confirmed the company policy in writing.

Tanakasan
 
KC2KMJ Rating: 5/5 Jun 8, 2011 17:01 Send this review to a friend
Good Selection  Time owned: more than 12 months
I love McMaster. They always have what I need in stock. It sucks that they moved down to Jackson, NJ from Dayton, NJ. Now they're an hour drive for me. Still, love the selection and prices aren't too bad, but for the oddball electrical piece they could be $$. Overall, a great company.
 
W1ITT Rating: 5/5 Aug 13, 2008 16:08 Send this review to a friend
A real hardware store.  Time owned: more than 12 months
These people are rarely out of stock on anything, prices are good and their website ordering system saves a lot of running around. I ordered a mess of bolts, nuts, etc on Monday and the UPS dropped them all off on Wednesday. That's fairly typical. This is a company that wants to do business, and does it well.
 
K4GST Rating: 5/5 Aug 2, 2008 13:34 Send this review to a friend
Great service and selection  Time owned: more than 12 months
For an upcoming antenna project I ordered some aluminum rods and an 8ft. piece of polycarbonate tubing - stuff you just can't find at the local big box hardware store. Shipping cost for these 6 and 8 foot long items was very reasonable IMO. The only thing I don't like is not having a shipping cost when checking out. BUT, if this is how they keep the cost down then who cares!
 
K1XV Rating: 5/5 Dec 9, 2007 15:56 Send this review to a friend
Workbenches are the best  Time owned: more than 12 months
My hamshack/office has several of their workbenches and an industrial table. Working surfaces I selected are butcher block maple. These benches support hundreds of pounds of boatanchors, linears, etc. without a whimper.

Not the cheapest, but highest in quality and value.
 
N0FPE Rating: 5/5 Dec 9, 2007 14:14 Send this review to a friend
Must Have  Time owned: more than 12 months
All you need is a McMaster-Carr and a Grainger cataloge! If these folks dont have it you dont need it
 
N2BIX Rating: 5/5 Dec 9, 2007 12:07 Send this review to a friend
great supplier  Time owned: more than 12 months
I build cars ,custom motorcycles,and ham radio gear as my hobby and this place has been the best supplier of everything in terms of BASIC MATERIALS ,nuts bolts screws,oddball fasteners of all kinds , metal, plastic,tubing etc etc.Just get one of their catalogs and you will see what i mean. Shipping is the fastest of ANY company i have ever dealt with and without some enormous cost for same.HIGHEST RECOMMENDATION.
 
N3QE Rating: 5/5 Oct 18, 2007 11:10 Send this review to a friend
They have everything!  Time owned: more than 12 months
McMaster-Carr is an old-line industrial supplier not too different than Granger et al. but concentrating less on supplies and more on hardware, metal stock, plastics, etc.

I have used them many times with great success for hardware not available locally, plastic (they have everything: G-10, phenolic, acrylic, delrin, teflon, etc.), metal stock (especially aluminum tubing), PVC pipe fittings etc.

Their web page is a remarkably powerful search engine, and whenever I order anything it's always delivered the next day, and very often for only $4 UPS shipping costs.

While what they sell is not particularly ham-oriented, anyone building anything and everything should have McMaster-Carr's website as a reference and as a supplier with an incredibly deep and broad stock of parts and materials.
 


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.