eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


Reviews Categories | Transceivers: HF Amateur (inc. HF+6M+VHF models) | ICOM IC-728 Help


Reviews Summary for ICOM IC-728
ICOM IC-728 Reviews: 16 Average rating: 4.6/5 MSRP: $700us aprox or1100 canadian
Description: all mode hf 160-10
Product is in production.
More info: http://www.icomamerica.com/support/archive/amateur/ic-728.html
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the ICOM IC-728.

Page 1 of 2 —>

WA6MOW Rating: 5/5 Mar 23, 2014 08:51 Send this review to a friend
If You Find One Buy It.  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I enjoy ham gear and have owned many radios including 3 K3's, K2's 756Pro3's etc. The 728 is a rather rare rig from the early 90's. I have been using it as my main radio and I must say I am hooked on its simplicity. I installed a cw filter since that is the only mode I work. I love the audio and I can listen with this rig for hours without fatigue. I am getting a kick out of using this simple well built radio. I have worked lots of dx using a dipole. It has a very quiet receiver and its triple conversion makes it a very usable radio. At the present pricing it is real bargain.
 
KC7NYI Rating: 4/5 May 28, 2012 09:27 Send this review to a friend
great  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
RECEIVED MY RADIO FRIDAY THE 25 OF MAY. PURCHASED IT FROM E BAY. CAME LIKE IT SHOULD, IN GREAT SHAPE WITH NO PROBLEMS. ONLY THING I DONT LIKE IS THE METER. SIGNAL METER IS STINGY. HAS A GREAT SOUND. HAVING A LITTLE PROBLEM USING A LDG 200PRO 2. GETTIG THE THRU INDICATION ALL THE TIME? OTHERWISE HAPPY WITH AN OLDER MODEL ICOM. SOMEONE TOOK GREAT CARE OF THIS ONE.
 
W5WAA Rating: 5/5 Jun 25, 2009 12:56 Send this review to a friend
Excellent unit  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
I thought my Kenwood TS-180S was the last radio I'd ever own, but I was wrong. I used a friends IC-728 for a weekend and was so impressed that I bought it. The receiver is much better than the Kenwood, a little more sensitive, has more modern signal processing to reduce noise much better, a better noise blanker, and some other modern features that I liked. This radio has a minimal amount of digital stuff, is easy to use, all the features work. An excellent buy. It doesn't have all the bells and whistles that the Kenwood has (lots of knob to twist, everything needs to be adjusted), but the Icom does it automatically and invisibly. Set it up once and it requires very little knob twisting after. My kind of radio. The Kenwood TS-180S is still and excellent radio for it's age, better than most made in the early 80's.
 
KF9VA Rating: 5/5 Apr 16, 2009 19:49 Send this review to a friend
Great radio for cw and ssb  Time owned: more than 12 months
In my opinion no company has built such a solid radio as the 728.I have had 6 and this time I plan to keep it. Sure you can get a new rig with all the menu,s but if you want a good old radio with out a moments trouble get a icom 728. It is simple, solid and has a great receiver.
 
AD7TO Rating: 4/5 May 15, 2008 01:17 Send this review to a friend
Good radio  Time owned: more than 12 months
I have owned my Icom IC-728 since 1995. It is still working and I have had no problems with it. This is not the radio for someone that wants lots of features. This is a basic HF radio that will get you on the air and works well. This radio will give you 100 watts output on SSB.

As others have said here there is no SWR meter on the radio. Also there is no ALC meter on the radio.

This would be a good radio for someone stating out in HF or needs a cheaper priced HF radio. Also its smaller size makes it great for portable operation too.
 
AC5PS Rating: 5/5 Apr 30, 2006 06:14 Send this review to a friend
All I need  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
If your looking for a good solid state HF radio with NO menu's the 728 is a good choice. I have tried many HF radio's and this is one of my favorites. I have had "high end" radio's and there just to much radio for me. The 728 could make a great portable also, it's only about a size and a half of a IC-706 or FT-100. I will not go into detail of features, you can look that up. Highly recomended!!
 
KE5CTY Rating: 5/5 Aug 2, 2005 21:43 Send this review to a friend
Fantastic Rig  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
I traded an IC-730 and a 2 meter rig, originally just so I could have the IC-AT-160 antenna tuner that fits on the bracket neatly at the side of the IC-728 so I could work 160 Meters for a change.

Well, I regreted giving up the 730 at first, but not anymore. Hope to get a 729 (same rig but with 6 meters on it) and run them dual.

Receive:
Love the PBT (passband tuning)

The two years I was on Johnston Island as WY5L/KH3 I had ALOT of experience as a rare DX station in *really* crowded band conditions.
I owned a Yaesu FT-767GX.

No comparison I would take the IC-728 or IC-729 over the Yaesu anyday and I liked the Yaesu.

The reciever on the 728 is *just as good raw* as the Yaesu or the 730 with all the stuff and with the addition of the ability of a more effective attenuator on the front panel, in crowded band conditions, makes all the difference in the world.

QRM is non-effective with this rig.
The CW is crystal clear also.

I also like the ablility to switch bands and be on the same frequency and same mode that I left.

Also like scanning 10 meters for openings while I work in the background in the shack.

Plus, now I have the IC-CT-17 CI-V controller hooked up to it and can controled from my computer with super fast responses to the computer commands.

Worked real well during the IOTA this year. Works beautifully with all of my logging software Logger32 and N1MM and many others.

This rig is really a super rig.
I can't say enough good about it.
I would recommend it highly to anyone.

Transmit:
All the reports on the outgoing audio are great as well. Everyone seems to be surprised I am only running 100W into a dipole antenna. So I guess the outgoing signal is crystal clear also.

I like working pile ups and contests and have given this rig a real work out since I got it. No overheating, no sputtering, nothing, just good performance. Does what I tell it when I tell it.

I also have heard and worked DX on this rig that I could not hear on the crowded pile-ups with the 730.

Drawbacks:
Well, I'm still looking for them. I am *very* critical so I will probably find something sooner or later.

For now, the more I use it the more I love it :0)

73 cul
BOB
KE5CTY
 
AB9IO Rating: 5/5 Jul 22, 2005 20:39 Send this review to a friend
No frills but excellent  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
Pros: I've had nothing but pleasure operating this rig. Has been used extensively for PSK31 and voice. True the fan is noisy, but it does its job. The rig never gets very hot even with extended sessions. Even made a homebrew bracket for it for going mobile in the Wisconsin QSO Party. Sensitivity is pretty good, and the noise blanker works fairly well. General coverage receive is a nice perk.

Cons: Don't like the transmit button just under the power button. Too easy to hit it when you are powering up. Mine also has a few birdies.

Other than that, a great rig. Pretty close to the Icom IC-718 in looks and specs. No DSP, no keyer, but who cares? hihi

Will be keeping it.

Tony, AB9IO
 
K1YDA Rating: 4/5 Nov 20, 2003 01:21 Send this review to a friend
A good deal used especially if the QST mods are performed  Time owned: more than 12 months
I did most of the QST mods to the 728 but waited until recently to do the hang agc mod. Began to use the radio on 5MHZ and didn't like the agc action on QRN. Did the hang AGC mod and REALLY improved the sound of the receiver - sounds almost as good as my FT102. By one cheap do ALL the mods and have a radio which sounds the way we expect ICOMs to sound. I have a IC730, the 728, an FT102 a C line and a ICOM R70 I now use the 728 to listen all the time. The audio mods don't do much good without the agc rx mods. They apply, BTW ,to the 725 726 728 and 729.
 
VE7REN Rating: 5/5 Feb 16, 2003 01:57 Send this review to a friend
basic but bulletproof  Time owned: more than 12 months
ive had this rig since 1994,and have never had a bit of problems with it.its user friendly,good layout,good features and good price tag.i have kenwood and yaesu products,and think this rig is built like a tank.ive used and abbused this radio to full extent.no worries!!! i will never sell this radio.i have friends with ft847s and 990s that cant believe the ears it has and the clarity in the audio.i dont hear of to many of these radios out there,but if you ever find a used one buy it!!!!
 
Page 1 of 2 —>


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.