eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


Reviews Categories | Books/Manuals/Videos/PodCasts on ham radio | BS7H Scarborough Reef DXpedition DVD Help


Reviews Summary for BS7H Scarborough Reef DXpedition DVD
BS7H Scarborough Reef DXpedition DVD Reviews: 12 Average rating: 5.0/5 MSRP: $25
Description: 1 hour video documentary of the BS7H DXpedition in May 2007
Product is in production.
More info: http://www.dxvideos.com
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the BS7H Scarborough Reef DXpedition DVD.

Page 1 of 2 —>

G3UXB Rating: 5/5 May 23, 2012 17:57 Send this review to a friend
Excellent quality  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Received my copy today and could not wait to put it in my DVD player, I have an upscale Sony DVD player and on my 46 inch Sony Bravia HD TV it looked HD quality, I did not realise there was another DXpedition to this wayward shoal since 1997, I have the video of that one from YouTube I wish that 1997 one was on a DVD like this as I was lucky enough to purchase the FT-1000 MP that Kan JA1BK was using on the 1997 visit to Scarborough reef. Great DVD maybe I will have to get some of the others, more reviews needed
 
G4DJC Rating: 5/5 May 19, 2012 10:18 Send this review to a friend
Great DVD!  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
received my copy today after recently ordering one. Its a great DVD - professionally made & edited, showing the hardships & conditions they were under to give the deserving a new entity! good to see also the op's slick working of the pile ups & managing to pull the individual calls through.Well worth the cost & better to watch than most of tv's "reality shows".Buy one, you won't be dissapointed. 73 Dick g4djc
 
N3ZC Rating: 5/5 Mar 28, 2008 06:14 Send this review to a friend
Excellent!  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Just got mine yesterday.Nicely boxed & covered...Slipped it into my Blu-Ray/DVD player..& watched it on my 52" Sony LCD..Excellent picture quality & narration, and it never get's boring (all 58 min of it)....You almost feel like you are there...It's interesting to hear OH2BH Martti Laine discuss some of the various aspects of BS7H's present and past visits by dxpeds. .I will now buy the other videos that are available in James Brooks's collection. A "gotta have" for every DXer..(even a casual one, like myself).
 
N6YE Rating: 5/5 Jan 4, 2008 11:43 Send this review to a friend
FANTASTIC  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
James Brooks, 9V1YC, must have put his heart and soul into this beautiful production. The great video, sound, and attention to detail made me feel like I was there on Scarborough Reef.

The DVD was WORTH EVERY PENNY AND A LOT MORE!!!

Thanks James.

Ken, N6YE
 
AB7E Rating: 5/5 Jan 1, 2008 20:07 Send this review to a friend
Amazingly well produced  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I've seen several DXpedition videos, but this one is in a class by itself. It's extremely well organized and informative, and its sixty minutes of non-repetitive content is so professionally produced it beats (I'm not exaggerating here) many of the documentaries you might find on the Discovery Channel or History Channel. Outstanding work from 9V1YC.
 
AA9RN Rating: 5/5 Jan 1, 2008 13:46 Send this review to a friend
Fantastic  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I thought it was a great dvd.Put together very well.I can see why its a hard place to work from.Thanks to the team for a job well done.
 
WC3O Rating: 5/5 Dec 26, 2007 12:26 Send this review to a friend
Best yet  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Just came in the mail. I have seen a number of DXpedition videos so far, this is by far the best yet. Not that the other videos were bad, just that Hams need to learn how long each shot should be. You can't spend 10 minutes looking at a bird... I'm all for learning about the history, wide life and political aspects of the entity, just don't spend too much time on it. It's a DXpedition video, after all! hi hi James did a really great job balancing all aspects. My wife still wants to know what those nut-cases were doing out on those rocks??? hi hi Highly recommended.

73 DE WC3O
 
W2GW Rating: 5/5 Dec 26, 2007 08:59 Send this review to a friend
Awesome DXpedition video  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Wow! James Brooks, 9V1YC, has outdone himself with this, his latest work. The previous posts said it well. His photography is superb as usual, and he tells us the story of BS7H, beginning, middle, and end. I came away with a great appreciation of what the guys had to go through to bring us this rare entity. This video is a must-see for any DX club. Thanks James.
 
ZL2AL Rating: 5/5 Dec 21, 2007 19:36 Send this review to a friend
Fantastic  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Scarborough Reef - BS7H is James Brook’s video story of one of the most amazing and difficult DXpeditions ever undertaken to the rarest DXCC entity on earth. This is DXpeditioning at its best overcoming and coping with an operating environment that you won’t believe. The story of BS7H is the story of the political wrangling and arguing that took place within the DX community before Scarborough Reef was ever granted “entity” status and the subsequent political maneuvering that eventuated when the team of 15 actually wanted to operate from there. Agreement with China and Philippines governments were the main obstacles to overcome. With plenty of good will and behind the scenes maneuvering by some very influential amateur radio operators the team set sail for Scarborough Reef in April 2007.

As with all his filming, James lovingly picks up the little things that draw your attention to what is happening in any scene and James always allows his camera to tell the story. We have all seen photos of Scarborough Reef but the video takes you to the individual ridiculously small rocks and you watch the guys actually building the tiny platforms. You are taken up onto the platforms and sit beside the operator working the pileups. It’s not just the operator you hear. James does a wonderful job of getting the both sides of the audio perfectly balanced. The team of five BA’s, six W’s, one 9V, one OH, 1 JA and one DL are the best of the best and get down to the business of working 45K+ QSOs. The logistics of BS7H are horrendous. There are four rocks which must change operators at least twice a day. The mother ship is anchored 2 Km away from the reef and the only way the ops can get to the rocks is at high tide and sometimes have to get out of their boats and drag the boat over the coral reef, half walking and half stumbling into the sharp edges. How dangerous is that?

The reef environment is mostly dead due to over fishing, cyanide fishing and naval ships blasting away at the rocks for target practice. James goes underwater and you are taken for a look at the tonnes of deadly unexploded ordinance just under the surface. We see a great shot of Martti Lane - OH2BH and others returning to the ship after a trip out with toxic skin cuts from their feet to their knees being sprayed with antiseptic solutions. The oppressive heat from the sun and the long hours in the middle of the night on a small rock alone took their toll on the operators.

There are many cuts to Don Greenbaum N1DG, the BS7H webmaster and one of the 10 support team from five countries around the world. Don explains the very difficult behind the scenes political negotiations to make it happen and the subsequent interesting international panic that took place when a lot of hams realized that they may not get BS7H in their logs. The BS7H team couldn’t have done anything more than they did. There were KW amps on every rock and the best of gear with backup gear from the ship available. BS7H is still among the top 3 most wanted and will probably remain there as long at DXCC exists because of the sheer difficulty of operating from the reef.

I give this latest DVD video of James a five star rating. It has a great “Feel good” factor that a group of ham radio operators can come together and overcome political, environmental and logistical problems to pull off one of the best DXpeditions that James Brooks has ever filmed.

You can purchase on line at www.dxvideos.com . It is a great story.

73, Lee ZL2AL
 
CT1DRB Rating: 5/5 Dec 19, 2007 14:44 Send this review to a friend
Explendid DVD.  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
After an email from James, I have ordered BS7H DVD, received it today morning.

Despite I had any cw qso with this dxexpedition, was a plaser to watch it for the first time.

At same time it shows us how dificult could be negotiations between hams and authorities has happened before this dxexpedition.

Unlike other dxexpeditions, operators were alone on the rocks, several hours, giving new-ones for hams (not for me unfortunatly) what was indeed hard phisicly speaking.

DVD has excelent quality in audio and video, because of it, my congratulations to James.

Thanks to ham operators who were in BS7H to give us such nich new one.

Best 73s

CT1DRB/OK8RB
David Quental
 
Page 1 of 2 —>


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.