eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


Reviews Categories | Receivers: General Coverage | Microtelecom PERSEUS Help


Reviews Summary for Microtelecom PERSEUS
Microtelecom PERSEUS Reviews: 26 Average rating: 4.2/5 MSRP: $829 EURO
Description: PERSEUS is a VLF-LF-HF receiver based on a outstanding direct sampling digital architecture.
It features a 14 bit 80 Ms/s analog-to-digital converter with an exceptional 76 dB SNR (BW = 40 MHz),
an high-performance configurable FPGA digital down-converter with an up to 1 MS/s output sampling
rate and a 480 MBit/s, high-speed USB 2.0 PC interface.
Product is in production.
More info: http://www.microtelecom.it/perseus/
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the Microtelecom PERSEUS.

Page 1 of 3 —>

N1LF Rating: 5/5 Mar 7, 2014 16:38 Send this review to a friend
Life Changing!   Time owned: 3 to 6 months
I hate to admit it, but this receiver is nothing short of life changing. There, I said it. Can't take it back now.

Check my call sign and QRZ page, and you'll see that I never spent a lot of time on traditional "HF" bands. For years, I was super active on 160 Meters and the "Lowfer" 1750 Meter band at 160-190 KHz.

We pioneered weak signal modes like coherent CW (CCW), WOLF (A low bit rate form of BPSK), and other modes.

In recent years, I've migrated to VHF/UHF/SHF--again sticking with the theme of weak signal operation. CW, SSB, meteor scatter, JT65B, etc.

Throughout the decades, I've maintained an interest in AM BCB DXing, and listening to low frequency Non-Directional Beacons.

All these modes are demanding on a receiver, antenna system, active noise floor reduction, etc. Over the years, I've owned a Drake R8B, AOR 7030+, Icom 746Pro, Icom 756ProIII.

A few years ago, I purchased an RF Space SDR-IQ SDR. Very happy with it, and loved the ability to record 190KHz of I/Q files for later playback. That gave me a lot of the AM band in one swath, and provided plenty of recordings to listen to when static was too much for "live" sessions.

Later I purchased a Flex 1500 for use as a transverter IF rig on VHF. Played with it on HF/MW/LW too--and thought it was great.

Looked at the Perseus many times, but who in their right mind would pay $1,000 for receiver!

Last year, I bought a FunCube Dongle Pro Plus, and was really impressed with it too. Especially above 50 MHz, it's a great performer.

But one day no a plane ride to LA, I bought a Perseus, almost on a whim. My thinking was "I'm tired of hearing about how great these are".

Figured I'd play with it for awhile, prove to myself that it didn't perform any better than other nice receivers I owned, and sell it on Ebay.

WRONG! I was so, so wrong. Quietest receiver I've ever owned. Dynamic range is unbelieveable. Makes MW and NDB DXing a dream!

Wow! Why did I wait all these years?

 
K7CJ Rating: 5/5 Oct 8, 2013 13:32 Send this review to a friend
Still the best HF SDR on the market!  Time owned: more than 12 months
I've had my Perseus for nearly two years now and absolutely love it! Most of the positive reviews echo my thoughts so I won't repeat them here.

I don't run Windows 8 so I won't comment on its Perseus support other users who run Windows 8 tell me it works just fine. The issues that most people are seeing are not directly Perseus-related.

The Perseus runs just fine on Windows 7.

Microtelecom has updated the Perseus 4.1a software to run on USB 3.0 ports; however, that isn't the only issue.

Intel has changed the design on their latest Z87 chipset -- for their newest Haswell CPU -- which a lot of newer computers will be running. The new design places a single controller in charge of USB 2.0 and USB 3.0 ports. This confuses the Perseus software.

My Asus motherboard allowed me to disable the newer xHCI controller under its USB configuration menu in its BIOS.. If you're having issues with your Perseus when launching the Perseus.exe or HFSPAN.exe applications, then look for this setting in your BIOS.

I have heard of some users having to plug their Perseus into a USB 2.0 port. This is not likely due to the Perseus software -- rather how the computer hardware was designed.

I do admit that Microtelecom has been very lazy about addressing these issues even on their own support forum. That being said, their product does work and works very well -- when computer/software are in-sync.

At this time, I do not know if there's a workaround that Microtelecom can implement to make the experience better for new computer owners. If a solution is forthcoming then I'm sure they'll release updated software and/or drivers to help with this issue.
 
MW0CBC Rating: 0/5 Sep 29, 2013 01:05 Send this review to a friend
Very flakey on Win 7.   Time owned: more than 12 months
I've been running Perseus on Win XP for a few years. I use it mostly with CW Skimmer but also with its own software to monitor the low bands.

It's always had problems. Every once in a while you'd get firmware download errors or Perseus not detected problems but power-cycling the Perseus a few times would usually get it running. Sometimes a PC re-boot would also be required.

Recently I upgraded to a Win 7 64 bit PC. This was when my problems realy began. More than 50% of the time it won't run at all with it's own software. Same problems - firmware download errors. With Skimmer, it won't work at all.

There's no support contact on the Microtelecom web site. Had a couple of suggestions from members of the user group about not running it on a USB 3 Port ( I wasn't) and that was it.

There are plenty of postings on here and around the web concerning similar issues. This product is, in my experience, a great concept, poorly implemented. It's not robust and there is no support from the manufacturer.

Time to move on. The KX3 will do what I want, is robust and it's properly supported.

Very disapointed with the whole experience.

Denis MW0CBC / GW8OQV.
 
WA9DGM Rating: 1/5 Jun 20, 2013 21:13 Send this review to a friend
Software  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
Have tried to connect to rx using xp and win 7 lap top comp. with different versions on 2 different rx's . Use icom prc1000/ r 1500 rx and win radio g303/305 series radios. But this is driving me up the wall. I'me located in the bay area? Wa9dgm@aol.com
 
WA2ZKD Rating: 5/5 Dec 15, 2012 09:37 Send this review to a friend
Still a great product  Time owned: more than 12 months
I have been using a Perseus for some time. I have access to 4 of them and them all work very well. It is incorrect to say this product is no longer supported. It gets periodic updates, in fact W8 is now supported in the 4.0c release so I'm not sure why there is that confusion (!). I am an EE who works for an HF radio company and the Perseus still amazes me. Like any radio, it's only as good as its antenna and I have found the Pixel loop to be the best amongst the small footprint antennas.
 
KE5JPP Rating: 0/5 Nov 14, 2012 03:00 Send this review to a friend
Problems  Time owned: more than 12 months
The Perseus software does not support Windows 8. The issue is that the driver for Perseus is not compatible with Windows 8. This just is another illustration of how this product is no longer supported by the manufacturer. I just purchased a new Windows 8 system and not the Perseus is useless to me until they update the driver, if that day ever comes.
 
W8GTX Rating: 5/5 Aug 15, 2012 19:41 Send this review to a friend
One of the best SDR receivers  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
Excellent performer for what I use it for, low band DXing. I also couple it with my Icom IC-7410 and use it as a band scope or even use it as the main receiver at times. Software is easy to use and quick to understand. I'm not going to nit-pick the small things about the software as I could do that with any receiver/transceiver and many fall far short of the Perseus in actual use. Being able to quickly shape my filters during late night DX hunts is such a big plus. Coupled with my active loop it's a strong performer. NB works very well. NR is also excellent. Bottom line is it works and works well. Nico designed a well laid out tool for the DXer in my book. I see some complain about no further SW updates. Not sure really what more needs to be done. And with any product, it will come to it's end-of-life. Regardless I find it hard to believe it would be behind the times even several years from now. For the 1K I've spent I've VERY satisfied!
 
W8QDX Rating: 5/5 May 6, 2012 08:23 Send this review to a friend
Outstanding  Time owned: more than 12 months
With an adequate computer, large screen and a PowerMate tuning knob, one of the best, if not the best overall receivers available. The latest software rev leaves little to be desired. Dynamic performance is top notch, display is spectacular, flexibility of operation and setup are excellent. Auto Notch and documentation are weak points. A bargain for the performance it provides. SSB Electronics was very helpful in getting set up. Extremely satisfied, even if no more softeare revs are forthcomming.

W8QDX
 
KDMSKY59 Rating: 5/5 Jan 24, 2012 08:17 Send this review to a friend
Top notch  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
The Perseus is a fine SDR radio although a bit steep with a current price of $1100. Best features are how quiet the background is - no hiss or white noise especially compared with the SDR-IQ. Another pro is the excellent Noise Reduction feature. When set to full scale the audio is almost completely free of artifacts and without distortion. The SDR-IQ used with SDR Radio also has a noise reduction feature but the audio comes out distorted and the agc is also negatively effected. The GUI size issues don't other me a bit still those who prefer can use the HDSDR software if the choose.

I haven't tried any of the other megabuck SDRs out there but for my use the Perseus does everything I want.
 
PA1HR Rating: 2/5 Dec 3, 2011 08:59 Send this review to a friend
Nice for SWL, not for real time QSO  Time owned: more than 12 months
I used the Perseus for more than one year, mainly in combination with the Icom IC-7700 and also with other rigs.
IMHO the Perseus is not at all suitable to make real time QSO's.
I tried very different types of CW communication, but with the Perseus it made no fun at all, and (full) QSK is even impossible!
Other disappointments were the working of the AGC and the quality of the audio.
It's pretty expensive too for what you get.
My general conclusion of the Perseus unfortunately is: a bad buy and not recommended.
I cannot give this SDR receiver more than a 2/5, because it still needs a lot of help.
I do Ham Radio since 1965 and am a very active operator on HF, mainly CW and SSB.
 
Page 1 of 3 —>


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.