eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


Reviews Categories | Transceivers: VHF/UHF+ Amateur Hand-held | Icom IC-92AD Help


Reviews Summary for Icom IC-92AD
Icom IC-92AD Reviews: 49 Average rating: 4.4/5 MSRP: $600
Description: Rugged and submersible 5 watt dualband HT with D-STAR built-in. Optional microphone with built-in GPS/antenna available.
Product is in production.
More info: http://www.icomamerica.com/en/products/amateur/handheld/92ad/default.aspx
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the Icom IC-92AD.

Page 1 of 5 —>

N6PET Rating: 2/5 Sep 29, 2015 17:54 Send this review to a friend
Very pricey and expensive to keep  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
I've had this HT for 5 months only. D-star will always require more time to program and this is no exception. Save some time and get yourself RT Systems software and cable ($80) to get your D-Star up and running in no time. There is really nothing special about this HT besides its D-Star capabilities. Its your typical over-priced iCom product that charges even more ridiculously for its "accessories."

iCom markets this HT with GPS and APRS but these are features you have to pay extra for. The GPS mic will cost you close to $300. I have spent almost $1K for this HT and 2 weeks ago the knob started acting up. I've never dropped it and has been kept either in my laptop bag or clipped to my belt.The dual control knob, channel and volume, were turning together. Ive always find it hard to get used to this combined control knobs but now things even got worst. Although it was under warranty, I had to pay iCom $110 to get it repaired. They say it has been dropped and is not covered under the warranty.

Icom's quality and service has rapidly depreciated in the past 20 years. This is the last iCom radio I will ever buy.
 
K7NG Rating: 5/5 Jun 9, 2015 10:23 Send this review to a friend
Still learning what it can do  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
I obtained an IC-92AD used in June 2014. Came with the GPS speaker-mic (which has little interest for me) and a few other accessories. I doubt I would have sprung for a D-star HT new in the store but the price I paid for this little guy made it reasonable.

There are no D-star repeaters in my area at the moment, but I do on occasion travel to places where there is D-star. I found that it is not impossible to carry on a QSO via a repeater 40 miles distant from indoors with the HT, assuming you have found a hot spot and are using an aftermarket antenna with a little higher performance than the factory one.

I don't find the audio quality of D-star objectionable if the person on the other end is using a radio and not a dongle, and the difference in quality compared to analog FM is un-noticeable coming out of the little internal speaker of the 92AD. The quality of my transmitted signal has been said to be excellent both in analog FM and D-star modes. I have found sensitivity to be excellent in the ham bands.

Each user has preferences on how to arrange memories in the A and B banks, and the way I set mine up I still have about 100 memories in the A bank and hundreds in the B bank available for future use.

I have found the wide band receive (and the several VFO memories dedicated to WB receive) entertaining, but in no way influenced my decision to get the radio in the first place. The number and variety of AM and SWBC stations that can be received even with a small antenna such as the Diamond RH777 is surprising.

The radio can also double as a VHF/UHF scanner for PSB or airband if you should choose to allocate some of your memories to the purpose. I don't personally, but it can be done, if the signals you want to hear are analog FM (wide or narrow) or AM in the case of airband...and you don't mind scanning speed about 1/2 that of current model scanners.

Programming from the radio keypad is cumbersome at first but easier as time goes on, as I mess with the radio more, in other words. I however opted to get the RT Systems software and cable, and I haven't had any regrets at all in that regard. Especially if you are planning a trip and expect to be in range of dozens of different repeaters, programming (or changing your codeplug already in the radio) is far far easier using a decent programming application.

Because of my limited access to D-star over the air I haven't managed to experiment as much as I'd like with the intricacies of the mode but it's all there and not hard to get a handle on with the 92AD. (A NIFTY guide book doesn't hurt either)!
 
F1HKN Rating: 5/5 Jan 27, 2015 06:58 Send this review to a friend
Good job with!  Time owned: more than 12 months
To begin Dstar operation in good condition on december 2013, i purchased a second handed ic92d with the GPS/microphone. Using a wifi hotspot , it's very practical to converse everywhere at home or in the city streets as a pedestrian operator. DPRS works fine for tracking. The price was a good bargain, far less than the new ID 51, as the rapid charger, data cable and programming software was included with the set! I enjoy this quality handy, good modulation and waterproof under rain are remarquable. I hope to hear you soon on DCS033 reflectors in France .... 73 de Leon.
 
SV1JRF Rating: 5/5 May 22, 2014 12:33 Send this review to a friend
Great  Time owned: more than 12 months
I must say that i really enjoy operating with handheld radios. I had many over the years. This one is a very good rock solid transceiver with dstar capabilities. I also have the gps microphone which also works great. I bought the handheld about a week it got on the market ,and i am using it since then with no problem. There is only one problem, it is very expensive!!!as all the dstar enabled radios.

73's
 
N4UED Rating: 5/5 Nov 4, 2013 08:21 Send this review to a friend
Good radio for a good price .  Time owned: more than 12 months
I purchased my 92ad used back in September 2012 . I had just been registered on the D-STAR network . I purchased the 92ad second hand . I had to call a friend to help me get it working with my 2 meter DVAP . I had to learn about having the correct items in the 8th position . The 92 was rock solid . I used it outside with the water proof speaker microphone . I used it in driving rain , snow etc.. The 92 was excellent , it never had any water get inside of it . It was a heavy duty radio . The clip that comes with it is made of medal . It is strong and you will not have to replace it . I used the RT SYSTEMS software . I wish I had of purchased the Icom software . I find that the Icom software works just fine . I sold mine to a good friend . I know that he will enjoy it as much as I did . I wish now that I still had the 92 . Chuck N4UED NC USA
 
ZL2UFI Rating: 5/5 Dec 21, 2012 17:01 Send this review to a friend
Great Handheld for D-STAR  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
Over my time as a ham I have owned many handhelds, my first was an ICOM IC-2A, so handhelds have moved on since those days!

I brought my 92AD in Dayton this year, along with various accessories, the GPS speaker/microphone, leatherette case, RT Systems
programming software and cables. I was able to use the handheld from Dayton and used both analogue (IRLP) and D-STAR back to
New Zealand. One of the many comments I got from the ZL hams was the quality of the audio on both modes.
With most D-STAR radios, you need good audio in to get good audio out. (see my Icom -ID-880H review)

I have 'channellised' the memories for D-STAR usage, with memories set for CQCQCQ, linking, unlinking, plus non-gateway
usage (means you can talk locally without your transmitted signal going out on the gateway). I can easily switch between various
memory positions and link/unlink to repeaters/reflectors with ease.

I have since purchased the ID-31A and I can clearly see the improvement coming for handhelds in the D-STAR world.
The new ID-51A will build on this so will be looking at that in 2013.

Not really being a fan of dual receive radios, I tend to operate more in single band mode, perhaps I should have brought the IC-80AD?

Also at Dayton I brought a third party cigarette lighter adaptor, another battery and desktop charger - all these accessories really add
to the price of any handheld, but are best brought at the time you buy the radio. Later on they become very hard to get.

I have really enjoyed this handheld, it feels like one should, weighted well and a good fit in your hand, I have had no problems using it
in the USA, Australia and back here in New Zealand. It also works well on both VHF and UHF DVAP's.

The programming software is a must any of these D-STAR radios, and I can't recommend this enough. I hope that this handheld will last
for years to come and that digital radio (including D-STAR) will continue to grow throughout the world. We just need more repeaters in ZL!
 
ZL1TAP Rating: 4/5 Sep 19, 2012 21:11 Send this review to a friend
Good hand held  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
Not a bad handheld i use it with my dvap i allso have the gps hand mic i think its a most have.Looking forward to id51 maybe i sale the id92.
 
K9XXX Rating: 4/5 May 28, 2012 10:22 Send this review to a friend
downgraded from 5 to 4 in followup  Time owned: more than 12 months
This a followup to my original review.
my 92AD was still on warranty when I discovered
VFO A's habit Of dumping my repeater settings and resetting itself to 370mhz.
Sure,it only takes a few seconds to reset but that
should not be happening.
VFO A requires "babysitting".
I allowed the warranty period to lapse.
 
M0HPB Rating: 5/5 May 4, 2012 01:31 Send this review to a friend
Robust Radio with loads of features...  Time owned: more than 12 months
This was my first radio and at first I thought I had made such a dumb move to buy it, the manual was complicated and I felt out of my depth. However once it was programmed up (via a computer) the radio came alive and I was surprised how powerful its features are.

Clearly this is a dual band (2m/70cms) fully d-star enabled and again once programmed it really opens up the world of d-star, not only that its an exceptional dual band radio.

It states its waterproof, well I tested this in my bath dropped it in and left it for 5 mins (no bubbles phew) took it out and worked a treat. I also bought the extension GPS mic, the only downside to this is its size, I think the size of the handheld and then add this mic, it does become cumbersome, however you do have a fully enabled GPS radio with D-PRS if you so desire.

I use my 92 on a daily basis and have to say its rugged, its been dropped on the floor and knocked and banged but it still performs.

Battery life is to be expected about 6 hours on full power (occasional short QSO's) anything more eats in to the battery. Also when working d-star the handheld gets really hot, nothing to burn you but hot nonetheless.

Compared to the new IC31 the 92 does look a bit old, but make no mistake the 92 is a full on radio that will keep most happy for years to come and in my view looks and feels like a solid radio.

Would I buy another...Yes without hesitation.

M0HPB
 
K7BEN Rating: 3/5 Apr 9, 2012 09:25 Send this review to a friend
Marginal radio for a premium price.  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
The Good:
I like that the radio has wide band receive. Easy to MARS/CAP mod. The FM commercial band has good sensitivity along with the 2m/70 cm amateur bands. You can easily scan by mode bank or a group of banks. This is a nice feature if you travel a lot. The display is easy to read and the backlight is useful. The keys are also backlit. The radio fits very well in my hand and I can operate it with one hand if needed. The DStar digital mode is ‘neat’.


The Bad:
DStar apparently does not work very well while moving. It does not like or know how to handle multipath. We had an analog repeater that was converted to DStar with no other changes; frequency, duplexer, antenna etc. When it was analog and I would go for my walk with the radio I would get reports of ‘picket fencing’ and ‘fading’ but I could still be understood. This was with the same 92AD handheld while walking in the same area. With DStar I had garbled audio on every transmission. I was constantly asked to try again or repeat myself. I finally gave up because I was frustrating the other people on the repeater. The antenna that comes with the radio is poor. It does not receive the 2 meter band very well and is very poor when receiving the shortwave, CB or 6 meter bands. The radio uses a proprietary connector for speaker/ microphone and data. After hours of searching the internet I found that this is not a common connector. You cannot buy the connector and make your own cables, you must buy them at a premium price from an Icom dealer. Last I checked, the programming cable was $95 and a the adapter to a regular speaker/mic was $49 . If you want to use any of the advanced DStar features, you have to purchase a $210 microphone.


The Ugly:
The audio quality sounds bad. Especially on DStar. Although the radio feels solid, the front ,plastic part of the radio scratches real easy. The paint job on the metal part of the radio is very poor. It rubs off real easy or chips off if scuffed against anything. Maybe I need to spend another $35 dollars on a case. So let’s look at the real price of the radio. The radio itself is $580 dollars. If you want to program it with a computer it’s going to cost you another $100. If you don’t want it scratched up you will need to drop another $35 dollars on a carry case. If you want to use a standard headset or speaker/mic it will cost you another $49 for the adapter. Want to use the GPS feature of Dstar. It will cost you $210 for the GPS microphone. If you want a decent antenna it will cost you about another $49 dollars from Diamond. So let’s add all that up and you have spent $1023 for what is still a marginally decent radio.
 
Page 1 of 5 —>


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.