eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


Reviews Categories | SWR & Wattmeters & Dummy Loads | MFJ-822 Compact Cross-Needle SWR/Wattmeter 1.8-200 MHz Help


Reviews Summary for MFJ-822 Compact Cross-Needle SWR/Wattmeter 1.8-200 MHz
MFJ-822 Compact Cross-Needle SWR/Wattmeter 1.8-200 MHz Reviews: 8 Average rating: 4.0/5 MSRP: $60.00
Description: Compact HF/VHF SWR/Wattmeter. Has huge 3" Cross-needle meter. Read forward/reflected power and SWR simultaneously. Perfect for mobile or portable operation. Two selectable power ranges, built-in meter light (+12 VDC). SO-239 Connectors. 3 1/4 W x 3 1/4 H x 3 1/4 D inches.
MFJ-822 covers 1.8-200 MHz, 30 or 300 Watts.
Product is in production.
More info: http://www.mfjenterprises.com/Product.php?productid=MFJ-822
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the MFJ-822 Compact Cross-Needle SWR/Wattmeter 1.8-200 MHz.

K9TYR Rating: 5/5 Mar 17, 2017 08:58 Send this review to a friend
Mine Works Great  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
I like manual tuners and bought this to work with my MFJ 9201 for QRP. Maybe I got lucky when I compare my results to others but for me it works great and I couldn't be happier. The low power selector allows great tuning with qrp tuners that don't have a built in display. My tuner and meter are compact enough to be very easy carry.
 
KE3JH Rating: 0/5 Nov 4, 2013 10:34 Send this review to a friend
dont waste ur money  Time owned: more than 12 months
This mfj 822 looks good but only reads half or less of the watts on the 440 side. I sent my radio back because thought it wasnt doing the 45 watts according to this junk meter and they found the rig was doing 43 watts so i had paid shipping for NOTHING. the 2 meter side read 50 watts so thought the meter was ok. JUNK
 
KE4RG Rating: 3/5 Jun 12, 2013 08:02 Send this review to a friend
Nice package, disappointing QRP performance  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I purchased my MFJ-822 at Dayton for QRP use. After hours of trying to isolate problems with my K1 I placed Bird in-line and verified problems were with the new MFJ-822! Indications forward and reverse are erratic. Frequently a poor antenna match at 1.0 watt will cause BOTH needles to peg at 30 watts! At best I would use this for QRP relative indication only. Perhaps OK for QRO, but I will continue search for compact QRP meter to replace bulky Bird 43.
 
PG00023016 Rating: 5/5 Jan 20, 2012 00:59 Send this review to a friend
Right for the low price!  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
These are attractive, accurate, modern, backlit, low-cost meters. I tested mine right away and no calibration was needed upon delivery. I would not hesitate to recommend this meter to anyone. WWJD
 
W4IOU Rating: 4/5 Dec 6, 2011 19:01 Send this review to a friend
Good Wattmeter, So-so SWR  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
The MFJ-822 is a good unit to set on your desktop for a reasonably accurate power reading and a general indication of SWR. I found the SWR accuracy seemed to vary from band to band. Good enough for a general indication of an antenna's match or for tuning with an antenna tuner not having a built in SWR bridge. I would not find it of much value in building and testing antennas.
 
VK2IMM Rating: 5/5 Oct 11, 2010 22:19 Send this review to a friend
so far so good  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Plastic housing seems to be well made, also it has a decent size meter scale what I like. I have no a lab grade power meter to compare it with but it reads very close to the 941 MFJ tuner meter I have. Good forward power deflection from a 5w QPR radio on 14 MHz, shows about 4.2w, what may well be the case. Also it measures just over 100w from a 100w HF radio and 20w from a 2m 25w VHF radio. SWR readings seem to be real too. Happy with this one overall.
 
N4NZM Rating: 5/5 Jan 1, 2010 11:24 Send this review to a friend
like it  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I like mine fine. I have it between my TS 520S and LDG tuner. I have checked it against other meters, and it is pretty darn accurate. It is easy to read, and reliable.
 
XE3LW Rating: 5/5 Jul 6, 2009 17:29 Send this review to a friend
It works pretty good.  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
I bought mine new, it is a nice looking meter, light and compact, easy to read.
I have no way to compare accuracy with a different brand or model, but I believe it is accurate enough for the job.

 


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.