eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


Reviews Categories | Transceivers: HF Amateur HF+6M+VHF+UHF models - not QRP <5W | Ten-Tec Omni A/Omni D Help


Reviews Summary for Ten-Tec Omni A/Omni D
Ten-Tec Omni A/Omni D Reviews: 35 Average rating: 4.8/5 MSRP: $1250
Description: 1.8-30mhz transceiver with 80-100w output,full breakin on cw
Product is in production.
More info: http://www.rigpix.com/tentec/omnid.htm
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the Ten-Tec Omni A/Omni D.

Page 1 of 4 —>

W4UDX Rating: 4/5 May 8, 2016 19:44 Send this review to a friend
Still holds its own....  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Bought an Omni D original series by accident using my eBay app on my cell phone. I paid less than $200 for the radio and it included a really nice repainted Turner +2 desk mic. I was surprised at how nice the receiver sounded even though it doesn't have any fancy DSP features or even IF shift! The guys I chat with on 75 meters said the transmit sounded as good or better than my Icom 746 and I use a desk mic and EQ with it. Looks like I got a great deal but I am not into boatanchors anymore even the solid state ones so I will probably sell it for someone else to enjoy. Just a tip: don't play with your eBay app on your cell while talking to your wife. :-)
 
N6BIZ Rating: 5/5 Aug 4, 2015 10:20 Send this review to a friend
LOVE IT MORE  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
LOVE MY OMNI D EVEN MORE SINCE I JUST PUT IN THE 500HZ CW FILTER...AT A PRICE I WANTED TO PAY...
 
N6BIZ Rating: 5/5 Jun 2, 2015 22:11 Send this review to a friend
GREAT   Time owned: 0 to 3 months
IM STILL LAUGHING ...JUST BOUGHT ON EBAY FOR $107.50... SELLER SAID IT DID NOT WORK... WELL IT DOES !!! MY THIRD TT HAVE A TRITON4 DIGITAL AND A OMNI 5 LOADED WITH INRADS ... THE RX AUDIO SOUNDS LIKE MY HQ170AC -PERFECT ... I HAVE RECEIVED TX AUDIO REPORTS OF CRYSTAL CLEAR ... AND OF COURSE THE QSK IS SILENT AND JUST A PLEASURE TO USE ON CW...MY NEXT CATCH IS GOING TO BE A ORION...AND LET ME ADD ALL THE TT ARE SO EASY TO USE ...
 
KD8GTP Rating: 5/5 Oct 5, 2014 09:21 Send this review to a friend
I luv mine  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
I bought mine used 1yr ago, $300 with desk mic/original power supply. I had to send it to TT for a PTO rebuild, $290. So I have $600 in this radio. I also have the Yaesu FT897d. I prefer the TT, here's why. BIG LCD frequency display, no problem seeing this one. A real meter, analog, just something about watching that needle swing rather than a bar graph. BIG knobs, no menus. Please keep in mind I am a 'no code appliance operator', I have no use for roof filters, DSP,or band scopes. Hell, I don't even know what those things do :) This radio is SIMPLE ! Turn it on and talk to fellers. Open up the top and look inside. Even I can tell if something blew, all modular boards plug into each other and use components you can actually replace. Finally, this is a big radio, something with substance, looks like you have a real radio, not some shoe box size thing on your desk. Bottom line- if you can score one, do it! Great radidio !!
 
N4OI Rating: 5/5 Jul 17, 2014 09:58 Send this review to a friend
My Go-To CW Rig  Time owned: more than 12 months
Why do I always find myself going to my OMNI-D / A for CW? My K3/P3 has incredible filtering, but the OMNI's receiver, sidetone and QSK are just more comfortable... I really cannot put my finger on why that is!

Given the Ebay pricing these days, the OMNI-D / A is a good candidate for the best value on the used market today. And the styling is about the best in TenTec's history.

73
 
NX1F Rating: 5/5 Feb 9, 2013 11:30 Send this review to a friend
Fabulous Rig  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Just bought a pristine example with rebuilt PTO and outboard VFO also with rebuilt PTO. The receiver is as quiet as a church mouse. The QSK is fine. The sidetone is very pleasant. This is a CW OPs dream. It has that funky receiver preselector control to peak the signal for each band. I like it because it's something else I can control. We all have different operating styles. Some of us like the newest of everything, with 7 separate VFOs, digital maps showing every signal, and the Yankees/Red Sox game. These rigs have hot plates for warming your coffee, and a remote starter button for your Lexus..........no thanks. I like a simple, basic rig with CW filters. Send the signal, listen to the response. The Omni D does this beautifully. Controls are very intuitive, and I find that the noise blanker DOES work. You can't go wrong with this radio, unless you want a rig that will also toast your English muffins.
Very 73,
Joe / NX1F
 
N3GGT Rating: 5/5 Nov 8, 2010 18:14 Send this review to a friend
Great radio !  Time owned: more than 12 months
My first experience with this radio was field day 1989. It was the 40m SSB rig and I was amazed how quiet the reciever was. I laughed at the banana mic but found it was very comfortable. I bought one at a hamfest for a whopping $250. I rebuilt the PTO myself. For a CW rig, its QSK defies explanation... you will never find a rig that can beat it ! The CW filter is quite narrow and I love it. Something wrong with the bandswitch arraingment and 40m doesn't work for me.... wouldn't you know it... its my favorite band. NOV SS CW of 2010 I fired it up on 80m and forgot what fun it was to operate. I do miss working 40m cw so I'll have to fix it. A simple radio to work on. I love this radio and will never part with it. If you get a chance... get one. You'll be very happy with it.
 
N7INO Rating: 5/5 Jul 13, 2009 20:05 Send this review to a friend
GREAT  Time owned: more than 12 months
I have the D model since it was new. Used it for years and I thought I up graded to newer rig.I was wrong, sent my D back to Ten Tec Had it serviced and aliend, workd very well. I then sent my Triton back as a back up rig, which I also bought new.Works very well also.What can be wrong with a radio built with knobs on Dolly Parton Parkway>
 
W8ZNX Rating: 5/5 Oct 31, 2008 12:06 Send this review to a friend
good tool  Time owned: more than 12 months
have owned a Omni D series B xceiver
for about 5 years

nothing special about it

no bells
no whistles
no memorys
no keyer
no inboard tuner
no general coverage receive

simply
one hell of a great radio
easy to use
easy to fix

when most other rigs of its age
are in the landfill

Omni A/D series A/B/C radios
will still be on the air

its one of the best cw rigs
ive ever owned

ive owned lots of radios

dit dit
mac
 
VE1CJS Rating: 5/5 Aug 14, 2008 07:14 Send this review to a friend
Great rig  Time owned: more than 12 months
I have had this Omni C for about two years and just recently the display started to jump around so after e-mailing Ten Tec and not receiving any reply I sent it back for repair, that took about two weeks, not bad for an old rig such as this.
it cost me $216.00 wow, they sent it back packaged like fine china and by UPS who when it arrived at my door demanded an extra $61.84 for administration charges or no rig, this I paid, so after taking the rig out of the wrapping I noticed the top cover had a big ding in it that was not there when it was sent,this was noted and conveyed to Ten Tec via e-mail,still no reply, I turned it on and checked everything was working and sure enough it was and the output was a wopping 100 watts on all freq, holy smoke, never did that before.
I then waited for the local HF nets to come on the air so I could test the transmit side out and had quite a chore finding anyone that was around and the qrm was not the best, after fooling with the frequency a bit I found that the rig was out by some 800 hertz on the display, so I e-mailed Ten Tec again and am waiting for a reply back re this issue, the rig does work very good dispite having to compensate with the display and I am otherwise pleased with the fact that the factory still services a radio that is over 20 years old so I think that with my gripes about small issues I wish that I had this rig when it was new because it is such a nice radio.
 
Page 1 of 4 —>


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.