eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


Reviews Categories | Receivers: General Coverage | Global Tuners Help


Reviews Summary for Global Tuners
Global Tuners Reviews: 8 Average rating: 3.4/5 MSRP: $Free
Description: GlobalTuners provides access to remotely controlled radio receivers all over the world.
You can listen to- and tune the receivers after you have created a (free!) account.
You can also share your own receiver on GlobalTuners and benefit from some privileges.
DXTuners users: you have to create a new account to use this website!
Product is in production.
More info: http://www.globaltuners.com
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the Global Tuners.

RADIOMANN Rating: 0/5 Jul 23, 2013 20:42 Send this review to a friend
Nasty  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
there came some dude to the page, started tuning the receiver without permission of the users that are already were there and when i wrote a complaint to the administrator, i got accused of hijacking the receiver but not the dude who actually hijacked the receiver.

their rubbish is now obsolete, since there are now online SDRs, where a multiple of users can each tune in a different frequency at same time.
 
K5TED Rating: 5/5 Dec 25, 2010 20:51 Send this review to a friend
Works as advertised - good tool, great toy  Time owned: more than 12 months
Free membership. Player and control page runs fine on a modest PC or laptop. Great for spotting, monitoring your own station, SWL, Utility monitoring, etc. Audio quality is sufficient to decode PSK31 and other digital modes.

Share your radio:

I have a remote PCR1000 receiver shared with Global Tuners using a vintage (1999) Dell CPx 500 Pentium III notebook running XP with 256M RAM and 8GB solid state hard drive and PCMCIA wireless network card. Runs like a champ 24/7 at about 35% utilization when in use and the fan never even spins up and it has no noticeable impact on my home network.

 
KD7RDZI2 Rating: 5/5 Aug 31, 2010 08:59 Send this review to a friend
Almost great  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I tested on a couple of computers. Better to use a fast computer than a slow one. The connection is not super fast so to change the frequency I have to wait some seconds to get the audio while the S-meter seems to be faster so they seem not synchronized. I can choose among tens of receivers with different antenna set-up. Some are very good ones! The drawback is that each user change the frequency of the receiver so if there are many users well it is like to be in a club each wanting a different frequency or worse... it is like sharing TV in a family! If this is a problem you may prefer WebSDR.
 
SV2BWM Rating: 5/5 Aug 28, 2010 08:21 Send this review to a friend
A remote receiver for everyone...  Time owned: more than 12 months
Great help for listening frequencies all around the world + 73's...
 
N0FPE Rating: 3/5 Aug 6, 2009 05:42 Send this review to a friend
works ok  Time owned: more than 12 months
Its ok, great to listen to when I am bored. The respose to control commands is a bit slow but it works.
 
NS5U Rating: 4/5 Jun 2, 2009 09:39 Send this review to a friend
Not enough rcvrs yet  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Had no problems with the software. There don't seem to be many radios online. Fewer that have anything to be heard beyond commercial broadcast or public service.
 
OLLIEOXEN27 Rating: 0/5 Jun 1, 2009 19:15 Send this review to a friend
been there done that not  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I downloaded this software after reading the review above. After installing it I got the same result as I've got from every remote receiver site I've tried the last five years:

Cannot connect. Whatever the solution it isn't worth the effort to figure out. I'd rather write an opinion about my experience.

 
W1TXT Rating: 5/5 May 1, 2008 04:16 Send this review to a friend
Very Kool  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
This is a very interesting project and it allows anyone to access receivers all over the world. All you need is a computer, a sound card, an account (free) and the internet. I have dedicated a ICOM PCR-R1500 to this project. Others around the world have aldo dedicated receivers and it provides a very interesting experience. As a Ham, you can even listen to your own signals as there's approximately a 10 second delay.

Remote control software is browser based so there's nothing to install.
 


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.