eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


Reviews Categories | Microphones | ICOM HM-151 for IC-7000/7100 Help


Reviews Summary for ICOM HM-151 for IC-7000/7100
ICOM HM-151 for IC-7000/7100 Reviews: 12 Average rating: 3.6/5 MSRP: $99.00
Description: Remote control microphone supplied with and for exclusive use with IC-7000 & 7100
Product is in production.
More info: http://www.icomamerica.com
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the ICOM HM-151 for IC-7000/7100.

Page 1 of 2 —>

KQ4BX Rating: 5/5 Dec 19, 2014 07:57 Send this review to a friend
On IC-7100 it's Great  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
I recently got the HM-151 for my IC-7100, and the feedback on my audio is fantastic. So I then took my Heil microphone and tested that, and it would be great for DX, but the HM-151 was studio quality sound, much more pleasing in the rag chew. So let's go back to when I bought an IC-7000 and had my first experience with the HM-151. The reports on my IC-7000 were bad, so that is when I got the Heil microphones. I kept the Heil microphones and sold the IC-7000.Could there be multiple versions of the HM-151? Maybe so, or maybe there was a bad run of HM-151's and Icom isn't saying anything about it. All I know is that my closest friends told me to use the HM-151 when rag chewing, but if I wanted to chase DX, use the Heil.
There are too many who had a bad experience with the HM-151, so the odds are in favor of a bad run of microphones.
 
G4RNI Rating: 2/5 Jul 4, 2014 11:47 Send this review to a friend
Grunty  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I bought an IC-7100 at the same time as a friend in June 2014. When I heard his audio, I was appalled! On with the headphones and I listened to mine, too. It was equally awful, with breath splatter and complete lack of "guts", sounding badly limited and compressed.

No matter what I did with gain, tone or bandwidth it just sounded bad. If I were to sum up the sound in just one word it would be "grunty".

So, I tried my trusty old Icom HM-36 Japanese hand mic on the 7100 – it sounds fantastic. Crystal clear, full bodied, rich tone and sibillance just right.

I don’t know why Icom have risked the reputation of the 7100 by putting in that most inferior HM151 but it has to be about the worst sounding mic I’ve heard in a long time. IMHO if people hear the radio sounding the way it does with the HM151 they’ll avoid the IC-7100 like the plague. I certainly would never have bought it had I heard it the way it sounds. A friend's, with the earlier HM198 basic mic sounds really good. What a pity to ruin a radio with a nasty microphone like the HM151.

If you're considering an IC-7100 INSIST that your dealer includes the earlier HM198 mic as a freebie.

Icom ww, take note!
 
AD9DX Rating: 2/5 Oct 2, 2011 08:20 Send this review to a friend
Weak link  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
This is truly the weak link in the exceptional Icom IC-7000. Like the radio its self, they tried to pack a ton of features in a very small package. However unlike the radio they did not succeed in making a quality well thought out product. The audio lacks a noticeable punch and is difficult to find a sweet spot without a lot of tweeking. The buttons are small and convoluted to use. Thankfully there are a lot of aftermarket microphones out there and Icom makes an adapter.
 
W4KVW Rating: 5/5 Feb 12, 2011 21:40 Send this review to a friend
GREAT AUDIO REPORTS  Time owned: more than 12 months
Had this microphone on my ICOM 7000 & ALWAYS got GREAT audio reports.It had ZERO mods & the new owner of the same rig gets GREAT audio reports as well.I have used it & heard it & it's LOUD & CLEAR here.I have heard others who did NOT sound very loud but I had no way of seeing or checking their settings on their rig!

Clayton
W4KVW
 
N4FN Rating: 2/5 Mar 31, 2010 15:44 Send this review to a friend
Needed AB5N Mod  Time owned: 3 to 6 months

I just received back from Bob Nagy the mods done to my IC-7000 HM-151 mic and that of my friend KC4CSU's HM-133 for his IC-2720. First reports on 2m indicated the audio from my HM-151 was much clearer and more natural compared to my normal speaking voice from folks that know me well. I met Lloyd to get him his HM-133, he was always plagued with very low audio output from his 2720. I could not believe the difference! His audio is clearer, LOUDER than ever before. He sounded great. I have not used my 7K on HF mobile yet but I am sure that the output will be far superior to what I had before. This was a very worthwhile mod to a great rig. Thanks to Don ZL1ATB for his post on the mod.
Neil N4FN
 
K2ID Rating: 2/5 Apr 22, 2009 12:52 Send this review to a friend
DId not work for me  Time owned: more than 12 months
I have owned three Icom 7000 radios and still own one. The first time I ever went on VHF/UHF with my 7000, every conversation started with the other ham asking me to increase my audio even though the Mic Gain was set to 100%. The mic mod fixed that problem and all the locals agreed. Same with the next two 7000s.

I also know a ham who owns two and he sounds great on the stock mic. I know others who sound low and narrow. I am convinced that your success with this mic has a lot to do with your particular voice. I have problems with all non pro Icom rigs. I always sound bad and have low audio. Give me a Yaesu and I sound great. I know that I cannot buy Icom rigs unless they are the Pro model and I have owned almost every rig that Icom had for sale up to the introduction of the 7200, including three of their HTs.

I suspect the problem is that the mic element in the microphone was designed for cell phone use by a company owned by Icom. It has two settings. The main setting is for the Japanese voice and the other setting is for "International" voices. My bassy monotone voice is just not a good fit with this rig or any rig that requires an electret mic.

I have heard enough bad sounding ones to know that it is not just a small minority who sound bad. In most cases I can guess when a ham is using a 7000 because even if their audio level is good, their transmit bandwidth sounds narrow. Although I know hams who sound great with the stock mic, I know more who do not and got the mod as I have done three times. I am constantly told how much better I sound with the mod'ed mic.
 
KE4ZHN Rating: 5/5 May 9, 2008 16:25 Send this review to a friend
Nothing wrong with this mike  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I never owned an Icom 7000 but had the chance to use one for the better part of a month. This mike worked fine. It had plenty of gain and I had no problem getting plenty of output from it. The only minor issue I noticed was "P" popping. Im sure this would be a simple fix. Other than that the mike sounded fine and worked as well as you can expect a hand mike to. This was a later production ic7000 so perhaps this is why this particular mike was fine.
 
K0CWO Rating: 5/5 May 9, 2008 15:23 Send this review to a friend
Works like it's supposed to  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
My recent IC-7000, serial #0505XXX, works good with the HM-151. The transmit filter selection is set to 100-2900, mic gain 50%, processor off. I get full output, normal ALC action, and good audio reports. Mine does not need modifying. I wonder if Icom has improved the microphone recently.
 
AD4C2006 Rating: 5/5 May 9, 2008 11:57 Send this review to a friend
HM-151 is a good mic  Time owned: more than 12 months
Well I don't agree at all with such a bad report.I have had TWO IC-7000 in the last 4 years and NONE of the HM-151 has had neither bad sound neither low output,radios were always making 100W PEP on my shop BIRD meter,set the radio at 50% audio gain and at 3 of processor level and the radio will sound good even with the filter 1 set from 100 to 2900 Hz bandwith.In regards to FM on V/U radio will ALWAYS make 5 Khz deviation when you set it properly,I mean when you use filter 1 to program your repeaters or simplex freqs but If you use filters 2 and 3 it will then be on NARROW which mean just 2.5 Khz deviation,in other words low audio received at the other end,so don't blame the mic,for SSB is a close talk designed mic to avoy the road noise or wind by the windows,its a radio designed to be use as mobile basically so the mic is designed PROPERLY.There is NOTHING wrong with it.I use mine every day and the reports received are ALWAY great.I listen the bands almost 20 hours a day and I am chasing all stations using the IC-7000 and 90% of them use the stock mic WITHOUT any mod at all and they all sound truly great.Period !
There is NO NEED to do any mod to that mic.

Hector Padron
AD4C
Telecom technician
 
K5JZ Rating: 0/5 May 9, 2008 03:47 Send this review to a friend
Junk before AB5N mod  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
I am truly happy you were able to get yours to work to your satisfaction! Rumor had it that Icom had repaired this flaw in the 7000 but as of March this year, tests conducted by AB5N (on YouTube) show that Icom had not changed anything in production units. He also uses test equipment to show exactly what is wrong with this stock mic.

My HM-151 was a piece of junk... rig sounded horrible on 146 and 440... thin and very low average power output on HF SSB. I almost sold the 7000 due to this defect. AB5N did his mod and returned the mic... 3 days total time... and now the 7000 plays like a champ and I get outstanding and unsolicited audio reports. I used to get audio reports of "what's wrong with the rig"?

73,
George K5JZ
 
Page 1 of 2 —>


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.