eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


Reviews Categories | Antenna Rotators & Accessories | MDS RC-1 Antenna Rotator Controller Help


Reviews Summary for MDS RC-1 Antenna Rotator Controller
MDS RC-1 Antenna Rotator Controller Reviews: 23 Average rating: 4.9/5 MSRP: $250
Description: Digital Antenna Rotator Controller for HiGain Rotators (HAM-M, HAM-IV, Tailtwister) Yeasu, and other antenna rotators
Product is in production.
More info: http://www.mds-ham.com
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the MDS RC-1 Antenna Rotator Controller.

<— Page 2 of 3 —>

W5PR Rating: 5/5 Jun 13, 2013 11:40 Send this review to a friend
Great Rotor Control  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
I bought one of these a few months ago to control a Yaesu G-2700 I bought without a controller. It is a great unit and I just ordered a second one for my G-2800 on the second tower.
 
W2FZ Rating: 5/5 Jan 16, 2013 11:44 Send this review to a friend
Great Product for Remote Operation  Time owned: more than 12 months
Bought this several years ago. Finally got the radio up and running on remote operation. This RC-1 was key to successful operation. Not only does it work great, so is the service. They stand behind the product and respond to questions immediately.

I would recommend this product without any hesitation.
 
N8BQQ Rating: 5/5 Dec 11, 2012 15:51 Send this review to a friend
Very Nice Works Great  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
This unit works very well. Easy to set up. Works very well with HRD. Stops within a degree or two every time. Well thought out features and firmware.
 
VA7TF Rating: 5/5 Dec 5, 2012 13:48 Send this review to a friend
Great product?Excelent service  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Well, I bit the bullet and bought RC-1. Although there are other controllers around, the price and features convinced me. I am using a HAM IV rotator. After some help from Glen at MDS, this is a real gem. Although it does not come with a 24 vac power supply, I used the HAM IV power supply at first ( The RC-1 manual explains how to use the HAM controller power supply), but have since made a seperate 24 vac power supply. Ham Radio Deluxe has a great controller program. Also, PstRotator and PstRotatorAz work great.
 
W1JCW Rating: 5/5 Nov 24, 2012 17:51 Send this review to a friend
Nice product / great service.  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Very nice product, specially for the money. Glen worked with me on the weekend to clear up a couple of installation questions. I had the product interface with my PC and working manual in about an hour. It was easy to install and wire up the jones plug.
 
KG5VK Rating: 5/5 Oct 7, 2012 18:42 Send this review to a friend
Outstanding product Fantastic support  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
This product is only surpassed by the Outstanding customer support.
Several of us in our area wanted a slower rotation of our long boom Yagi's and we asked the MDS Team
They provided us a slightly cheaper model of the RC-1 that will turn our long boom yagi even slower
than normal.
MDS is a company that that makes Ham's thrilled to deal with other Ham's !!!

Steve
KG5VK
 
AGYOUNG Rating: 5/5 Mar 14, 2012 11:39 Send this review to a friend
Outstanding Replacement for G-800 DXA  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
The MDS RC-1 is a very nice controller. I have a Yaesu G-800 DXA that is operational, I just got tired of the amount of noise it generated, in addition to light replacement quite frequently. This unit is just fantastic. Very easy to see, quite small so I can keep it on my desk as opposed to on a separate shelf. Makes no noise while in operation and just works very well. Very satisfied.
N5AGY
 
AL7HG Rating: 5/5 Aug 13, 2011 19:55 Send this review to a friend
Initially great  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
My Yaesu rotor was fried by lightning so I bought this as an alternative. I have had this for a week and so far it is much smoother to operate than the Yaesu box. Easy to see and actually a lot faster response than the older ones. I have poor vision and can actually see this across the room.

I have two towers with two Yaesu rotors. They are sending me a connector to enable it to be used with the older Yaesu plugs. I might even buy a second one of these for my other rotor!
 
W0ZS Rating: 5/5 Feb 23, 2011 16:54 Send this review to a friend
Decent rotor controller  Time owned: more than 12 months
I use this with DX4Win and Writelog and it works great. It's nice to hit a key and have it automatically turn to the direction of the DX! It has a nice bright display. I use mine with a Ham IV and use the power supply from the controller to power the MDS. Very nice product.
 
W1JWC Rating: 5/5 Apr 10, 2010 04:24 Send this review to a friend
Works Perfect!  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Great performance at a great price.
Excellent technical support from the MDS folks.
I use it with PstRotatorAZ and it works perfect. Just click on a map and the rotor turns. Great for remote operation via internet.
 
<— Page 2 of 3 —>


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.