eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


Reviews Categories | Antennas: VHF/UHF+ Directional (Yagi, quad, etc.) | M2 2m12 Help


Reviews Summary for M2 2m12
M2 2m12 Reviews: 12 Average rating: 4.6/5 MSRP: $165.00
Description: Model 2M12 Frequency range 144 to 148 MHz Gain 12.8 dBd
Product is in production.
More info: http://www.m2inc.com/products/vhf/2m/2m12.html
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the M2 2m12.

Page 1 of 2 —>

K7BMG Rating: 3/5 Sep 23, 2013 20:20 Send this review to a friend
Great Antenna BUT!!!  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
The 2M12 antennas are great, I like the quality of the build and design, its strong and simple to assemble. (For me anyway) Quality components, and I had no alignment issues as stated in previous reviews.
Service is top notch. Sales personnel is very helpful and knowledgeable on the phone.

However I have had a couple of issues.
On my first 2M12 purchase, the drivers N connector was broken, obviously torqued to tight on the assembly line and I was missing a few button insulators for the elements. On the Friday of memorial weekend 2013 they overnighted my missing and replacement parts for a Saturday delivery without a complaint. That's great service IMO.

However it seems M2 has serious issues with making sure all the parts are included.
My second order was for another 2M12 antenna, phasing cables, Power divider and boom.

The three piece boom came with no nuts and bolts to put it together.

The mast to boom plate kit only had two of the four required U-bolts, shoes, washers and nuts.
The bag that was to hold all these parts was open no staple or sealing attempt made.

The packaging was so tight and clean there were no holes for these parts to get out and lost during shipping. I have to say the packaging is above board.

Fortunately the second 2M12 antenna kit was complete. Well I have not assembled this one as of this review but I did inventory the small parts and they are all there.

I think the products are of good quality.

But my recommendation is!
Buy there products but plan on not being able to install it the day it arrives without needing to get some replacement parts shipped or be making a list and heading to the hardware store.

So the actual antennas and service I rate highly! The continued missing parts situation I give a poor rating. My score a 3 overall.
I knock two points off because missing parts is just careless and to simple a task not to get right every time.
 
W9WZJ Rating: 5/5 Mar 19, 2013 20:48 Send this review to a friend
Still decent  Time owned: more than 12 months
Thought I better update my old review. I have owned these antennas over a decade. Down to two, mounted horizontally on a single mast stacked at 11' (see my QRZ pic). Flat SWR. I have only had them ice up twice in their lifetimes. I use M2 phasing lines and a home brew power divider.
They continue to perform well, as I work minimal stations to 300 miles, larger stations to 450 miles, and almost 500 miles on CW, mounted at 24' and 35' - on my killer chimney mount, with a 200 watt TE brick and 7/8" Heliax.
I recommend them still, to this day. Even so, the more aluminum you can get up, the better, and it works on TX and RX. If I could do it all over again, I'd probably have a pair of 18XXXs.
 
N8DXB Rating: 5/5 Feb 11, 2013 09:46 Send this review to a friend
Well built and works great  Time owned: more than 12 months
I have been using M2 antennas for a many years, and these outperform and last longer than all other antennas I have used in 34 years. I have one mounted vertical and another one mounted horizontal, they do not need any additional support, they have a low SWR, and perform great.
 
N4PPG Rating: 5/5 Jan 31, 2013 17:43 Send this review to a friend
excellent  Time owned: more than 12 months
Had mine for about 18 months now and am pleased. It doesn't require any external supports, stays true and after assembling it (no issues at all), tuned right up to 1:1 swr... very pleased. Ive even knocked the pole over once with the tractor and ordered a few more elements and put it back up just as brand new... Fine product... runs about $240 currently. A good solid 3 db better than the crushcraft a148-10 i also own as guessed at/measured from some locoregional beacons. would buy it again....73
 
HCLAGG Rating: 2/5 Nov 13, 2009 22:37 Send this review to a friend
Poor QC  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I am a fan of M2 products, as I have a 6M7JHV and 6M5X, and they have performed very well.

I took delivery of my 2M12 today at the local hamfest, and raced home to assemble it.
Out of the 8 holes that screw the boom sections together, only 2 of them aligned. The 6 others had to be filed out. Some of the holes were misaligned by 1/8". Quite sloppy.
This is disappointing for an M2 product.

My mate, who also bought a 2M12 today as well, discovered that his kit did not include the locknuts. Doesn't anyone check before final packing?

I remember my JHV (purchased 2000) did not have any issues at all, so this indicates that quality control has slipped at M2 since.

There seems little point contacting M2 about this, because there is no QC stamp, no batch code or anything to identify those accountable.
In other words, there is no quality control.
I feel that M2 are resting on their laurels, but should not get complacent. If you quality slides too much, then it will be hard to regain lost ground.

If there were some QC stamp to identify those responsible, then they could be educated and/or procedures improved, but that aint the case.

I hope that the performance is better than the manufacturing quality.
 
WE8Q Rating: 5/5 Nov 7, 2009 06:03 Send this review to a friend
Happy  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
Replaced a Cushcraft 13B2 with this antenna when I put up my new tower. This antenna was easy to assemble and it is very light weight. Excellent performance and flat SWR. Quality construction. I like it!
 
K7ULS Rating: 5/5 Aug 12, 2009 13:11 Send this review to a friend
Great antenna  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I'm able to work Colorado from a local mountain top S5 at 422 miles with a Mirage B-320-G 240 watts. This same setup afforded me my first EME qso with IK1UWL in Italy at moonrise running portable.
 
K5YC Rating: 5/5 Feb 3, 2008 08:11 Send this review to a friend
Good antenna  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
FOrmally used a old cushcraft antenna--very few
contacts. Didn't like it. Wife bought me an M2
and WOW! at the difference. Now hear and work
many more stations. Well built. Has stood up to
high winds here. Take your time to assemble and
check everything. Use good coax and you can enjoy 2 meter weak signal work.

Jim K5YC
 
WY3X Rating: 5/5 Oct 19, 2007 19:18 Send this review to a friend
Only minor advice  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I just ordered a pair to replace an old Cushcraft 10 element Yagi. I also got the optional fiberglass cross-boom (it's SUPER heavy duty!) to mount them on. Assembly is about as easy as it gets! The price is no longer $165 per the heading, they're now $226 each, a net increase of 37%. They're not on the tower yet, but as with all M2 designs, there's nothing but quality here, and I have no doubt they'll perform as advertised. I only have two complaints, both minor. One was that the antennas had swaging lubricant residue all over all the parts which I had to clean off (because I'm going to paint mine with clear-coat so they'll hold up better in my salt-spray atmosphere). They should have been cleaned prior to packing at the factory. That was only a minor inconvenience. A major fault (to me) is that I wish they could have included stainless steel U-bolts instead of zinc plated. For $226 I expected all stainless hardware. An inquiry to the company received an explanation that the price of the antenna would have to go up if they switched to all stainless hardware. How much? About eight dollars? Checking at Home Depot I find zinc clamps for about $2 and stainless for about $4. There's four clamps, do the math. I didn't care for the element alignment instructions offered by M2. I used one element placed horizontally on my kitchen counter and balanced each element on it to find the center. Then I marked a circle around the balance spot with a sharpie magic marker. Looking inside each boom segment you can center the marks to get perfect alignment during assembly! I also bought their power divider so I won't have to fool with phasing harnesses. The quality of the power dividers is amazing! I gave the 2M12 a 5 because my issues are minor, and have nothing to do with how well the antennas perform.
 
G0TKJ Rating: 5/5 Oct 1, 2003 11:44 Send this review to a friend
Nice Antennas  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Just put a pair of 12's up and WOW BIG DIFFERENCE over the old 18 ele 4218XL that I had up. They are very easy to build you just need to read the instructions and they will work first time every time. Just one of the antennas is better than the old 18 ele boomer. I have also used a 1/2 inch diameter coax from Germany called ECOFLEX 15. I would recomend the combination to anyone that is into serious VHF/UHF in Europe, read the review on the ECOFLEX cable. Will update the antenna review in a few months.
 
Page 1 of 2 —>


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.