- Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Friends Remembered
Survey Question

DX Cluster Spots

Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement

donate to eham
Reviews Categories | Transceivers: HF Amateur HF+6M+VHF+UHF models - not QRP <5W | ICOM IC-7600 Help

Reviews Summary for ICOM IC-7600
ICOM IC-7600 Reviews: 148 Average rating: 4.7/5 MSRP: $3,950
Description: The ICOM IC-7600 has been unveiled at the Tokyo hamfair August 2008. DSP based HF/50 MHz 100W transceiver keeps the best of IC-756PROIII with the look and convenience of IC-7XXX seiries rigs.
Product is in production.
More info: http://
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the ICOM IC-7600.

Page 1 of 15 —>

KD5NDU Rating: 5/5 Apr 1, 2016 09:41 Send this review to a friend
great radio  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I had mine for fews now. And have to say it is an great radio. I have played around. With the psk31 on it little bit. And I think doing psk31 is much better on an computer if your an serious digital operator. Now I really like the USB on the back. You only have to plug up one cord to the computer. I have used the radio on sstv, psk31,rtty and works great.

The tunner on the radio is very fast. I just hook up an receive antenna. Few days ago. I like how you can transmit on one antenna and receive oo another. The filters on the radio are good.

And the screen is real nice. I like color screen.
N9GUU Rating: 5/5 Mar 20, 2016 08:38 Send this review to a friend
Followup  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
After owing my 7600 for almost a year now, I thought i would do a followup to my initial review. Everything i said in my initial review still stands - great radio. I have installed the V2.0 firmware upgrade and that made the radio even better! The ONLY issue iv'e had is that after a while I noticed low output power - around 65 watts out max. After some research I discovered that ICOM has changed their power cord to use automotive blade fuses and these fuses corrode or oxidize and degrade the connection between the fuse and the fuse holder. Take out the fuse, clean off the fuse terminals, and you're back in business. But wait - after a few months it does it again! I have totally removed the supplied fuses from the ICOM power cable and replaced them with gold plated inline fuses and fuse holders I got from a car audio installation shop. Haven't had a problem since then. For $2,500 you would think ICOM would supply something better then this poorly engineered power cord. Other than that - BEST RADIO I'VE EVER OWNED!
K1BOB Rating: 4/5 Feb 13, 2016 08:57 Send this review to a friend
Solid Icom, Some Faults  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
Overall happy with radio, own four other less expensive Icom HF radios for comparison.
- Waterfall display
-Many optional screen views/Digital adjustments
-Good audio transmit quality
-Nice filtering options
-Noise blanker works very well
-Noise reduction better than other Icoms, 746,7000,706,7200
- Digital speech volume is to low to be heard over receiver audio
-Fan kicks in during receive only mode
-Volt and heat scale have no references
-Only 100 memories!
-Record function can not be used to TX other stations audio back
-No display video output for flatscreen.
-Logitech USB keyboard, perfect match
-ICOM SM-30 desk mic, better than expected

KK5DR Rating: 5/5 Feb 8, 2016 16:33 Send this review to a friend
Seven years and counting.  Time owned: more than 12 months
This is an update to my first review a few years ago.
My 7600 is an old one, it's #53 off the line. I have had no serious trouble with it since I got it when the model first hit the market. I was one of the first guys to get one.
Simon Brown (Mr. HRD) told me I was the first to use HRD with only a USB connection from radio to PC.
It's never been back to the ICOM shop, in fact, the covers have never been off of it. It has sat in the same spot for seven years now. It's not leaving my shop till I leave, toes first.
It does all that I need it to, and performs very well, by any standard.
It will be interesting to see how many years it will clock.
I'll let you know when it stumbles, and on what did it stumble.
KG0MN Rating: 5/5 Feb 8, 2016 11:13 Send this review to a friend
I Love the radio  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I have owned the IC-7600 for about three weeks now and I finally feel I am beginning to know my way around the controls and features. Since I operate on most modes the radio has some great features for most of them. For AM the fact the radio comes with 6K filter makes listening and operating very enjoyable, the built in decoding for PSK and RTTY means a computer is not need to go digital.

One thing I notice is that the 7600 is less tiring to listen to over long periods of time as compared to my 590S or even my Drake T4XC with the Sherwood mods. Audio reports have been very nice using a Heil Goldline my using the wide setting and standard audio settings on the radio.
W3UT Rating: 5/5 Jan 8, 2016 04:21 Send this review to a friend
New upgrade is great  Time owned: more than 12 months
Such an enjoyable radio to operate, with the latest 2.0 firmware is even better. This radio does just about everything very well. Seems a bit expensive but the quality and finish is superb.
K2VI Rating: 5/5 Jan 7, 2016 17:23 Send this review to a friend
This is the best owned  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Since 1991 I have owned and tested at least 35 transceivers and I will say this one is the best of them all. The receiver is excellent like many others i have tested however this ic-7600 has the best of all of them as far as ergonomics and build quality is superb. One other radio is the yaesu ft-2000 and ftdx 3000 which are just as good. at least to my ear. But something about this 7600 make it special. I just really love this rig. Maybe it is the scope and the feel of the knobs but it is top notch. Got mine for 2995.00 at AES milwaukee.
KC0MFK Rating: 5/5 Dec 20, 2015 14:32 Send this review to a friend
Nice improvement  Time owned: more than 12 months
The 2.0 firmware update from Icom makes this radio even more enjoyable. Have owned 2 all with great reliabilty. The successor to the Icom Pro series, the 7600 is a keeper.
K5ML Rating: 5/5 Dec 19, 2015 16:11 Send this review to a friend
The Little Transceiver That Got Better  Time owned: more than 12 months
I purchased an IC-7600 in March 2011 after having used and enjoyed an IC-756 Pro III for over 4 years. The improvement in the receiver over the Pro III was immediately apparent - much quieter and more selective. The addition of a CW audio peak filter was another big plus. With a similar menu as the Pro III, the transition to the 7600 was effortless. The larger monitor is also a plus.

After the 7600 was slightly over a year old, the transmitter output went to zero. Fortunately, I bought it from Ham Radio Outlet who doubled the warranty and sent it back to Icom for repair. While it was at Icom, I used my old Pro III and really missed the 7600. It had spoiled me. Since that time the 7600 has worked fine.

The 2.0 firmware update from Icom made significant improvements in the 7600 in a number of areas. The ones I appreciate most are the improvements in the bandscope, the audio peak filter and the ability to set the TX delay time. The only thing I wish the 7600 had is a video output jack for an outboard monitor. If/when Icom makes a successor for the 7600, I hope they include that feature. If they do, I'll buy it in a heartbeat.

In summary, the IC-7600 is a great transceiver in a small package. With the price having dropped to around $3,000 for a new one, it's a bargain.
OE3SGU Rating: 0/5 Dec 19, 2015 09:49 Send this review to a friend
Great radio, unreliable  Time owned: more than 12 months
Well I really love this RIG - when it works! Mine has failed 4 times (!) now within 2 1/2 years with always the same problem: driver transistor. The radio was just in RX standbye and won't transmitt anymore. It seems that there are a number of lemons out there and well, I got one.

Hopefully the repair bill won't be too high this time.

Very good radio with lots of bells and whistles. If you own one make sure you have a spare radio somewhere in the shack, you cannot be sure if your 7600 will still work after you left the shack for a minute.
Page 1 of 15 —>

If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.