eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


Reviews Categories | Transceivers: HF Amateur (inc. HF+6M+VHF models) | ICOM IC-7600 Help


Reviews Summary for ICOM IC-7600
ICOM IC-7600 Reviews: 126 Average rating: 4.7/5 MSRP: $3,950
Description: The ICOM IC-7600 has been unveiled at the Tokyo hamfair August 2008. DSP based HF/50 MHz 100W transceiver keeps the best of IC-756PROIII with the look and convenience of IC-7XXX seiries rigs.
Product is in production.
More info: http://
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the ICOM IC-7600.

Page 1 of 13 —>

K4TB Rating: 5/5 Jul 2, 2014 17:47 Send this review to a friend
Great Noise Blanker and DSP  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Over the past dozen years I went from an Icom 756 Pro3 to a Yaesu FTDX-5000 with DMU-2000, to the Icom 7600. I needed to downsize my shack because I'll be moving to a new, smaller QTH at the end of this year, so I traded the FTDX-5000 for a brand new Icom 7600 and I am totally satisfied.

In short, the Icom 7600 is simple better than the others when it comes to the noise blanker and DSP. The noise blanker is phenomenal, eliminating some local raspy noise that occurs here occasionally that the other rigs could not eliminate. While the FTDX-5000 was better in selectivity in some cases, I find that the Icom 7600 is just as good 99% of the time. Couple that with the much more straightforward menu system of the Icom 7600, the built in scope with all its features, and the myriad of features in the Icom 7600 not found in the FTDX-5000, such as USB ports, built in PSK31 and RTTY operation, etc., I am happy with the trade. Also, I am working just as much DX with the Icom 7600's 100 watts as I did with the FTDX-5000's 200 watts.
 
KI6WXM Rating: 5/5 May 19, 2014 13:58 Send this review to a friend
icom 7600  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I have been using a Yaesu Ft-950. A great radio at a great price. I have never had a problem with it and I have talked around the world. I wanted to step up a bit so I researched and bought my first icom radio. A icom-7600, WoW! What a difference in radios. I just never realized that a radio could be this quiet. My first contact was Vienna Austria on my 5BTV antenna with 36 radials. I like my antenna but I know it is nothing special. This is the best radio I have ever owned. I do not sell radios so I will have this for a long bit.
Everything is where you would think it should be. The scope is the greatest thing I have ever seen. It is small so it fits on my table with ease. The filters are easy to set up as well as very productive.
I thought about the Yaesu Ft-3000 very hard before I bought the icom-7600 I read everything I could find. I called several of the HRO stores and talked to them. This radio has been around for 5 years or so. The bugs have been worked out of it I would think. I guess I could be wrong but I do not think so. I am just a normal older woman in Ham radio. I am in love with the icom-7600. The price came down a bit for the Ham fest this weekend so I got one at Hro hear in Oregon. KI6WXM
 
AD0AR Rating: 5/5 May 7, 2014 21:39 Send this review to a friend
5+ rating!  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
I could not decide which base radio to get- I had narrowed it down to 3 choices, the Elecraft K3, Yaesu FTDX 3000, and the Icom IC-7600.

I talked to a few amateurs who have the above mentioned radios and read through numerous reviews of each radio to assist in my decision making process. While all three have minor different yays and nays, I eliminated them one by one. No offense to anyone who owns these radios, I am sure you had your reasons to purchase what you did. This is why and how I made my decision.
Too many operators negatively commented on the harshness of Elecraft receive audio, plus all the extras that had to be purchased to have 100 watts, antenna tuner, add on cards, panadapter. Then to find out that it has no built in sound card, and only had a serial port for computer control also limited things and made it more complicated too. Scratch that one off.
Then I was going to get the FTDX 3000, but I put my trust in another amateur that told me that I should go for the IC-7600 over the FTDX 3000, even if the FTDX 3000 had better receiver specs. He said the Icoms have larger, better displays and easier, more intuitive controls and button layout.
6 months ago I pulled the trigger and got the IC-7600. I have never looked back.

All right, this is my second Icom rig, with the IC-7000 being my first.
Simple comparision between the two Icoms on 15 Meters- I have a constant carrier noise source induced by a poorly shielded HDMI cable on the TV/PC setup on the first floor, simply adding a few ferrite beads knocked this birdie like signal below the noise floor on the IC-7000.
Using the same antenna, but with the IC-7600 in place, this same signal is now 16+ db above the noise floor!! Holy cow! I had to replace the cable with a $100 monster cable double shielded with 8 added on ferrites before I was able to squash the unwanted signal below the noise floor on the IC-7600 and then on very quiet band days I still can see a little leaking in on the spectrum display!
Night and day comparision between the two radios! You get what you pay for!
My observations:
I weighed the noise floor through the USB computer soundcard interface using Visual Analyzer software. (google it for more info) On default settings with DSP at 100% and the receiver terminated into a dummy load I measured a very quiet -116db noise floor. That was with the default sample rate set to 44Khz. I saw an option on Windows 7 to change the sample rate to 48Khz. I changed it and remeasured the noise floor.
You may ask why change the sample rate?
Common knowledge on increasing the sample rate simply pushes the Nyquist frequency limit higher (the highest sample frequency attainable which is inherently half of the sample frequency) We all know that even using ESSB that no one will ever need to exceed the 22Khz default Nyquist frequency of this rig, but the audiophiles reading this know that by increasing the sample frequency, the noise floor is lowered even more and the dynamic headroom also makes some moderate gains.
After changing the sample rate to 48Khz, the DSP enabled 100% the noise floor was measured at -124 db!
With DSP disabled I measured a -80db noise floor.
All these readings are uncalibrated and should be considered average/relative as I have no ability to calibrate my setup for higher accuracy.
Using the same setup on my IC-7000 connected to a Signalink, I was at best able to achieve a -100db noise floor under the same conditions.
Now for some other features- intuitave layout of buttons, but here's some nags about the buttons:
I don't like the tiny pop out power control knob. It should be bigger and have easier access.
Using programmed channels. I HATE using UP DOWN buttons! I hope a firmware update would allow the RIT knob or tuning knob have a extra mapped function that allows a twisty knob of memory channel selections!
About the DSP:
I think the DSP rocks in this radio! Either SWL listening or monitoring CW, while the internal speaker does no justice of the audio reproduction, using an external speaker the audio quality is superior compared to anything else I have listened to!
When adjusted optimally, there is close zero audio noise, giving the appearance that squelch is enabled, but it is indeed not!
Using CW mode with the DSP set to minimum, the noise floor noise is non existent, so no white noise listening fatigue here! Just pure CW tones, which by simply twisting a knob on the front the user can change the RX CW tone to their liking.
One note about the roofing filters-
In my use of the roofing filters I have noticed that some signals being broadcasted are darn dirty as verified by the beautiful spectrum display. No matter what brand radio you have, you will hear these offenders throwing their splatter across the band.
Speaking of the spectrum display- It is kinda hard to tune the radio to a spectrum peak indicated on the display when using the relative frequency display option when the spectrum display is "centered" on your operating frequency, but when it is used in the "Fixed" mode, the present band is displayed in whole, and your operating frequency is indicated by a vertical line, just like a old fashioned slide rule tuning indicator, but with a twist- all the spectral lines are superimposed on the slide rule tuning! When you see a spectral peak on the display, merely a simple spin of the dial can QSY the vertical indicator line right on top of the new peak instantly for monitoring! This s great for catching those quick tuner uppers just coming onto frequency!
The IC-7600 does have a internal fan. I did find it turning on even when only receiving for long periods of time, but it is pleasantly whisper quiet with no hint of motor hum. After testing power output into a dummy load I found that the IC-7600 is able to maintain it's rated wattage down to about 12.5V, then the 100 watt rating starts dropping.
I initially had my power supply voltage set to 13.8VDC, but after this test indicated that there were no gains to running the higher voltage, I turned down the power supply voltage to 12.9VDC.
The radio runs much cooler and I experienced the internal fan only turns on when transmitting for extended periods.
About the internal antenna tuner and internal 2 port antenna switch:
The tuner is FAST with the only noise eminating from the cabinet is the initial engaging click of a relay and a flashing tuner light is the only indicator anything is happening.
I wish Icom had an option menu to show the memory set points of the tuner graphically. That would be a awesome diagnostic tool! Plus it could allow the operator to plot SWR's for their antenna that can be saved and referenced later in the event of station problems. The operator could recall a "Original" saved SWR plot, then overlay it over the latest plot. That would save many headaches troubleshooting! Plus having the ability to "see" the values the antenna tuner is correcting could very well assist an operator in fine tuning a dipole or other antennas without the need for other test equipment, and since it is internal to the radio, nothing needs to be disconnected or swapped out!
The 2 port antenna switch is awesome as it remembers if the tuner is needed for a specific antenna/band. I use port 1 for my Magloop, and port 2 is used for a wideband "spotting" antenna that does not need to be tuned onto frequency like the Magloop does to RX anything.
Also, while it is nice that Icom had the foresight to allow some color customizations to the radio display, simply having only two color options (Black and Blue) for the background is very limiting. They should have allowed for the full color gamut just as they did for the spectral display. They should also have allowed for changing the color of the frequency display font this way too.
About the PBT feature:
IT does work wonders, but is not as sharp as the single manual notch filter. I think in a future firmware update ICOM should superimpose the PBT graphics on the 5Khz and 2.5Khz spectrum screens to better facilitate the filtering that is being applied. That would be baller!
About the Universal Serial Bus HOST capabilities:
This radio allows the use of a USB hub that allows a USB memory drive AND qwerty keyboard at the same time but the darn radio only has 100 memories and limited voice recording capabilities?
Shoot! Get a firmware update out there that allows you to use the whole USB memory drive as an extension to the memory onboard the radio! We like memories! The more the better! We aren't getting any younger and I like to use my memory capacity for things on the XYL Honey Do list, etc. and not for remembering frequencies, bandwidth selections and modes....
To simplify computer connections, there is a USB connection on the back that allows for computer control and sound card connections through one simple USB cord! It could not be simpler!
I have had very good luck using the single USB interface for digi modes such as RTTY, JT9, JT65, Olivia, etc. but for CW and RTTY through a PC, I would get a keyer interface so the radio can be set to the correct mode, then the APF/TPF and other selective filtering can be used like it was designed to be used for those modes, plus all logging software will log everything without editing entries to the correct mode/freq.
So Icom, do you think you could give us some of these features/additions I mentioned above? You guys did a stellar job on the recent IC-7700 firmware upgrade, don't forget about the IC-7600 users!
I hope you all enjoyed this long review! Lets keep the ideas coming for any possible future firmware updates! In God we trust, All other we monitor. 73 de AD0AR
 
NG0Z Rating: 5/5 Apr 27, 2014 11:06 Send this review to a friend
Awesome Rig  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I am a new ham so I have only been using my 7600 for three weeks. It was a last-minute choice to buy this over the Yaesu FTDX-3000d. I traded the lack of an IF Output (which is disappointing but I knew that going in) for a much larger screen, knobs instead of three steps into a menu on the 3000, and a much better built-in scope. All worth it given the extra $1000 paid for the Icom.

The receiver is excellent, I am able to pull in DX stations with the NR and the RF Gain and can easily nullify adjacent stations with the Twin PBT and Notching. The Automatic Notch works surprisingly well even though I usually like doing it manually. It would be nice to see a display of the operation of the Notching ala the PBT but that is a nit.

The operation is intuitive, the ergonomics are excellent and serve to heighten the ham radio experience. This is a great-looking radio, and an impressive centerpiece in my radio room, neither of which could be said of the also excellent Yaesu 3000.

Once I dialed in the audio output settings, in concert with the optional SM-50 Desktop microphone, I have received excellent audio reports. I did with the standard mic too.

As for the scope, it works as advertised. It allows me to quickly see what's going on in a band, zoom over to chase a station, or see where an adjacent station is coming from to more quickly filter it out with the PBT. Having said that, the scope has to be good as there is no IF output as noted above.

The 3000 may have more current receiver technology but I don't know how much better it could be than this rig. I couldn't be happier with my choice for a first HF rig.

73

NG0Z
 
W3DDF Rating: 5/5 Apr 22, 2014 08:03 Send this review to a friend
Excellent Radio  Time owned: more than 12 months
I have owned the 7600 for almost two years and love it. It is the first Icom I have had. I sold a Yaesu FT-950 which I only had for a few months. I did not like the FT-950 at all. The receiver in the 7600 is much better than the Yaesu. The menus are so easy to use in the 7600. With the FT-950 I always had to go back to the manual. Get the 7600 you will be very glad you did.
 
G3RCE Rating: 3/5 Apr 22, 2014 03:13 Send this review to a friend
Poor value for money, outdated  Time owned: more than 12 months
I've owned two since early 2010, God knows why?
Nice to look at and an improvement over the PRO3 but
the newer Yaesu FTDX3000 is a much better performer with it's down conversion superior receiver etc etc.
It would be great if ICOM updated the 7600 with a proper down conversion rx and reduced the price to compete with the 3000!
I cannot understand anyone preferring it over the 3000?
 
KC0MFK Rating: 3/5 Apr 21, 2014 13:16 Send this review to a friend
Overpriced and dated  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
I previously owned an IC-7600 replacing it with a Ten Tec Eagle. A power line lightning strike destroyed the Ten Tec so I went looking for a new replacement. I tried a number of mid range radios and considered another new IC-7600. I did like the large band scope on the 7600. The TT Eagle had a great receiver but no band scope. I didn't really miss this feature but it's nice for spotting band activity. I liked the Eagle receiver much better than the 7600. The 7600 is more attractive but the receiver isn't as good. The Icoms (7600, 7700, 7800) though expensive are no longer top rated receivers. The prices for these radios are at a premium stuck back in time. Better radios can be bought for far less money. I found Ten Tec and Icom radios to be very overpriced compared to the competition. I borrowed a friends K3 for a weekend. Nice receiver, but too small and too awkward for me. After much searching, I narrowed my final search down to 2 radios. I wanted pretty and smart. It came down to the IC-7600 vs Yaesu FT-DX-3000. I chose the Yaesu and am very happy. The IC-7600 is a good radio but dated. The Yaesu is a great radio for far less money. To me this radio is an IC-7600 killer,and if that is what Yaesu set out to do, in my case they have succeeded.
 
OE3SGU Rating: 4/5 Apr 21, 2014 06:39 Send this review to a friend
very nice radio with some minor bugs  Time owned: more than 12 months
I have owned my IC-7600 a year now, bought 2nd hand. Within this one year it failed 3 times, every time the driver transistors failed. More on this in the IC-7600 yahoo group. The rig has been repaired 3 times and luckily the repair costs were either covered by my insurance (twice) or by Icom (once). It seems that the PSU I used to power the radio was defective. The failure always happened when the rig was standby for some time with the screensaver being on. Anyway, my baby is back in the shack and I love playing with it. Having had a pro 3 and other Icoms before getting used to the user interface was a breeze. Icom really shines when it comes to make an extensive menu system very simple to use. The same applies for the radio in general. Although lots of features the radio is very intuitive to operate. Some things I really don't like are: Who needs the CW-pitch control on the front? How often do you change this? I would rather have the power- or key speed-setting there instead of fiddling around with the small knobs. Another bug ist the APO function. The rig turns off after the set time even during transmit! It often happens that in the middle of transmission the rig went off without any warning. I don't use the APO-function anymore and do things manually. Every cheap newcomer radio lets you know the actual keying speed on its display. Not the IC-7600. Not a big deal I know, but it would be nice to have. So there is still some room for improvement and I really hope that there will be a firmware update to fix those little bugs. For the price you get a lot of features of the big ones and a very nice looking radio too.
 
PY2SM Rating: 5/5 Apr 15, 2014 12:03 Send this review to a friend
Perfect for the money  Time owned: more than 12 months
I've already have many others HF with or without 6m, but this rig is really amazing.
All main functions are close in the panel and can be reach with only one action. The DSP and filters are very effective, and the setup is not complicate. I use it with a Palstar speaker and this combination is great. The USB input to backup configuration or recordings is nice. I miss only a tunning button/function instead of to use RTTY, for instance, to tune a linear amplifier; and the power button could be bigger. But of course, are small details if you compare with the benefits.
 
N8MWD Rating: 5/5 Mar 23, 2014 14:09 Send this review to a friend
Amazed.  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
I consider myself very lucky. I was going from radio-to-radio looking for the best upgrade option after 25 years of using the IC-735.

The IC-7600's receiver is really something; best performer I've heard yet. The filters are extremely flexible and capable aids. The general audio quality is superb. The display is nothing less than a joy to view, and both the metering and scope options are plentiful.

Better yet... the 7600 isn't one of those needlessly oversized monstrosities! It actually fits on the desk in my shack without requiring a complete space redesign.

There's a pretty good shot that my new 7600 will be with me for as long as my '735.
 
Page 1 of 13 —>


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.