eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


Reviews Categories | Transceivers: HF Amateur HF+6M+VHF+UHF models - not QRP <5W | ICOM IC-7600 Help


Reviews Summary for ICOM IC-7600
ICOM IC-7600 Reviews: 152 Average rating: 4.7/5 MSRP: $3,950
Description: The ICOM IC-7600 has been unveiled at the Tokyo hamfair August 2008. DSP based HF/50 MHz 100W transceiver keeps the best of IC-756PROIII with the look and convenience of IC-7XXX seiries rigs.
Product is in production.
More info: http://
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the ICOM IC-7600.

Page 1 of 16 —>

KY3W Rating: 3/5 Sep 7, 2017 06:02 Send this review to a friend
Disappointed  Time owned: more than 12 months
I thought I was upgrading from a 756ProIII to a 7600. After 3 years, I can share it wasn't much of an upgrade. After spending time with both rigs I can say the build quality of the ProIII is superior. The fact my ProIII is 10 years old and still working perfectly and my 3 year old 7600 just cost me $846 to replace a faulty logic board in no way effected my rating. It would have been the same. Here's why. The AGC suffers from transient spikes, making it almost useless in a contest or DX environment. I always set it to fast. The spectrum scope is useless for finding weak signals. The ProIII's analog scope is actually better. Elecraft's P3 makes both of them look sad. I was excited bout the v2 firmware until I saw the scope, which was no improvement. Perhaps if an option allows the scope to fill the screen vertically, it might see weak signals. Unlike K3's, 7600's cannot send voice recordings via software such as N1MM+. I'm forced to use .wav files from the PC. Very discouraging for contesting. Poor front panel layout. Why NR or CW Pitch is on a large knob and RF Power is not is beyond me. The latter is adjusted far more often. Buttons too close to the VFO. Impossible to push them without bumping it. A Power button that has to be pressed twice to power the rig. Anyone understand why? One of my primary reasons for upgrading was to get 3 and 6khz 1st IF filters. After reading lab tests my suspicions were confirmed. The 3 is much higher than 3 and the 6 is a little higher than 6. I believe due to the high 69Mhz IF making it difficult to achieve advertised specs. Knowing what I know now, I would have bought the INRAD filter for the ProIII. All is not bad. The 7600 does have a superior NB and NR circuit for instance. Overall though, the 7600 offers little more than the ProIII. I paid $3283 for my 7600 and consider it to be a big mistake. It is now worth roughly $2000 and I have over $4000 in it after just 3 years. A K3S line is looking more appealing all the time and is far more functional than an Icom.
 
K8CMR Rating: 4/5 Jul 2, 2017 07:32 Send this review to a friend
Good receiver, not great. Great features.  Time owned: more than 12 months
I have owned this one for about 1 1/2 years. Found the features to be terrific. Love the band scope and the ability to use a mouse to jump to a new signal instantly. Love the built-in RTTY and decode function for it. CW is superb especially if you use the APF feature or other filters. SSB is noisy and not nearly as quiet as my Icom 765, but if you learn to use the NR control along with the filters, it is quite adequate. Still not as pleasant to listen to as the IC 765. You have to learn to use the filter shapes and widths to hear the weak signals, and it takes some practice. Audio is great with both my Heil Heritage and Behringer xm8500 mics. Internal equalizer works well and is sensitive to small changes. Sherwood Labs ranks this rig at 39 and my Ic 765 ranked at 26 on their list and I agree with that. There are better receivers out there, but unless you're a contester, it doesn't matter that much.
 
IK0TIX Rating: 5/5 Mar 2, 2017 13:27 Send this review to a friend
5 stars radio  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I had
FT757 GXII
TS140
TS850SAT
FT897/857/817
FLEX 1500
TS2000
this is the best radio ever!!!!
 
KE6TDT Rating: 5/5 Dec 21, 2016 12:54 Send this review to a friend
Very impressive radio, a +5 keeper  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
After taking about a year reading about and researching a new transceivers I opted for the 7600 for a couple of reasons. One of which was I had bought new an ICOM 746 (non-pro) I believe in the year 2000. The older 746 in my opinion is a great radio and in 16 years of service I had not one single issue and it never had to be sent in for repair. That kind of durability goes a long goes a long way in my book.

One of the drawbacks for me regarding the 7600 was no 2-meters. But then again I thought about it and I have several hand held two meter radios. And since I have never used the band much except for traveling, or going camping that was something I could overlook since I could already access the band if needed.

Moving from the non-pro 746 to the 7600 was an eye opener for me. As others have mentioned, the technology is so advanced it made me smile.

I do not live far from an HRO and I was able to go down and sit in front of and use all the display radios. From the beginning I noted the IC-7600 controls, knobs, sound and general feel of the radio seemed to exhibit better, tighter and more durable quality.

And to me, the overall appearance of the radio seemed superior. One on air operator I heard recently describe the 7600 as the corvette of HF base radios. I did not want something so big it looked like something from the 1950s or something so small it appeared to be made for mobile operation. Once I set it up I found it fit my desk perfect. I wanted a full sized HF radio, but without taking up half the desk. Not too big and not too small. It was perfect for what I wanted.

I've never owned a radio with a scope and I won't go into the scope too much, but I will say what many others have said said, WOW! I find my myself using the scope constantly for many things. It's just amazing and comes with a screen saver! The screen is very clear and significantly larger than my older 746 screen and I can see it clearly without issue.

Audio receive? It's top shelf and much better than the 746 which is still very good to this day. Transmission audio? The very first contact I received an *unsolicited* commented that my audio was very good. I am using a Heil ICM microphone with the 7600. That was all I needed to hear.

Having only owned this radio for a few weeks, some years from now I will hopefully do a followup review of this fantastic radio.

At this point and I am genuinely impressed and would recommend this product without hesitation.
 
W7HBP Rating: 5/5 Dec 3, 2016 06:36 Send this review to a friend
My new IC7600  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
OK, radio is new, maybe 2 weeks old. Got a great deal on it with Icom instant rebate of $800 plus an HRO black Friday discount made the cost of this rig really hard to pass up, to the point, I didn't. I am pleased to see all the great reviews. I got the Icom because I was used to the Icom layout and didn't want to go through a leaning process again, not to many menu driven controls, not the main ones anyway, very similar to my old IC746. I also wanted to learn/use PSK31 without adding a component, but do it right from my radio. Still trying to figure it out. So far, love this radio! Still learning the bells and whistles. Its fun. :D
 
W4KVW Rating: 5/5 Nov 14, 2016 19:20 Send this review to a friend
Still AWESOME  Time owned: more than 12 months
I did a followup review a while back but now it has been removed for some reason.I've owned my 7600 for about a year & a half & I still can't find anything about it that i don't like other than maybe it would do JT65 without needing a computer.Using the HEIL PR-20 & the ICOM PW-1 amplifier makes for a DX Pileup Busting Combination with some AWESOME transmit audio.In my opinion it's a Big Step UP from the ICOM 756 PRO II that I had before purchasing the 7600. The 7600 is only a small step down from the 7700 & 7800 & I'm talking baby Steps down.I'm not into touch screen radios & I have no interest in a radio that does not have a full color display with a band scope no matter what brand they are.No need for an optional monitor so I can have a band scope & that's a BIG PLUS.The ICOM 7600 is a KEEPER & a WINNER for me as a Die Hard ICOM MAN.Get yourself one & you will LOVE IT as well.ICOM RULES & Everything Else Wants Too Be An ICOM.
 
KD5NDU Rating: 5/5 Apr 1, 2016 09:41 Send this review to a friend
great radio  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I had mine for fews now. And have to say it is an great radio. I have played around. With the psk31 on it little bit. And I think doing psk31 is much better on an computer if your an serious digital operator. Now I really like the USB on the back. You only have to plug up one cord to the computer. I have used the radio on sstv, psk31,rtty and works great.

The tunner on the radio is very fast. I just hook up an receive antenna. Few days ago. I like how you can transmit on one antenna and receive oo another. The filters on the radio are good.

And the screen is real nice. I like color screen.
 
N9GUU Rating: 5/5 Mar 20, 2016 08:38 Send this review to a friend
Followup  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
After owing my 7600 for almost a year now, I thought i would do a followup to my initial review. Everything i said in my initial review still stands - great radio. I have installed the V2.0 firmware upgrade and that made the radio even better! The ONLY issue iv'e had is that after a while I noticed low output power - around 65 watts out max. After some research I discovered that ICOM has changed their power cord to use automotive blade fuses and these fuses corrode or oxidize and degrade the connection between the fuse and the fuse holder. Take out the fuse, clean off the fuse terminals, and you're back in business. But wait - after a few months it does it again! I have totally removed the supplied fuses from the ICOM power cable and replaced them with gold plated inline fuses and fuse holders I got from a car audio installation shop. Haven't had a problem since then. For $2,500 you would think ICOM would supply something better then this poorly engineered power cord. Other than that - BEST RADIO I'VE EVER OWNED!
 
K1BOB Rating: 4/5 Feb 13, 2016 08:57 Send this review to a friend
Solid Icom, Some Faults  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
Overall happy with radio, own four other less expensive Icom HF radios for comparison.
PRO's:
- Waterfall display
-Many optional screen views/Digital adjustments
-Good audio transmit quality
-Nice filtering options
-Noise blanker works very well
-Noise reduction better than other Icoms, 746,7000,706,7200
Con's:
- Digital speech volume is to low to be heard over receiver audio
-Fan kicks in during receive only mode
-Volt and heat scale have no references
-Only 100 memories!
-Record function can not be used to TX other stations audio back
-No display video output for flatscreen.
Recommendations:
-Logitech USB keyboard, perfect match
-ICOM SM-30 desk mic, better than expected

 
KK5DR Rating: 5/5 Feb 8, 2016 16:33 Send this review to a friend
Seven years and counting.  Time owned: more than 12 months
This is an update to my first review a few years ago.
My 7600 is an old one, it's #53 off the line. I have had no serious trouble with it since I got it when the model first hit the market. I was one of the first guys to get one.
Simon Brown (Mr. HRD) told me I was the first to use HRD with only a USB connection from radio to PC.
It's never been back to the ICOM shop, in fact, the covers have never been off of it. It has sat in the same spot for seven years now. It's not leaving my shop till I leave, toes first.
It does all that I need it to, and performs very well, by any standard.
It will be interesting to see how many years it will clock.
I'll let you know when it stumbles, and on what did it stumble.
 
Page 1 of 16 —>


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.