eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


Reviews Categories | Transceivers: HF Amateur (inc. HF+6M+VHF+UHF models) | ICOM IC-7600 Help


Reviews Summary for ICOM IC-7600
ICOM IC-7600 Reviews: 136 Average rating: 4.7/5 MSRP: $3,950
Description: The ICOM IC-7600 has been unveiled at the Tokyo hamfair August 2008. DSP based HF/50 MHz 100W transceiver keeps the best of IC-756PROIII with the look and convenience of IC-7XXX seiries rigs.
Product is in production.
More info: http://
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the ICOM IC-7600.

Page 1 of 14 —>

WB0WQS Rating: 5/5 Feb 18, 2015 18:28 Send this review to a friend
Ham radio dream Machine  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
The IC-7600 replaced my Lightning damaged 756 PRO II.
Every time I turn the radio on... it is a joy and privilege to operate. Went above my budget and have not regretted it. Smooth tuning, great scope options, silent relay, silent auto tuner. Roofing filter is amazing, cw operating smooth, tuning is so smooth. Screen layout options are pretty cool. Still learning a lot about the radio... the usb connection, built-in sound card and Software interface. Great all around radio. Pricey for the working man... but what a dream!
 
K5YY Rating: 5/5 Feb 15, 2015 07:12 Send this review to a friend
Just fantastic overall rig  Time owned: more than 12 months
I have two Icom 7600s to go with a 756PROIII which I love too and still have it in line as a 6 meter and low band RTTY rig. The 7600 does everything I need to operate all facets of ham radio, DXing, contesting, RTTY, ragchewing... nothing lacking in my opinion, and I have been around since 1957, 58 years as a ham. Have had all the rigs through the years, each seemed to be an improvement in communication abilities, narrow filters, then DSP, great audio filtering, passband tuning, etc. When you combine everything with the screen information and panadapter/band scope, there was never a reason to go to a $6000 to $10,000 radio! Good job Icom. Keeping my Icom 7600s for sure. Great buy used at $2600 or so. A big advancement over the 746/756 series which remain great investment buys also for most hams, new and old guys like me.
 
W2YM Rating: 5/5 Feb 14, 2015 21:25 Send this review to a friend
GREAT RADIO  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
Well, I have owned the IC-7800 which I loved but personal things happened and I had to sell.. Of course the nice big knobs on the 7800 was great but don't be surprised on this IC-7600... Far as I can see it is the same GREAT audio on transmit and the receive is better. That's right it is better on receive then my IC-7800. Maybe with it being a newer radio they cleaned up the receive on this one. I can't even explain how nice it is.. You will have to hear one for yourself.. I hope that Icom keeps on making them like this one.. WOW what a radio.. I have had so many HF radio's and this one is GREAT.. Wish I could give it a 10... Mark W2YM 73's.
 
KJ7MX Rating: 5/5 Dec 9, 2014 22:15 Send this review to a friend
A real easy rig to use!  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
I've had my IC-7600 for about three months now and I really like it! I've had a few Icom rigs - IC-706MKIIG, IC-746 and an IC-7000. I loved the 7000 but way too heavily "menu driven".

So after playing around with the 7600, an IC-7410 and an FTdx-3000 at HRO in Portland, OR., I came home with the 7600. The 7410 was a bit too basic and the ftdx-3000 felt really (amazingly) cheaply built. Maybe it is because I had some familiarity with the other Icom rigs, but I was able to power up the 7600 and get the basics down without picking up the manual. I really like the fact that most of the items I have to dive into the menus for are "set it once and forget it" items. I operate mainly CW with 10-20% on SSB. Mostly chasing dx, rag chewing, and some non-serious contesting. I find myself using the dual watch all the time in pile-ups.

the NB is incredible on some really nasty line noise I get on 40 & 80. The filters seem to do a good job. The audio from the receiver is good, but not "kenwood quality", referring back to the old hybrids. The more I use the rig the more I like it and the more it starts to feel like a comfortable pair of shoes. I can see holding onto this rig for quite awhile!
 
F4FYJ Rating: 5/5 Nov 29, 2014 07:16 Send this review to a friend
A very good rig !  Time owned: more than 12 months
I've mine since september 2013 .I use it for digital modes using in board sound card and cat system with HRD/DM780.
It work better than my Icom-7400, G8XGG interface and Sound Blaster sound card .
Very goob noise blanker and DSP.
 
G3RCE Rating: 3/5 Oct 28, 2014 05:54 Send this review to a friend
ok if you like noisy radios  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
If you've ever operated an Elecraft K3, Flexradio or a Kenwood TS590S? then the only reason for choosing a 7600 might be because it has a pretty display! but most certainly not for raw performance.
Now if only ICOM would take the trouble to update the 7600 with a synthesizer like that of the K3?
 
K5RR Rating: 5/5 Oct 27, 2014 06:19 Send this review to a friend
Surprisingly good transceiver  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
After I had to send my Icom 7800 to Icom for repair, I bought a 7600 for use in this weekend's CQWW SSB contest. I was very pleased with how it performed. The only complaint I have in comparing it to the 7800 is the compromises that had to be made in the controls because of the smaller size. But I don't consider this to be a major problem.
 
W3ULS Rating: 5/5 Oct 22, 2014 12:49 Send this review to a friend
Covers Nearly All Bases   Time owned: more than 12 months
I've owned a 7600 for years, and find it fills the bill as an all-round rig covering just about all the bases. See previous review. I agree with the KK5DR review below, except I've had no issues or glitches.

If you are a "big gun" contester with several 180-foot towers holding multiple beams, then maybe this transceiver is not for you. I also do not have experience with digital modes such as JT65, etc., so can't comment there. But for 95% of hams, I'd say you can't go wrong with the IC-7600 as the main rig.
 
KK5DR Rating: 5/5 Oct 11, 2014 12:53 Send this review to a friend
Solid performer  Time owned: more than 12 months
I've had my 7600 since they first came to market. It has been a solid performer.
Prior to the 7600 I had the 7800 and 7700, these are great radios, but big and heavy, limited in application.
I got the 7600 and tested it along side these other radios and found that the 7600 is very, very close in performance to these much bigger, much heavier, much more expensive radios.
For me, the 7600 is a great balance of size/weight, versatility, performance, & reliability.
I've done a couple software updates that fixed minor operational issues, and updated without any problem.
All the features and functions on the radio work as they should when used correctly.
I've only had two glitches in all the time I have had this radio. The glitch is; when the radio in very cold( below 40 F), it would boot up and there was no recieve audio, however the band scope showed signals present. A reboot corrected this problem. Now, I warm the shop up before I power up the radio. If this problem starts happening at higher shop temps I'll send it in for repairs, but for now it's working great.
This is one radio I'll keep for a long time, even if I replace it, the 7600 will always be with me.
 
W8NWN Rating: 4/5 Jul 17, 2014 06:24 Send this review to a friend
The Display  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
A very early review. All the other so called comparable radios displays were unstable. The Ft-DX3000 brightness was unstable and changed after the unit was on for a day or so and "flickered". (very annoying) The IC7410 when turned on was dim and after a while went to the brightness you set it before. I admit, I am not a fan of the new type displays. I prefer the display for example on the FT-1000MP which I still have.

The IC7600 is a good radio so far...just overpriced in my opinion. But early on, I haven't found anything about the display that is changing. It is staying the same from initial turn-on. It does have a screen saver that comes on after about an hour to protect the display.

I will post another review about the electronic aspects of this radio later but so-far a good radio as expected for the higher price paid.

 
Page 1 of 14 —>


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.