eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


Reviews Categories | Transceivers: HF Amateur (inc. HF+6M+VHF models) | ICOM IC-7600 Help


Reviews Summary for ICOM IC-7600
ICOM IC-7600 Reviews: 131 Average rating: 4.7/5 MSRP: $3,950
Description: The ICOM IC-7600 has been unveiled at the Tokyo hamfair August 2008. DSP based HF/50 MHz 100W transceiver keeps the best of IC-756PROIII with the look and convenience of IC-7XXX seiries rigs.
Product is in production.
More info: http://
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the ICOM IC-7600.

<— Page 2 of 14 —>

G3RCE Rating: 3/5 Apr 22, 2014 03:13 Send this review to a friend
Poor value for money, outdated  Time owned: more than 12 months
I've owned two since early 2010, God knows why?
Nice to look at and an improvement over the PRO3 but
the newer Yaesu FTDX3000 is a much better performer with it's down conversion superior receiver etc etc.
It would be great if ICOM updated the 7600 with a proper down conversion rx and reduced the price to compete with the 3000!
I cannot understand anyone preferring it over the 3000?
 
KC0MFK Rating: 3/5 Apr 21, 2014 13:16 Send this review to a friend
Overpriced and dated  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
I previously owned an IC-7600 replacing it with a Ten Tec Eagle. A power line lightning strike destroyed the Ten Tec so I went looking for a new replacement. I tried a number of mid range radios and considered another new IC-7600. I did like the large band scope on the 7600. The TT Eagle had a great receiver but no band scope. I didn't really miss this feature but it's nice for spotting band activity. I liked the Eagle receiver much better than the 7600. The 7600 is more attractive but the receiver isn't as good. The Icoms (7600, 7700, 7800) though expensive are no longer top rated receivers. The prices for these radios are at a premium stuck back in time. Better radios can be bought for far less money. I found Ten Tec and Icom radios to be very overpriced compared to the competition. I borrowed a friends K3 for a weekend. Nice receiver, but too small and too awkward for me. After much searching, I narrowed my final search down to 2 radios. I wanted pretty and smart. It came down to the IC-7600 vs Yaesu FT-DX-3000. I chose the Yaesu and am very happy. The IC-7600 is a good radio but dated. The Yaesu is a great radio for far less money. To me this radio is an IC-7600 killer,and if that is what Yaesu set out to do, in my case they have succeeded.
 
OE3SGU Rating: 4/5 Apr 21, 2014 06:39 Send this review to a friend
very nice radio with some minor bugs  Time owned: more than 12 months
I have owned my IC-7600 a year now, bought 2nd hand. Within this one year it failed 3 times, every time the driver transistors failed. More on this in the IC-7600 yahoo group. The rig has been repaired 3 times and luckily the repair costs were either covered by my insurance (twice) or by Icom (once). It seems that the PSU I used to power the radio was defective. The failure always happened when the rig was standby for some time with the screensaver being on. Anyway, my baby is back in the shack and I love playing with it. Having had a pro 3 and other Icoms before getting used to the user interface was a breeze. Icom really shines when it comes to make an extensive menu system very simple to use. The same applies for the radio in general. Although lots of features the radio is very intuitive to operate. Some things I really don't like are: Who needs the CW-pitch control on the front? How often do you change this? I would rather have the power- or key speed-setting there instead of fiddling around with the small knobs. Another bug ist the APO function. The rig turns off after the set time even during transmit! It often happens that in the middle of transmission the rig went off without any warning. I don't use the APO-function anymore and do things manually. Every cheap newcomer radio lets you know the actual keying speed on its display. Not the IC-7600. Not a big deal I know, but it would be nice to have. So there is still some room for improvement and I really hope that there will be a firmware update to fix those little bugs. For the price you get a lot of features of the big ones and a very nice looking radio too.
 
PY2SM Rating: 5/5 Apr 15, 2014 12:03 Send this review to a friend
Perfect for the money  Time owned: more than 12 months
I've already have many others HF with or without 6m, but this rig is really amazing.
All main functions are close in the panel and can be reach with only one action. The DSP and filters are very effective, and the setup is not complicate. I use it with a Palstar speaker and this combination is great. The USB input to backup configuration or recordings is nice. I miss only a tunning button/function instead of to use RTTY, for instance, to tune a linear amplifier; and the power button could be bigger. But of course, are small details if you compare with the benefits.
 
N8MWD Rating: 5/5 Mar 23, 2014 14:09 Send this review to a friend
Amazed.  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
I consider myself very lucky. I was going from radio-to-radio looking for the best upgrade option after 25 years of using the IC-735.

The IC-7600's receiver is really something; best performer I've heard yet. The filters are extremely flexible and capable aids. The general audio quality is superb. The display is nothing less than a joy to view, and both the metering and scope options are plentiful.

Better yet... the 7600 isn't one of those needlessly oversized monstrosities! It actually fits on the desk in my shack without requiring a complete space redesign.

There's a pretty good shot that my new 7600 will be with me for as long as my '735.
 
KM6JD Rating: 5/5 Mar 23, 2014 00:07 Send this review to a friend
Best HF + 6m rig for the Money  Time owned: more than 12 months
I have had this rig since 2010. It is by far the best HF rig I ever owned. I used to have an IC-756 which also was a great rig. But the IC-7600 really blew the lid off all of its predecesors including the Pro III. The quality of the roofing filters is great for both CW and SSB. The fact that you can actually taylor the filters exactly the way you want to is also a superb feature. Looking at the specs for the IC-7600 I couldn't justify getting the more expensive IC-7700 or IC-7800. I am sure that both of those rigs are "worth the money" but I thought it would be overkill for me. So I bought the IC-7600 and have never looked back. This is the perfect rig for the avid CW, SSB, RTTY, PSK31 operator. I have found absolutely no flaws whatsoever on this radio using Firmware Release 1.11. This one is a keeper for decades to come. I can separate very close CW stations during contests with no problem using the 250 Hz filter. One more good thing about this radio is that the display is spectacular. It has a black background with vivid color displays. The spectrum scope is excellent when looking for signals on the band.
 
N1GMV Rating: 5/5 Feb 10, 2014 08:42 Send this review to a friend
Awesome Rig!  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I got my rig Dec 2013 for Christmas. It came with 1.11 firmware. I do NOT hear any fans so not sure where that came from on the other posts. The rig is designed so you can use custom set passband filter, speech and Noise Blanking very quickly at the press of a button.
It works with HRD and DM780 with a single USB cable and if you set up Skype can do remote operation. I love this radio!!
 
W7NIK Rating: 5/5 Feb 9, 2014 10:14 Send this review to a friend
excellent radio  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
Well I had many transceivers in the last 25 years
this one has the best receiver I ever owned. the filtering works. If you can find one used for 2k it is worth it. I had 756pro for the last two years very nice improvement. I am very pleased with my 7600. The reason it is 5 is because of the performance. The only receiver that was close to this is a kendwood 950s. The temperature monitoring on the 7600 is good information while operating.
 
ZS4U Rating: 5/5 Nov 25, 2013 22:24 Send this review to a friend
Great performer  Time owned: more than 12 months
I have owned the 7600 for more than two years but have not used it once during contests. This year I decided to take part in both the CQ-WW-SSB and the CQ-WW-CW. I am not a world class contester but have taken part in many international contests before with radios like the IC-7800, IC-7700, IC-756 PROIII etc. The 7600 really impressed me - the CW filters, together with the AGC performance and roofing filters, enabled me to operate right next to big stations with no adverse effects on receiver performance. It is a powerful performer contained in a small package!
 
DL1QQ Rating: 5/5 Oct 1, 2013 11:46 Send this review to a friend
Very good radio  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I have qualified as a Team Leader for WRTC 2014. In advance of this big event we want to run a few “practice contests” together with my Team Mate Irina, DL8DYL. Our first exercise was the IARU Region 1 SSB Field Day Contest. We operated for the first time with two IC7600s, which were recommended to us. While DL8DYL is already familiar with (other) Icom radios, I was an absolute novice. Until now I have operated most of the time with Kenwood equipment, and therefore I was a little skeptical at how well I could adapt to Icom. Quite honestly, I'm surprised I was able to get on the air right away without having to read the IC7600 manual too much. I intuitively found all the important features. Here I particularly liked that there are separate buttons for the main functions and that you don’t have to click through various menus during pileup conditions with this radio. In addition, compared to my TS450 the IC7600 offers many many new features, such as the liquid color display and the USB port for uploading personal settings etc. Since our first test was single mode SSB, we also tried the voice recorder, which worked very well. We needed to read the manual for that function though, but after understanding the logic, even that was easy.
Unfortunately this first time we didn’t get the Icom CI-V cable to work with the IC7600, even though before the test it worked just fine with an IC7400. But I am sure we will figure that out for the next time.
Basically, our first (SSB transmitting and receiving) impression was very good. Concerning morse code (CW) operation with the IC7600, I will report after our first CW contest test. Stay tuned!
73/88 Sandy, DL1QQ
 
<— Page 2 of 14 —>


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.