eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


Reviews Categories | Transceivers: HF Amateur (inc. HF+6M+VHF models) | ICOM IC-7600 Help


Reviews Summary for ICOM IC-7600
ICOM IC-7600 Reviews: 128 Average rating: 4.7/5 MSRP: $3,950
Description: The ICOM IC-7600 has been unveiled at the Tokyo hamfair August 2008. DSP based HF/50 MHz 100W transceiver keeps the best of IC-756PROIII with the look and convenience of IC-7XXX seiries rigs.
Product is in production.
More info: http://
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the ICOM IC-7600.

<— Page 2 of 13 —>

PY2SM Rating: 5/5 Apr 15, 2014 12:03 Send this review to a friend
Perfect for the money  Time owned: more than 12 months
I've already have many others HF with or without 6m, but this rig is really amazing.
All main functions are close in the panel and can be reach with only one action. The DSP and filters are very effective, and the setup is not complicate. I use it with a Palstar speaker and this combination is great. The USB input to backup configuration or recordings is nice. I miss only a tunning button/function instead of to use RTTY, for instance, to tune a linear amplifier; and the power button could be bigger. But of course, are small details if you compare with the benefits.
 
N8MWD Rating: 5/5 Mar 23, 2014 14:09 Send this review to a friend
Amazed.  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
I consider myself very lucky. I was going from radio-to-radio looking for the best upgrade option after 25 years of using the IC-735.

The IC-7600's receiver is really something; best performer I've heard yet. The filters are extremely flexible and capable aids. The general audio quality is superb. The display is nothing less than a joy to view, and both the metering and scope options are plentiful.

Better yet... the 7600 isn't one of those needlessly oversized monstrosities! It actually fits on the desk in my shack without requiring a complete space redesign.

There's a pretty good shot that my new 7600 will be with me for as long as my '735.
 
KM6JD Rating: 5/5 Mar 23, 2014 00:07 Send this review to a friend
Best HF + 6m rig for the Money  Time owned: more than 12 months
I have had this rig since 2010. It is by far the best HF rig I ever owned. I used to have an IC-756 which also was a great rig. But the IC-7600 really blew the lid off all of its predecesors including the Pro III. The quality of the roofing filters is great for both CW and SSB. The fact that you can actually taylor the filters exactly the way you want to is also a superb feature. Looking at the specs for the IC-7600 I couldn't justify getting the more expensive IC-7700 or IC-7800. I am sure that both of those rigs are "worth the money" but I thought it would be overkill for me. So I bought the IC-7600 and have never looked back. This is the perfect rig for the avid CW, SSB, RTTY, PSK31 operator. I have found absolutely no flaws whatsoever on this radio using Firmware Release 1.11. This one is a keeper for decades to come. I can separate very close CW stations during contests with no problem using the 250 Hz filter. One more good thing about this radio is that the display is spectacular. It has a black background with vivid color displays. The spectrum scope is excellent when looking for signals on the band.
 
N1GMV Rating: 5/5 Feb 10, 2014 08:42 Send this review to a friend
Awesome Rig!  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I got my rig Dec 2013 for Christmas. It came with 1.11 firmware. I do NOT hear any fans so not sure where that came from on the other posts. The rig is designed so you can use custom set passband filter, speech and Noise Blanking very quickly at the press of a button.
It works with HRD and DM780 with a single USB cable and if you set up Skype can do remote operation. I love this radio!!
 
W7NIK Rating: 5/5 Feb 9, 2014 10:14 Send this review to a friend
excellent radio  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
Well I had many transceivers in the last 25 years
this one has the best receiver I ever owned. the filtering works. If you can find one used for 2k it is worth it. I had 756pro for the last two years very nice improvement. I am very pleased with my 7600. The reason it is 5 is because of the performance. The only receiver that was close to this is a kendwood 950s. The temperature monitoring on the 7600 is good information while operating.
 
ZS4U Rating: 5/5 Nov 25, 2013 22:24 Send this review to a friend
Great performer  Time owned: more than 12 months
I have owned the 7600 for more than two years but have not used it once during contests. This year I decided to take part in both the CQ-WW-SSB and the CQ-WW-CW. I am not a world class contester but have taken part in many international contests before with radios like the IC-7800, IC-7700, IC-756 PROIII etc. The 7600 really impressed me - the CW filters, together with the AGC performance and roofing filters, enabled me to operate right next to big stations with no adverse effects on receiver performance. It is a powerful performer contained in a small package!
 
DL1QQ Rating: 5/5 Oct 1, 2013 11:46 Send this review to a friend
Very good radio  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I have qualified as a Team Leader for WRTC 2014. In advance of this big event we want to run a few “practice contests” together with my Team Mate Irina, DL8DYL. Our first exercise was the IARU Region 1 SSB Field Day Contest. We operated for the first time with two IC7600s, which were recommended to us. While DL8DYL is already familiar with (other) Icom radios, I was an absolute novice. Until now I have operated most of the time with Kenwood equipment, and therefore I was a little skeptical at how well I could adapt to Icom. Quite honestly, I'm surprised I was able to get on the air right away without having to read the IC7600 manual too much. I intuitively found all the important features. Here I particularly liked that there are separate buttons for the main functions and that you don’t have to click through various menus during pileup conditions with this radio. In addition, compared to my TS450 the IC7600 offers many many new features, such as the liquid color display and the USB port for uploading personal settings etc. Since our first test was single mode SSB, we also tried the voice recorder, which worked very well. We needed to read the manual for that function though, but after understanding the logic, even that was easy.
Unfortunately this first time we didn’t get the Icom CI-V cable to work with the IC7600, even though before the test it worked just fine with an IC7400. But I am sure we will figure that out for the next time.
Basically, our first (SSB transmitting and receiving) impression was very good. Concerning morse code (CW) operation with the IC7600, I will report after our first CW contest test. Stay tuned!
73/88 Sandy, DL1QQ
 
N4KZ Rating: 5/5 Jul 25, 2013 13:53 Send this review to a friend
Nice improvement over my Pro 3  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
Four months ago I found a new home for my beloved Icom IC-756 Pro III and replaced it with a new IC-7600. The longer I have my 7600, the more I like it. I'm not one to subscribe to the thought that rigs live or die by their front-end numbers alone. Good specs are important, yes, but I like considering the whole package and not just front-end specs. As a whole package, the IC-7600 excels. If you are a diehard contester, than perhaps other transceivers would be a better fit for you. But for me, a casual contester at best, and mainly a DX chaser and ragchewer, the 7600 is an excellent fit. The rig presents itself very well on my desk. For a while, I had my Pro III and a Kenwood TS-590 in my shack at the same time. The Kenwood often beat the Pro III in front end selectivity (as you would expect) and its noise blanker was far superior. But the race between the 7600 and TS-590 is quite different. On SSB, these two rigs run neck and neck in the front-end selectivity race. And the Icom's noise blanker is even better than the 590's. The Kenwood NB eliminates line noise but presents digital artifacts while the 7600's NB presents far fewer digital artifacts. Considering I've had major line noise issues for a while now, I find myself using the 7600 far more than the 590. On CW, the two run practically neck and neck in all but the most demanding situations -- a major contest with strong CW signals practically piled up on one another. Then the TS-590 has the advantage on its down conversion bands. But I still prefer the way CW sounds on the Icom. It's just more pleasing to the ear. And when you consider the other 7600 features -- Dual Watch, a terrific bandscope, built-in RTTY and PSK transmit and receive, excellent SSB audio and a quiet receiver, well, I go for the 7600. Yes, it cost much more than my 590 but gives me the features I want. One last thought. I like testing a rig's ability to dig out weak signals down in the noise -- on 6 or 10 meters. The TS-590 is excellent at pulling out those weak signals just as a band is going out but the IC-7600 is even better. Throw in preamp No. 2 and play with the noise reduction and I can usually make a signal otherwise too weak to copy quite readable on my 7600. I researched new rigs for more than a year before pulling the trigger on the 7600. In the end, my decision was right on target.
 
KD7DCR Rating: 5/5 Jul 19, 2013 19:12 Send this review to a friend
Great "replacment" for the 756p3 !  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
We had a forest fire here - needed to replace my main radio (756p3)...bought this from Giga Parts and was back on the air by Nov/12.

This "larger" screen is very nice and easy for these old eyes to read..the NB/NR and notch have really helped me to pull out some weak ones and some "behind" some LIDS.. Good stuff here!

It is well laid out for fat fingers..I leave the power out since it's feeding an SPE 2K-FA amp. The tuning "touch" is pleasing to me - YMMV.

I find myself using the Dual Watch and Split more with this set than before - on 6m openings... That may just be a function of more experience and practice gunning for FFMA award. It makes doing a CQ on the calling frec, and then INSTANT UP to the working frec so easy...

The interface thru the USB port, when trying to use FSK441/JT65A/Iscat is NOT fully functional. I ended up using my WestMtn Plug-n-Play again...works well with it. Found that running Echo Link can only work with the radio OFF - as the USB interface causes the audio out to go away when the radio is on and working via the computer direct to echo link. This is only a small thing, but, I would sure like to see ICOM correct all these USB port/control issues with a firmware upgrade!..

With only very "specialized modes" having any problems...I still give this set a "5" score!

I will buy another of these 7600's without question, if the need ever arises. I looked at the 7700 and didn't see where the extra $$ really went...ditto for the 7800... This is all the "radio" that I'll ever need. Thanks ICOM.
 
PU2STZ Rating: 5/5 Jul 13, 2013 15:09 Send this review to a friend
Very good value for the price!  Time owned: more than 12 months
The IC-7600 was my first ever ICOM radio, and I really like it. Ergonomics is very nice – everything seems to be located at the right place, making operating very easy and intuitive. The assembly finishing is superb – one of the most well done radios I have ever seen. The LCD it’s great, with good an excellent resolution and response time. The receiver is really nice, very sensitive and has good noise reduction and filtering. Dual watch works very fine, being very useful under DX conditions or contest operation. The USB ports are really a differential, making it easy to connect to a computer for radio control and digital modes – no complicated, proprietary cable needed for working some nice QSOs on digi-modes! Connecting a wireless keyboard to the radio through the front USB port is absolutely “plug-and-play” – and here we go doing PSK31 contacts faster than an eye could flick, using the built-in decoder! I bought my radio factory new, about one and a half year ago, and so far, no problems at all. In my station this radio lays side by side with a Yaesu FT-2000D and I think the IC-7600 is as nice a radio as his bigger partner. Sometimes the higher power available from the FT-2000D can make a difference (especially during heavy pile-ups), but the IC-7600 performs as well as the Yaesu in most of the cases. DX hunting using the band scope is also something you will sure appreciate when operating this radio. All in all, this radio has a very good value for the price. I really appreciated ICOM’s quality and technology, and recommend this model for everyone looking for and advanced, easy to operate and technologically advanced transceiver.
Paulo, PU2STZ
 
<— Page 2 of 13 —>


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.