eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


Reviews Categories | Transceivers: HF Amateur HF+6M+VHF+UHF models - not QRP <5W | ICOM IC-7600 Help


Reviews Summary for ICOM IC-7600
ICOM IC-7600 Reviews: 151 Average rating: 4.7/5 MSRP: $3,950
Description: The ICOM IC-7600 has been unveiled at the Tokyo hamfair August 2008. DSP based HF/50 MHz 100W transceiver keeps the best of IC-756PROIII with the look and convenience of IC-7XXX seiries rigs.
Product is in production.
More info: http://
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the ICOM IC-7600.

<— Page 2 of 16 —>

W3UT Rating: 5/5 Jan 8, 2016 04:21 Send this review to a friend
New upgrade is great  Time owned: more than 12 months
Such an enjoyable radio to operate, with the latest 2.0 firmware is even better. This radio does just about everything very well. Seems a bit expensive but the quality and finish is superb.
 
K2VI Rating: 5/5 Jan 7, 2016 17:23 Send this review to a friend
This is the best owned  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Since 1991 I have owned and tested at least 35 transceivers and I will say this one is the best of them all. The receiver is excellent like many others i have tested however this ic-7600 has the best of all of them as far as ergonomics and build quality is superb. One other radio is the yaesu ft-2000 and ftdx 3000 which are just as good. at least to my ear. But something about this 7600 make it special. I just really love this rig. Maybe it is the scope and the feel of the knobs but it is top notch. Got mine for 2995.00 at AES milwaukee.
 
KC0MFK Rating: 5/5 Dec 20, 2015 14:32 Send this review to a friend
Nice improvement  Time owned: more than 12 months
The 2.0 firmware update from Icom makes this radio even more enjoyable. Have owned 2 all with great reliabilty. The successor to the Icom Pro series, the 7600 is a keeper.
 
K5ML Rating: 5/5 Dec 19, 2015 16:11 Send this review to a friend
The Little Transceiver That Got Better  Time owned: more than 12 months
I purchased an IC-7600 in March 2011 after having used and enjoyed an IC-756 Pro III for over 4 years. The improvement in the receiver over the Pro III was immediately apparent - much quieter and more selective. The addition of a CW audio peak filter was another big plus. With a similar menu as the Pro III, the transition to the 7600 was effortless. The larger monitor is also a plus.

After the 7600 was slightly over a year old, the transmitter output went to zero. Fortunately, I bought it from Ham Radio Outlet who doubled the warranty and sent it back to Icom for repair. While it was at Icom, I used my old Pro III and really missed the 7600. It had spoiled me. Since that time the 7600 has worked fine.

The 2.0 firmware update from Icom made significant improvements in the 7600 in a number of areas. The ones I appreciate most are the improvements in the bandscope, the audio peak filter and the ability to set the TX delay time. The only thing I wish the 7600 had is a video output jack for an outboard monitor. If/when Icom makes a successor for the 7600, I hope they include that feature. If they do, I'll buy it in a heartbeat.

In summary, the IC-7600 is a great transceiver in a small package. With the price having dropped to around $3,000 for a new one, it's a bargain.
 
OE3SGU Rating: 0/5 Dec 19, 2015 09:49 Send this review to a friend
Great radio, unreliable  Time owned: more than 12 months
Well I really love this RIG - when it works! Mine has failed 4 times (!) now within 2 1/2 years with always the same problem: driver transistor. The radio was just in RX standbye and won't transmitt anymore. It seems that there are a number of lemons out there and well, I got one.

Hopefully the repair bill won't be too high this time.

Very good radio with lots of bells and whistles. If you own one make sure you have a spare radio somewhere in the shack, you cannot be sure if your 7600 will still work after you left the shack for a minute.
 
KG7GNI Rating: 5/5 Dec 17, 2015 10:16 Send this review to a friend
Emergency Power  Time owned: more than 12 months
I've had a 7600 for 2-1/2 years now and I love it. I do have a question, however, prompted by an extended power outage here. Can you operate it off a car battery in an emergency? What do you do for emergency operations?
 
KJ4KBC Rating: 5/5 Dec 16, 2015 10:33 Send this review to a friend
IC-7600 Thumbs up!  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
I purchased mine used from a Ham out west. Has all updates and works really well. Very easy to use the menu and at least to my ears, hears as well as any rig I've owned. Very pleasing audio. I use a PR-781 with it and get good audio reports. The quality of this rig is outstanding. All you need to do is look, turn the knobs, and listen and you'll know for sure this isn't a throw away 1500.00-2000.00 Radio. I think it will be around a long time.
 
PA1CW Rating: 5/5 Dec 13, 2015 08:22 Send this review to a friend
I love it.  Time owned: more than 12 months
I am running the 7600 for a few years now,
Easy to operate and a good looking transceiver.
I am Icom user for 30 years and this 7600 is one to keep in the shack.

73 Theo PA1CW
http://www.pa1cw.com
 
N4KZ Rating: 5/5 Oct 6, 2015 11:03 Send this review to a friend
2.0 firmware - Nice!  Time owned: more than 12 months
I bought my IC-7600 a little over 2 years ago. I love the rig and everything about it. It replaced a Pro 3 and several other Icoms I have owned. For the last 4 months, I procrastinated about doing the 2.0 firmware upgrade. On Monday, the procrastination ended and now I wish I'd done this about 3 months ago. At any rate, a great radio got even better. A number of new features were added but my personal favorites are the waterfall on the bandscope and the rather pronounced improvement to the CW APF function. Those weak CW signals REALLY pop out of the noise now. Before buying the 7600, I had strongly considered buying a K3 with a P3. Two of my main reasons for considering them were the bandscope with waterfall and excellent APF. But in the end I stayed with Icom for several reasons. And now I have the very features on the 7600 that had nearly caused me to switch from Icom to Elecraft. Good show, Icom.
 
VK2AB Rating: 5/5 Sep 9, 2015 16:21 Send this review to a friend
Icom 7600 one of the best  Time owned: more than 12 months
I have owned my Icom 7600 for 2 years and have had nothing but compliments on its audio and performance. Before Icom sent the software (SDR) upgrade it was good now it is in my opinion the best value for money radio out there. Having said that look out for the 7300 when it hits the market. In the meantime my 7600 will stay in my shack for many years to come and will see me out.It is easy to set up and use. From the guys at the other end easy on their ears, strong audio and most importantly clean with or without my amp.I use a Heil 781 mic with it set to the correct mic settings as recommended. Absolutely a pigeon pair. Thanks Icom for a brilliant radio.
 
<— Page 2 of 16 —>


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.