eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


donate to eham
Reviews Categories | Transceivers: HF Amateur (inc. HF+6M+VHF+UHF models) | ICOM IC-7600 Help


Reviews Summary for ICOM IC-7600
ICOM IC-7600 Reviews: 148 Average rating: 4.7/5 MSRP: $3,950
Description: The ICOM IC-7600 has been unveiled at the Tokyo hamfair August 2008. DSP based HF/50 MHz 100W transceiver keeps the best of IC-756PROIII with the look and convenience of IC-7XXX seiries rigs.
Product is in production.
More info: http://
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the ICOM IC-7600.

<— Page 2 of 15 —>

KG7GNI Rating: 5/5 Dec 17, 2015 10:16 Send this review to a friend
Emergency Power  Time owned: more than 12 months
I've had a 7600 for 2-1/2 years now and I love it. I do have a question, however, prompted by an extended power outage here. Can you operate it off a car battery in an emergency? What do you do for emergency operations?
 
KJ4KBC Rating: 5/5 Dec 16, 2015 10:33 Send this review to a friend
IC-7600 Thumbs up!  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
I purchased mine used from a Ham out west. Has all updates and works really well. Very easy to use the menu and at least to my ears, hears as well as any rig I've owned. Very pleasing audio. I use a PR-781 with it and get good audio reports. The quality of this rig is outstanding. All you need to do is look, turn the knobs, and listen and you'll know for sure this isn't a throw away 1500.00-2000.00 Radio. I think it will be around a long time.
 
PA1CW Rating: 5/5 Dec 13, 2015 08:22 Send this review to a friend
I love it.  Time owned: more than 12 months
I am running the 7600 for a few years now,
Easy to operate and a good looking transceiver.
I am Icom user for 30 years and this 7600 is one to keep in the shack.

73 Theo PA1CW
http://www.pa1cw.com
 
W3UT Rating: 5/5 Nov 21, 2015 10:24 Send this review to a friend
Nice radio  Time owned: more than 12 months
Sold my IC-7600 a while back and bought a new one. I've owned many HF transceivers, Icom, Yaesu, Elecraft. I don't care for layers of menus on radios, I like to keep it simple. My Elecraft KX3 is awesome but small and complicated. I really liked the 756Pro series and the IC-7600. I sold my 7600 and purchased a Yaesu FTDX3000 which is an excellent radio. I really missed the ergonomics of the Icom after evolving from the 756 pro series. For me, the IC-7600 is a more enjoyable radio to operate. The layout and controls are more suited to me. Probably because I migrated from the 756 Pro series. Having operated and compared both the IC-7600 & FTDX3000, which radio is best? The numbers charts clearly show the Yaesu with a better receiver. My experience listening in a crowded contest environment, both radios sound very close. I think overall, the Yaesu was slightly better on very weak signal intelligibility to my ears. But not enough to persuade either way. Both are excellent radios. I chose to stay with the more expensive IC-7600. The layout of the radio and controls seem simpler and more natural to my operating style and comfort.
 
N4KZ Rating: 5/5 Oct 6, 2015 11:03 Send this review to a friend
2.0 firmware - Nice!  Time owned: more than 12 months
I bought my IC-7600 a little over 2 years ago. I love the rig and everything about it. It replaced a Pro 3 and several other Icoms I have owned. For the last 4 months, I procrastinated about doing the 2.0 firmware upgrade. On Monday, the procrastination ended and now I wish I'd done this about 3 months ago. At any rate, a great radio got even better. A number of new features were added but my personal favorites are the waterfall on the bandscope and the rather pronounced improvement to the CW APF function. Those weak CW signals REALLY pop out of the noise now. Before buying the 7600, I had strongly considered buying a K3 with a P3. Two of my main reasons for considering them were the bandscope with waterfall and excellent APF. But in the end I stayed with Icom for several reasons. And now I have the very features on the 7600 that had nearly caused me to switch from Icom to Elecraft. Good show, Icom.
 
VK2AB Rating: 5/5 Sep 9, 2015 16:21 Send this review to a friend
Icom 7600 one of the best  Time owned: more than 12 months
I have owned my Icom 7600 for 2 years and have had nothing but compliments on its audio and performance. Before Icom sent the software (SDR) upgrade it was good now it is in my opinion the best value for money radio out there. Having said that look out for the 7300 when it hits the market. In the meantime my 7600 will stay in my shack for many years to come and will see me out.It is easy to set up and use. From the guys at the other end easy on their ears, strong audio and most importantly clean with or without my amp.I use a Heil 781 mic with it set to the correct mic settings as recommended. Absolutely a pigeon pair. Thanks Icom for a brilliant radio.
 
KB0VVK Rating: 5/5 Aug 14, 2015 13:18 Send this review to a friend
best  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
i am very happy but the mike gain and rf power are
hard to get to because they are to close to the mike
headphone plug.when you plug in the mike and the headphone the cables get in the way when you want to use those controls .
I put them next to the antenna button
probably cant do that because of wiring inside
 
K4TB Rating: 5/5 Jul 12, 2015 14:35 Send this review to a friend
New Upgrade Version  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
I've owned my 7600 only for a year and did one review already, but since the new Version 2.0 upgrade has come out I figured the radio deserves a follow up review. Simply put the new upgrade is phenomenal. The highlights are the new waterfall display and the gain feature for the Automatic Peak Filter (APF) control. The waterfall display really makes it easy to see where the real signals are amongst all the peaks in the spectrum sweep. The gain setting for the APF really puts a snap in the CW audio response that makes signals much more clear. I've set mine to +4 dB.

I still think this is the best all around radio ever on the market, with a perfect balance of performance and price point. You can pay a lot more for a bit more performance with the top-end rigs but the marginal benefits are minimal, IMHO. How can you beat the fact that now you get free radio upgrades, since they're firmware, when it used to be you had to buy and install more hardware or wait and buy the next new radio for big bucks? Thank you Icom.
 
W4KVW Rating: 5/5 Jun 23, 2015 20:50 Send this review to a friend
SIMPLY AWESOME!  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
OK,I had had my ICOM 7600 just over two weeks & know that by far it is the best transceiver I've ever owned or operated.I am a casual user & a DX Chaser & the day the rig was put on my desk it was upgraded to the V.2.0 firmware & I can't find any faults with the radio.My last rig was an ICOM 756 PRO II & the 7600 is light years ahead of that radio which I thought was exceptional.The filtering in the 7600 is far superior to what the PRO II has & the band scope & waterfall are amazing.I know now that half of the people on YouTube who have made videos of the 7600 have no idea how to operate the IC-7600 because I watched their lack of knowledge & laughed.I like an all in one package without the need of any external monitors or scopes so the 7600 provides just what I needed & wanted from a stand alone HF/6 meter base rig.Love the layout & design & the screen has great resolution & so many features I'll never use many of them.I can see me using the 7600 for many many years & I am looking forward to it. ICOM you have a WINNER with the ICOM 7600 & with the new firmware update.Love the COLOR SCREEN so stop making those UGLY & OUTDATED Monochrome displays & stick with COLOR Screens because they are much more desirable & easier on the eyes as well.The ICOM 7600 ROCKS in my shack & On The Air. {:>)
 
PY2SM Rating: 5/5 Jun 23, 2015 07:55 Send this review to a friend
Fantastic Rig  Time owned: more than 12 months
It's really amazing radio, easy to use, greate scope, specially now with 2.0 firmware. PC connections with USB port works very well.

Very good reception quality using my ears (not lab) in comparison with different models that I have or I've already have.

The only missed item was (not is) an IF output for SDR/panadapter purposes. I made one using a splitter easily, working...
 
<— Page 2 of 15 —>


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.