eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


Reviews Categories | Transceivers: HF Amateur (inc. HF+6M+VHF models) | ICOM IC-7600 Help


Reviews Summary for ICOM IC-7600
ICOM IC-7600 Reviews: 129 Average rating: 4.7/5 MSRP: $3,950
Description: The ICOM IC-7600 has been unveiled at the Tokyo hamfair August 2008. DSP based HF/50 MHz 100W transceiver keeps the best of IC-756PROIII with the look and convenience of IC-7XXX seiries rigs.
Product is in production.
More info: http://
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the ICOM IC-7600.

<— Page 3 of 13 —>

PU2STZ Rating: 5/5 Jul 13, 2013 15:09 Send this review to a friend
Very good value for the price!  Time owned: more than 12 months
The IC-7600 was my first ever ICOM radio, and I really like it. Ergonomics is very nice – everything seems to be located at the right place, making operating very easy and intuitive. The assembly finishing is superb – one of the most well done radios I have ever seen. The LCD it’s great, with good an excellent resolution and response time. The receiver is really nice, very sensitive and has good noise reduction and filtering. Dual watch works very fine, being very useful under DX conditions or contest operation. The USB ports are really a differential, making it easy to connect to a computer for radio control and digital modes – no complicated, proprietary cable needed for working some nice QSOs on digi-modes! Connecting a wireless keyboard to the radio through the front USB port is absolutely “plug-and-play” – and here we go doing PSK31 contacts faster than an eye could flick, using the built-in decoder! I bought my radio factory new, about one and a half year ago, and so far, no problems at all. In my station this radio lays side by side with a Yaesu FT-2000D and I think the IC-7600 is as nice a radio as his bigger partner. Sometimes the higher power available from the FT-2000D can make a difference (especially during heavy pile-ups), but the IC-7600 performs as well as the Yaesu in most of the cases. DX hunting using the band scope is also something you will sure appreciate when operating this radio. All in all, this radio has a very good value for the price. I really appreciated ICOM’s quality and technology, and recommend this model for everyone looking for and advanced, easy to operate and technologically advanced transceiver.
Paulo, PU2STZ
 
KI5SO Rating: 5/5 May 16, 2013 16:25 Send this review to a friend
Wish I'd bought already  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Top notch receiver and transmitter. Love this radio. The only thing I do not like is the push button up and down memory buttons and where they are located. Not thought out. Other than that, it's great. If you can live without a analog looking type meter and a scope, the 7410 is just as good as a receiver and transmitter. I know, I own both.
 
NK9N Rating: 5/5 May 1, 2013 18:31 Send this review to a friend
Top Notch  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
I've had the 7600 for several months at my Atlanta QTH where I also have a K3/P3 loaded and a FT-5000. Being totally honest, I A/B maybe 500 stations and switching instantly between the three radios, the 7600 performs as well as the others. Audio through SP-20 speaker is equal in quality and QRM/QRN features are similar depending on conditions. I would challenge anyone to tell which radio is which through the speaker! Love the 7600 display and ergonomics. It will go to my condo in Florida because of size vs other radios including the K3. All great radios..... not one stands out above the crowd.
 
WZ0CX Rating: 4/5 Apr 6, 2013 14:47 Send this review to a friend
OK radio  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
First of all, I am a diehard ICOM fan. With that said, I have to admit I was very disappointed from the moment I pulled out the radio from the box.
Technology is there, quality is not. Easy to operate, receive is not much better than my analog IC-781.
Nice colorful screen, good spectrum analyzer, dual watch is good, but my 781 also has it. Filter custom shape capability and roofing filters are good but again, not a big difference from my 781. My ICOM 781 has a “sweeter” receiver.
Great for RTTY and PSK, the on screen decoder works beautifully, also being able to send RTTY and PSK from radio is great! If you are into digital modes, but I am not.
The overall feeling of the radio is cheap. Sorry ICOM but being used to 765, 781, there is no point of comparison.
It is a high 3 or a low 4, I am rating it 4/5.
 
NK7J Rating: 5/5 Apr 1, 2013 13:38 Send this review to a friend
Great radio, minor flaws  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I am going to give this radio with a 5 even though it has a few shortcomings.

This radio replaced a Kenwood TS-590s in my shack a few weeks ago, I kept the 590 for about a week to compare the two side by side.

Obviously the 590 did not have the nice display and scope functions of the 7600. This is the main reason I decided to go back to Icom is to get the scope function which I sorely missed after having all the 756 PRO series radios.

On transmit I would say the two radios are about equals, may give a slight edge to Kenwood as it is much easier to adjust the TX equalizer through the free software.

The receiver.... Well I wish I could say the wiz bang $3800 IC-7600 blows the $1500 TS-590s out of the water but it doesn't. Dual watch, yes that is a big plus. In weak signal work I would give a very very slight edge to the 7600, especially if you are using the NR function, it just is not as watery sounding as the 590s. In crowded band conditions (what little I could find) they are both great rigs. For me the scope makes all the difference in the world when dealing with crowded bands and trying to find an opening to call CQ.

There are a few things I will miss about the Kenwood that Icom sadly lacks:
1: Intuitive FREE software for rig Control.
2. USB port that stays active when the radio is shut off. This may not seem like a big deal but what a pain this turns out to be. When you shut off the rig that USB "com port" goes away, well if you have your logging software talking to your radio guess what? Yep freezes the software AND the com port and a reboot is necessary to get things going again. Also without a active USB port there is no way to remotely turn the radio on and off if that happens to be your thing.

Those are the two biggest annoyances coming from a Kenwood.

Things I really like about the radio:
Less functions in menus (not that many less but the ones I use a lot are now on buttons or knobs).
Icoms auto tuning step function on the main knob.
The display of course.


Overall I find more time in the shack with the 7600 then I did with the 590s mainly becuase I just find it more pleasurable to operate with a scope.

Now if Kenwood comes out with a mid range radio between the 590 and the 990 I might seriously think of going back but for now I am perfectly happy with the 7600.
 
KE4WY Rating: 5/5 Apr 1, 2013 11:29 Send this review to a friend
Excellent  Time owned: more than 12 months
Excellent transmit and receive audio. Very user friendly, on board digital. Another solid Icom rig.
 
W3HKK Rating: 4/5 Mar 19, 2013 11:44 Send this review to a friend
4th rf board failure  Time owned: more than 12 months
Great radio but mine has had rf board failures, the last one just ONE months after ICOM repaired it for the 3rd rf board failure.

I asked that THIS TIME instead of just doing the same spot repair again and again ( and again and again) , they replace the entire RF board.

The manager agreed, the radio realigned and returned to me in Dec. 2012.

It's going on four months now and so far so good.
 
W3DDF Rating: 5/5 Mar 15, 2013 06:19 Send this review to a friend
Excellent Radio  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
I have had my 7600 for over 8 months and it is the best radio I have ever owned. Had a Kenwood TS-940s which I thought was great but the 7600 is much better. It is so easy to use that I rarely open the manual. The scope is great. The USB connectivity is nice. This is one nice rig.
 
AD4C2006 Rating: 5/5 Feb 27, 2013 10:04 Send this review to a friend
One of the best radios from Icom  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
About a year or more ago, I had the chance to own this radio for three months but friend of mine wanted badly and a friend is a friend and had no choice to sell it to him wich he still keep it but the good taste and touch remained in my ears and hands and I was missing it.So this month I decided to have it again and purchased it new from Gigaparts at the lowest price in the US.
After owning it for a week and using it at least 4 to five hours a day, I can tell its an outstanding radio.
My main radio is the well known all over the world K3 from Elecraft, hard to beat by others but nevertheless I can tell this 7600 has less band noise than my K3 so a weak station will be pulled quieter in the 7600. Although the lack of a roofing filter narrower than the standard 3 Khz making hard to reject the QRM at less than 3Khz, using the dual PBT and the 3Khz yes, I can reject more than 50% of the QRM, with the 3Khz and its 1.8Khz roofer is easier.Rx audio quality on both radios are the same although the low end of the audio spectrum at the 7600 is wider thn the K3, you can see the audio spectrum analysis I posted at qrz under my call sign. Tx audio quality using same mic on both radios is the same although the audio at the K3 sound more articulate than at the 7600 for having a builtin 8 freqs Tx Eq.
What I do really like the most in this 7600 is the fact that using a standard printer USB cable conected from the 7600 to my PC USB port allow me not only to control the radio from the PC but also record and playback on the air anyone's transmission with the highest audio quality I have heard in any radio.
Needless to say the spectrum analyzer is cool tool although I have to say that is lacking gain, weak stations like S1 or S2 signals are not seen at the screen,in that field the K3 panadapter (P3) is better with more sensitivity and faster resolution.
The NB has no distorsion at all over the received audio as many other radios,the K3 won't have distorsion neither.I can tell the NR works better than the one in the K3 from the fact that cuts more band noise and is way easier to adjust.
I like in this model the fact that once you adjust the levels of the small controls underneath you push them in and they won't change by accidentally touching them.Another improvement from Icom Pro series.
I owned for 3 years a 756ProIII and this one is definitively a better radio in all aspects.
Thanks Icom for having us enjoy a new good radio.

Hector
AD4C
 
K0JM Rating: 5/5 Feb 20, 2013 17:18 Send this review to a friend
extension knobs for power out  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
buy 2 ideal number 22 set screw wire connectors ( part # GLU64 from grainger) grind about 3/8 inch off the bakelite bottom and and enlarge the brass slightly..thne u can adjust mike and power with big fingers....k0jm
 
<— Page 3 of 13 —>


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.