eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


Reviews Categories | Transceivers: HF Amateur (inc. HF+6M+VHF models) | ICOM IC-7600 Help


Reviews Summary for ICOM IC-7600
ICOM IC-7600 Reviews: 131 Average rating: 4.7/5 MSRP: $3,950
Description: The ICOM IC-7600 has been unveiled at the Tokyo hamfair August 2008. DSP based HF/50 MHz 100W transceiver keeps the best of IC-756PROIII with the look and convenience of IC-7XXX seiries rigs.
Product is in production.
More info: http://
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the ICOM IC-7600.

<— Page 3 of 14 —>

N4KZ Rating: 5/5 Jul 25, 2013 13:53 Send this review to a friend
Nice improvement over my Pro 3  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
Four months ago I found a new home for my beloved Icom IC-756 Pro III and replaced it with a new IC-7600. The longer I have my 7600, the more I like it. I'm not one to subscribe to the thought that rigs live or die by their front-end numbers alone. Good specs are important, yes, but I like considering the whole package and not just front-end specs. As a whole package, the IC-7600 excels. If you are a diehard contester, than perhaps other transceivers would be a better fit for you. But for me, a casual contester at best, and mainly a DX chaser and ragchewer, the 7600 is an excellent fit. The rig presents itself very well on my desk. For a while, I had my Pro III and a Kenwood TS-590 in my shack at the same time. The Kenwood often beat the Pro III in front end selectivity (as you would expect) and its noise blanker was far superior. But the race between the 7600 and TS-590 is quite different. On SSB, these two rigs run neck and neck in the front-end selectivity race. And the Icom's noise blanker is even better than the 590's. The Kenwood NB eliminates line noise but presents digital artifacts while the 7600's NB presents far fewer digital artifacts. Considering I've had major line noise issues for a while now, I find myself using the 7600 far more than the 590. On CW, the two run practically neck and neck in all but the most demanding situations -- a major contest with strong CW signals practically piled up on one another. Then the TS-590 has the advantage on its down conversion bands. But I still prefer the way CW sounds on the Icom. It's just more pleasing to the ear. And when you consider the other 7600 features -- Dual Watch, a terrific bandscope, built-in RTTY and PSK transmit and receive, excellent SSB audio and a quiet receiver, well, I go for the 7600. Yes, it cost much more than my 590 but gives me the features I want. One last thought. I like testing a rig's ability to dig out weak signals down in the noise -- on 6 or 10 meters. The TS-590 is excellent at pulling out those weak signals just as a band is going out but the IC-7600 is even better. Throw in preamp No. 2 and play with the noise reduction and I can usually make a signal otherwise too weak to copy quite readable on my 7600. I researched new rigs for more than a year before pulling the trigger on the 7600. In the end, my decision was right on target.
 
KD7DCR Rating: 5/5 Jul 19, 2013 19:12 Send this review to a friend
Great "replacment" for the 756p3 !  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
We had a forest fire here - needed to replace my main radio (756p3)...bought this from Giga Parts and was back on the air by Nov/12.

This "larger" screen is very nice and easy for these old eyes to read..the NB/NR and notch have really helped me to pull out some weak ones and some "behind" some LIDS.. Good stuff here!

It is well laid out for fat fingers..I leave the power out since it's feeding an SPE 2K-FA amp. The tuning "touch" is pleasing to me - YMMV.

I find myself using the Dual Watch and Split more with this set than before - on 6m openings... That may just be a function of more experience and practice gunning for FFMA award. It makes doing a CQ on the calling frec, and then INSTANT UP to the working frec so easy...

The interface thru the USB port, when trying to use FSK441/JT65A/Iscat is NOT fully functional. I ended up using my WestMtn Plug-n-Play again...works well with it. Found that running Echo Link can only work with the radio OFF - as the USB interface causes the audio out to go away when the radio is on and working via the computer direct to echo link. This is only a small thing, but, I would sure like to see ICOM correct all these USB port/control issues with a firmware upgrade!..

With only very "specialized modes" having any problems...I still give this set a "5" score!

I will buy another of these 7600's without question, if the need ever arises. I looked at the 7700 and didn't see where the extra $$ really went...ditto for the 7800... This is all the "radio" that I'll ever need. Thanks ICOM.
 
PU2STZ Rating: 5/5 Jul 13, 2013 15:09 Send this review to a friend
Very good value for the price!  Time owned: more than 12 months
The IC-7600 was my first ever ICOM radio, and I really like it. Ergonomics is very nice – everything seems to be located at the right place, making operating very easy and intuitive. The assembly finishing is superb – one of the most well done radios I have ever seen. The LCD it’s great, with good an excellent resolution and response time. The receiver is really nice, very sensitive and has good noise reduction and filtering. Dual watch works very fine, being very useful under DX conditions or contest operation. The USB ports are really a differential, making it easy to connect to a computer for radio control and digital modes – no complicated, proprietary cable needed for working some nice QSOs on digi-modes! Connecting a wireless keyboard to the radio through the front USB port is absolutely “plug-and-play” – and here we go doing PSK31 contacts faster than an eye could flick, using the built-in decoder! I bought my radio factory new, about one and a half year ago, and so far, no problems at all. In my station this radio lays side by side with a Yaesu FT-2000D and I think the IC-7600 is as nice a radio as his bigger partner. Sometimes the higher power available from the FT-2000D can make a difference (especially during heavy pile-ups), but the IC-7600 performs as well as the Yaesu in most of the cases. DX hunting using the band scope is also something you will sure appreciate when operating this radio. All in all, this radio has a very good value for the price. I really appreciated ICOM’s quality and technology, and recommend this model for everyone looking for and advanced, easy to operate and technologically advanced transceiver.
Paulo, PU2STZ
 
KI5SO Rating: 5/5 May 16, 2013 16:25 Send this review to a friend
Wish I'd bought already  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Top notch receiver and transmitter. Love this radio. The only thing I do not like is the push button up and down memory buttons and where they are located. Not thought out. Other than that, it's great. If you can live without a analog looking type meter and a scope, the 7410 is just as good as a receiver and transmitter. I know, I own both.
 
NK9N Rating: 5/5 May 1, 2013 18:31 Send this review to a friend
Top Notch  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
I've had the 7600 for several months at my Atlanta QTH where I also have a K3/P3 loaded and a FT-5000. Being totally honest, I A/B maybe 500 stations and switching instantly between the three radios, the 7600 performs as well as the others. Audio through SP-20 speaker is equal in quality and QRM/QRN features are similar depending on conditions. I would challenge anyone to tell which radio is which through the speaker! Love the 7600 display and ergonomics. It will go to my condo in Florida because of size vs other radios including the K3. All great radios..... not one stands out above the crowd.
 
WZ0CX Rating: 4/5 Apr 6, 2013 14:47 Send this review to a friend
OK radio  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
First of all, I am a diehard ICOM fan. With that said, I have to admit I was very disappointed from the moment I pulled out the radio from the box.
Technology is there, quality is not. Easy to operate, receive is not much better than my analog IC-781.
Nice colorful screen, good spectrum analyzer, dual watch is good, but my 781 also has it. Filter custom shape capability and roofing filters are good but again, not a big difference from my 781. My ICOM 781 has a “sweeter” receiver.
Great for RTTY and PSK, the on screen decoder works beautifully, also being able to send RTTY and PSK from radio is great! If you are into digital modes, but I am not.
The overall feeling of the radio is cheap. Sorry ICOM but being used to 765, 781, there is no point of comparison.
It is a high 3 or a low 4, I am rating it 4/5.
 
NK7J Rating: 5/5 Apr 1, 2013 13:38 Send this review to a friend
Great radio, minor flaws  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I am going to give this radio with a 5 even though it has a few shortcomings.

This radio replaced a Kenwood TS-590s in my shack a few weeks ago, I kept the 590 for about a week to compare the two side by side.

Obviously the 590 did not have the nice display and scope functions of the 7600. This is the main reason I decided to go back to Icom is to get the scope function which I sorely missed after having all the 756 PRO series radios.

On transmit I would say the two radios are about equals, may give a slight edge to Kenwood as it is much easier to adjust the TX equalizer through the free software.

The receiver.... Well I wish I could say the wiz bang $3800 IC-7600 blows the $1500 TS-590s out of the water but it doesn't. Dual watch, yes that is a big plus. In weak signal work I would give a very very slight edge to the 7600, especially if you are using the NR function, it just is not as watery sounding as the 590s. In crowded band conditions (what little I could find) they are both great rigs. For me the scope makes all the difference in the world when dealing with crowded bands and trying to find an opening to call CQ.

There are a few things I will miss about the Kenwood that Icom sadly lacks:
1: Intuitive FREE software for rig Control.
2. USB port that stays active when the radio is shut off. This may not seem like a big deal but what a pain this turns out to be. When you shut off the rig that USB "com port" goes away, well if you have your logging software talking to your radio guess what? Yep freezes the software AND the com port and a reboot is necessary to get things going again. Also without a active USB port there is no way to remotely turn the radio on and off if that happens to be your thing.

Those are the two biggest annoyances coming from a Kenwood.

Things I really like about the radio:
Less functions in menus (not that many less but the ones I use a lot are now on buttons or knobs).
Icoms auto tuning step function on the main knob.
The display of course.


Overall I find more time in the shack with the 7600 then I did with the 590s mainly becuase I just find it more pleasurable to operate with a scope.

Now if Kenwood comes out with a mid range radio between the 590 and the 990 I might seriously think of going back but for now I am perfectly happy with the 7600.
 
KE4WY Rating: 5/5 Apr 1, 2013 11:29 Send this review to a friend
Excellent  Time owned: more than 12 months
Excellent transmit and receive audio. Very user friendly, on board digital. Another solid Icom rig.
 
W3HKK Rating: 4/5 Mar 19, 2013 11:44 Send this review to a friend
4th rf board failure  Time owned: more than 12 months
Great radio but mine has had rf board failures, the last one just ONE months after ICOM repaired it for the 3rd rf board failure.

I asked that THIS TIME instead of just doing the same spot repair again and again ( and again and again) , they replace the entire RF board.

The manager agreed, the radio realigned and returned to me in Dec. 2012.

It's going on four months now and so far so good.
 
W3DDF Rating: 5/5 Mar 15, 2013 06:19 Send this review to a friend
Excellent Radio  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
I have had my 7600 for over 8 months and it is the best radio I have ever owned. Had a Kenwood TS-940s which I thought was great but the 7600 is much better. It is so easy to use that I rarely open the manual. The scope is great. The USB connectivity is nice. This is one nice rig.
 
<— Page 3 of 14 —>


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.