eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


donate to eham
Reviews Categories | Transceivers: HF Amateur (inc. HF+6M+VHF+UHF models) | ICOM IC-7600 Help


Reviews Summary for ICOM IC-7600
ICOM IC-7600 Reviews: 148 Average rating: 4.7/5 MSRP: $3,950
Description: The ICOM IC-7600 has been unveiled at the Tokyo hamfair August 2008. DSP based HF/50 MHz 100W transceiver keeps the best of IC-756PROIII with the look and convenience of IC-7XXX seiries rigs.
Product is in production.
More info: http://
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the ICOM IC-7600.

<— Page 3 of 15 —>

K1PMA Rating: 5/5 Jun 17, 2015 08:44 Send this review to a friend
UPDATE from my April 1st, 2015 review.  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Update from my initial April 1, 2015

The IC7600 is a fantastic radio for the price. With the new 2.0 firmware update the radio got even better.

If you can afford around $3,000 get this one, it easily beats Icom's own 7700 in price/performance costing twice as much. What you are getting in the 7700 is essentially a bunch of extra buttons.
 
PA3MET Rating: 5/5 Jun 7, 2015 02:05 Send this review to a friend
f/w 2.00 WOW  Time owned: more than 12 months

I have seen all updates since 1.01 ; only 1.10 was not that well and was withdrawn. (e.g. got it almost since the release)

While the release notes don't tell all details, again the TRX is a bit better.
Every time I think -- what could be an improvement I like?

It's a keeper. Would not trade it in for the newer models from other makes
that are compareable.

The only upgrade I would eventually do is an 7851 -- if I had the money that is.
The 7600 is already expensive enough.

Hardly any drawbacks I can think of.
 
DJ3MQ Rating: 5/5 May 29, 2015 21:30 Send this review to a friend
What a surprise  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
My 7600 was a good Rig befor i update to
2.0 . Receiver is in one line with my best
Rig (an modified Drake TR-7).After long time
since 2008 Icom spends the best update ive
ever done on a Tranceiver .The new waterfall
is nice ,also the new mouse operation , but
better are a lot of small hidden improvments in the receiver aerea . Very good done Icom ,
thanks .
 
NG0Z Rating: 5/5 May 24, 2015 11:33 Send this review to a friend
Awesome Rig: Updated Review  Time owned: more than 12 months
I chose the 7600 over the Yaesu FTDX-3000d. I traded the lack of an IF Output (which is disappointing but I knew that going in) for a much larger screen, knobs instead of three steps into a menu on the 3000, and a much better built-in scope. With the May 2015 Firmware 2.00 upgrade this decision is looking even better. The extra $1000 paid for the Icom is well worth it.

The receiver is excellent, I am able to pull in DX stations with the NR and the RF Gain and can easily nullify adjacent stations with the Twin PBT and Notching. The Automatic Notch works surprisingly well even though I usually like doing it manually. It would be nice to see a display of the operation of the Notching ala the PBT display like Yaesu does but that is a nit.

The operation is intuitive, the ergonomics are excellent and serve to heighten the ham radio experience. This is a great-looking radio, and an impressive centerpiece in my radio room, neither of which could be said of the also excellent Yaesu 3000. Again, the scope with the waterfall heightens the aesthetic appeal all the more now.

Once I dialed in the audio output settings, in concert with the optional SM-50 Desktop microphone or my Heil Audio Pro-Set Elite 6 boomset, I have received excellent audio reports. I did with the standard mic too.

As for the scope, it works as advertised. It allows me to quickly see what's going on in a band, zoom over to chase a station, or see where an adjacent station is coming from to more quickly filter it out with the PBT. Having said that, the scope has to be good as there is no IF output as noted above.

With the new firmware update weak stations are much easier to see on the waterfall scope and the ability to click to the station on the scope with the mouse is cool if not totally necessary.

Kudos to Icom for making such a dramatic improvement in the radio with a free upgrade. This probably delays my purchase of a 7851 as I think I will be satisfied with the rig for many years to come.

The 3000 may have more current receiver technology but I don't know how much better it could be than this rig. I couldn't be happier with my choice for a first HF rig after more than a year now.

73

NG0Z
 
K7JQ Rating: 5/5 May 23, 2015 15:45 Send this review to a friend
Firmware Upgrade...New Radio!   Time owned: more than 12 months
I've had this radio for over four years. Great as it is, it's even better now with the new (free) firmware upgrade Version 2.0, just released on 5/18/15...like I bought a new radio! New feature additions and changes:

*Waveform Enhancement features on Spectrum Scope
*Waterfall Display (On or Off) under the waveform
*Spectrum Scope Widescreen option
*USB Mouse operation for point, click, scan
*APF AF Level
*TX Delay adjustment for use with amplifiers
*Shutdown or Standby/Shutdown option
*CI-V Output for Ant
*Adds some CI-V commands
*Changes the description of some CI-V commands

Seems like Icom listened to users' requests over the years, and they finally followed through. The main instruction manual has even been rewritten to include the latest firmware enhancements, so I imagine all new-built 7600's will be the "Upgrade Model", as that's how they're advertising it.

With these new features, I believe it's the best bang for the buck (if they keep it at the same price) in its class. Well done, Icom!

 
NW3Y Rating: 5/5 May 4, 2015 18:47 Send this review to a friend
Great radio!  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I bought the IC-7600 as a backup to my IC-7700. It's an ICOM....which means great audio output and continued complementary comments from other hams. The IC-7600 is very close, in all aspects, to it's big brother, the IC-7700 at a much lower cost. The 5.8" screen is very useful and easy to work with. Having "dual watch" capability is most helpful when working split. Programming the shape characteristics of your transmissions is very easy to see and refine. The roofing filters are easy to work with and can provide a "tightness" to suit any ear. This is a solid and sturdy radio that gives you many standard functions that are available on other more expensive radios. The comments from other hams on the audio quality remains very consistent and satisfying....its an ICOM! An easy to use instruction manual and the compact size make this a suitable radio for anyone from complex CW work, SSB or RTTY. You will need a separate power supply but that's not an issue. I do like the look of the PS-126 power supply and its compact size. I like this radio a lot and recommend it highly. I just ordered a second one for another QTH.
 
KM6JD Rating: 5/5 Mar 30, 2015 22:08 Send this review to a friend
Absolute Perfection!  Time owned: more than 12 months
I purchased my IC-7600 about 4 years ago. My old rig was an IC-756 (non-pro) and it worked just great. When I first saw the IC-7600 on display at AES here in Las Vegas in 2010 I said to myself, "I absolutely MUST have this radio!". I saved up some money and sold my IC-756 and bought the IC-7600 and never looked back. It is without a doubt the best HF rig I have ever owned. It's ease of operation, smoothness, easy and intuitive menu options all make this rig a clear cut winner all the way around. Never had a single problem with this rig nor with any other Icom radios in my life as a ham (42 years now). I am mostly CW and this rig is a CW operator's dream come true. The filters are astounding. The receiver is hotter than any other on the market except, of course, the higher end IC-7700 and the IC-7800. It hears everything. Recently I decided to try out PSK31 and RTTY since the rig has the encoder and decoder for these modes already built in. Therefore you don't need to fiddle around with an interface. Just plug in a USB keyboard and you are ready to rock and roll with digital. Stability? Unbelievable. This radio is as stable, if not more stable than the old Collins S-lines. If you are wondering what type of rig you really want AND you are serious about ham radio being your hobby, then look no further than this rig. I paid a lot more money for this rig 4 years ago than it is going for right now and I don't even regret having spent the additional $1K or so. In this day and age, with anything electronic, you get what you pay for. This rig is worth every single penny I paid for it and then some. Don't look any further. Go and buy one now!!
 
WB0WQS Rating: 5/5 Feb 18, 2015 18:28 Send this review to a friend
Ham radio dream Machine  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
The IC-7600 replaced my Lightning damaged 756 PRO II.
Every time I turn the radio on... it is a joy and privilege to operate. Went above my budget and have not regretted it. Smooth tuning, great scope options, silent relay, silent auto tuner. Roofing filter is amazing, cw operating smooth, tuning is so smooth. Screen layout options are pretty cool. Still learning a lot about the radio... the usb connection, built-in sound card and Software interface. Great all around radio. Pricey for the working man... but what a dream!
 
K5YY Rating: 5/5 Feb 15, 2015 07:12 Send this review to a friend
Just fantastic overall rig  Time owned: more than 12 months
I have two Icom 7600s to go with a 756PROIII which I love too and still have it in line as a 6 meter and low band RTTY rig. The 7600 does everything I need to operate all facets of ham radio, DXing, contesting, RTTY, ragchewing... nothing lacking in my opinion, and I have been around since 1957, 58 years as a ham. Have had all the rigs through the years, each seemed to be an improvement in communication abilities, narrow filters, then DSP, great audio filtering, passband tuning, etc. When you combine everything with the screen information and panadapter/band scope, there was never a reason to go to a $6000 to $10,000 radio! Good job Icom. Keeping my Icom 7600s for sure. Great buy used at $2600 or so. A big advancement over the 746/756 series which remain great investment buys also for most hams, new and old guys like me.
 
W2YM Rating: 5/5 Feb 14, 2015 21:25 Send this review to a friend
GREAT RADIO  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
Well, I have owned the IC-7800 which I loved but personal things happened and I had to sell.. Of course the nice big knobs on the 7800 was great but don't be surprised on this IC-7600... Far as I can see it is the same GREAT audio on transmit and the receive is better. That's right it is better on receive then my IC-7800. Maybe with it being a newer radio they cleaned up the receive on this one. I can't even explain how nice it is.. You will have to hear one for yourself.. I hope that Icom keeps on making them like this one.. WOW what a radio.. I have had so many HF radio's and this one is GREAT.. Wish I could give it a 10... Mark W2YM 73's.
 
<— Page 3 of 15 —>


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.