eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


Reviews Categories | Transceivers: HF Amateur HF+6M+VHF+UHF models - not QRP <5W | ICOM IC-7600 Help


Reviews Summary for ICOM IC-7600
ICOM IC-7600 Reviews: 152 Average rating: 4.7/5 MSRP: $3,950
Description: The ICOM IC-7600 has been unveiled at the Tokyo hamfair August 2008. DSP based HF/50 MHz 100W transceiver keeps the best of IC-756PROIII with the look and convenience of IC-7XXX seiries rigs.
Product is in production.
More info: http://
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the ICOM IC-7600.

<— Page 3 of 16 —>

VK2AB Rating: 5/5 Sep 9, 2015 16:21 Send this review to a friend
Icom 7600 one of the best  Time owned: more than 12 months
I have owned my Icom 7600 for 2 years and have had nothing but compliments on its audio and performance. Before Icom sent the software (SDR) upgrade it was good now it is in my opinion the best value for money radio out there. Having said that look out for the 7300 when it hits the market. In the meantime my 7600 will stay in my shack for many years to come and will see me out.It is easy to set up and use. From the guys at the other end easy on their ears, strong audio and most importantly clean with or without my amp.I use a Heil 781 mic with it set to the correct mic settings as recommended. Absolutely a pigeon pair. Thanks Icom for a brilliant radio.
 
KB0VVK Rating: 5/5 Aug 14, 2015 13:18 Send this review to a friend
best  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
i am very happy but the mike gain and rf power are
hard to get to because they are to close to the mike
headphone plug.when you plug in the mike and the headphone the cables get in the way when you want to use those controls .
I put them next to the antenna button
probably cant do that because of wiring inside
 
K4TB Rating: 5/5 Jul 12, 2015 14:35 Send this review to a friend
New Upgrade Version  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
I've owned my 7600 only for a year and did one review already, but since the new Version 2.0 upgrade has come out I figured the radio deserves a follow up review. Simply put the new upgrade is phenomenal. The highlights are the new waterfall display and the gain feature for the Automatic Peak Filter (APF) control. The waterfall display really makes it easy to see where the real signals are amongst all the peaks in the spectrum sweep. The gain setting for the APF really puts a snap in the CW audio response that makes signals much more clear. I've set mine to +4 dB.

I still think this is the best all around radio ever on the market, with a perfect balance of performance and price point. You can pay a lot more for a bit more performance with the top-end rigs but the marginal benefits are minimal, IMHO. How can you beat the fact that now you get free radio upgrades, since they're firmware, when it used to be you had to buy and install more hardware or wait and buy the next new radio for big bucks? Thank you Icom.
 
PY2SM Rating: 5/5 Jun 23, 2015 07:55 Send this review to a friend
Fantastic Rig  Time owned: more than 12 months
It's really amazing radio, easy to use, greate scope, specially now with 2.0 firmware. PC connections with USB port works very well.

Very good reception quality using my ears (not lab) in comparison with different models that I have or I've already have.

The only missed item was (not is) an IF output for SDR/panadapter purposes. I made one using a splitter easily, working...
 
K1PMA Rating: 5/5 Jun 17, 2015 08:44 Send this review to a friend
UPDATE from my April 1st, 2015 review.  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Update from my initial April 1, 2015

The IC7600 is a fantastic radio for the price. With the new 2.0 firmware update the radio got even better.

If you can afford around $3,000 get this one, it easily beats Icom's own 7700 in price/performance costing twice as much. What you are getting in the 7700 is essentially a bunch of extra buttons.
 
PA3MET Rating: 5/5 Jun 7, 2015 02:05 Send this review to a friend
f/w 2.00 WOW  Time owned: more than 12 months

I have seen all updates since 1.01 ; only 1.10 was not that well and was withdrawn. (e.g. got it almost since the release)

While the release notes don't tell all details, again the TRX is a bit better.
Every time I think -- what could be an improvement I like?

It's a keeper. Would not trade it in for the newer models from other makes
that are compareable.

The only upgrade I would eventually do is an 7851 -- if I had the money that is.
The 7600 is already expensive enough.

Hardly any drawbacks I can think of.
 
DJ3MQ Rating: 5/5 May 29, 2015 21:30 Send this review to a friend
What a surprise  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
My 7600 was a good Rig befor i update to
2.0 . Receiver is in one line with my best
Rig (an modified Drake TR-7).After long time
since 2008 Icom spends the best update ive
ever done on a Tranceiver .The new waterfall
is nice ,also the new mouse operation , but
better are a lot of small hidden improvments in the receiver aerea . Very good done Icom ,
thanks .
 
NG0Z Rating: 5/5 May 24, 2015 11:33 Send this review to a friend
Awesome Rig: Updated Review  Time owned: more than 12 months
I chose the 7600 over the Yaesu FTDX-3000d. I traded the lack of an IF Output (which is disappointing but I knew that going in) for a much larger screen, knobs instead of three steps into a menu on the 3000, and a much better built-in scope. With the May 2015 Firmware 2.00 upgrade this decision is looking even better. The extra $1000 paid for the Icom is well worth it.

The receiver is excellent, I am able to pull in DX stations with the NR and the RF Gain and can easily nullify adjacent stations with the Twin PBT and Notching. The Automatic Notch works surprisingly well even though I usually like doing it manually. It would be nice to see a display of the operation of the Notching ala the PBT display like Yaesu does but that is a nit.

The operation is intuitive, the ergonomics are excellent and serve to heighten the ham radio experience. This is a great-looking radio, and an impressive centerpiece in my radio room, neither of which could be said of the also excellent Yaesu 3000. Again, the scope with the waterfall heightens the aesthetic appeal all the more now.

Once I dialed in the audio output settings, in concert with the optional SM-50 Desktop microphone or my Heil Audio Pro-Set Elite 6 boomset, I have received excellent audio reports. I did with the standard mic too.

As for the scope, it works as advertised. It allows me to quickly see what's going on in a band, zoom over to chase a station, or see where an adjacent station is coming from to more quickly filter it out with the PBT. Having said that, the scope has to be good as there is no IF output as noted above.

With the new firmware update weak stations are much easier to see on the waterfall scope and the ability to click to the station on the scope with the mouse is cool if not totally necessary.

Kudos to Icom for making such a dramatic improvement in the radio with a free upgrade. This probably delays my purchase of a 7851 as I think I will be satisfied with the rig for many years to come.

The 3000 may have more current receiver technology but I don't know how much better it could be than this rig. I couldn't be happier with my choice for a first HF rig after more than a year now.

73

NG0Z
 
K7JQ Rating: 5/5 May 23, 2015 15:45 Send this review to a friend
Firmware Upgrade...New Radio!   Time owned: more than 12 months
I've had this radio for over four years. Great as it is, it's even better now with the new (free) firmware upgrade Version 2.0, just released on 5/18/15...like I bought a new radio! New feature additions and changes:

*Waveform Enhancement features on Spectrum Scope
*Waterfall Display (On or Off) under the waveform
*Spectrum Scope Widescreen option
*USB Mouse operation for point, click, scan
*APF AF Level
*TX Delay adjustment for use with amplifiers
*Shutdown or Standby/Shutdown option
*CI-V Output for Ant
*Adds some CI-V commands
*Changes the description of some CI-V commands

Seems like Icom listened to users' requests over the years, and they finally followed through. The main instruction manual has even been rewritten to include the latest firmware enhancements, so I imagine all new-built 7600's will be the "Upgrade Model", as that's how they're advertising it.

With these new features, I believe it's the best bang for the buck (if they keep it at the same price) in its class. Well done, Icom!

 
NW3Y Rating: 5/5 May 4, 2015 18:47 Send this review to a friend
Great radio!  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I bought the IC-7600 as a backup to my IC-7700. It's an ICOM....which means great audio output and continued complementary comments from other hams. The IC-7600 is very close, in all aspects, to it's big brother, the IC-7700 at a much lower cost. The 5.8" screen is very useful and easy to work with. Having "dual watch" capability is most helpful when working split. Programming the shape characteristics of your transmissions is very easy to see and refine. The roofing filters are easy to work with and can provide a "tightness" to suit any ear. This is a solid and sturdy radio that gives you many standard functions that are available on other more expensive radios. The comments from other hams on the audio quality remains very consistent and satisfying....its an ICOM! An easy to use instruction manual and the compact size make this a suitable radio for anyone from complex CW work, SSB or RTTY. You will need a separate power supply but that's not an issue. I do like the look of the PS-126 power supply and its compact size. I like this radio a lot and recommend it highly. I just ordered a second one for another QTH.
 
<— Page 3 of 16 —>


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.