eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


Reviews Categories | Transceivers: HF Amateur (inc. HF+6M+VHF models) | ICOM IC-7600 Help


Reviews Summary for ICOM IC-7600
ICOM IC-7600 Reviews: 126 Average rating: 4.7/5 MSRP: $3,950
Description: The ICOM IC-7600 has been unveiled at the Tokyo hamfair August 2008. DSP based HF/50 MHz 100W transceiver keeps the best of IC-756PROIII with the look and convenience of IC-7XXX seiries rigs.
Product is in production.
More info: http://
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the ICOM IC-7600.

<— Page 4 of 13 —>

VK2AB Rating: 5/5 Jan 20, 2013 17:48 Send this review to a friend
Great Radio  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
I have owned my Icom IC-7600 for about 4 months. I have owned other Icoms, Kenwoods and Yeasu radios. This radio (7600) is by far the best radio. It is easy to set up with RX and TX bass and trebble. It it has excellent filters. The scope just blew me away. I use it all the time. The screen saver works well. No matter whatpower I run with the 7600 all reports (baring None) have been excellent. It was set up and was on air within 1n 1/2 hrs of it arriving at my door. Thanks to a fellow ham the settings were in within 10 minutes and have not been changed since. I absolutely love the ease and performance of this radio. I would highly recommend it to anyone wishing to upgrade. VK2AB
 
KD6SX Rating: 5/5 Jan 3, 2013 14:47 Send this review to a friend
No Longer Disappointed  Time owned: more than 12 months
My previous review expressed my frustration with my IC-7600. Over a two year period I had to send it in multiple times for repair and it always malfunctioned again. But, after I sent it in the last time, Icom sent me a replacement radio with absolutely no argument. Everyone I spoke to at Icom was pleasant and helpful in resolving the issue. Thank you Icom!

The replacement radio is working as it should and I am very happy with it. The IC-7600 is a fine radio.

73,
KD6SX
 
DC2AC Rating: 5/5 Dec 20, 2012 10:26 Send this review to a friend
Dreamboat  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I'm new to ham radio and have done quite a bit of
research before buying my first
transceiver. This machine oozes quality in every aspect.Ergonomics are top notch and all the colored
menus popping up are plain fun for the iPhone infested.I would not want to miss the band scope,you
see what is going on at a glance.The internal tuner
did a great job matching my Hustler GP which was initially on SWR 10+ down to 1.2 before I got my hands on an analyzer to fix it for good.The only
complaint I have: You cannot hook up a monitor which would come handy reading the tiny characters
while decoding PSK and RTTY. Sadly this feature is
restricted to the pricier models.
 
G4RNI Rating: 4/5 Dec 8, 2012 01:58 Send this review to a friend
Good with 1 or 2 niggles  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Great performer. Excellent receiver. No noticeable alc overshoot despite using the same PA devices as the 7410 and 9100.
To me, the 7410 has a distinct advantage with a simple design change. On the 7600 the mic gain and RF power are again relegated to silly little controls, difficult to adjust because they're too close to the AF/RF gain.
To me, it's more important to have access to mic gain & RF power than noise reduction level (which I tend to leave set and rarely adjust) and CW pitch which has no value whatsoever except for having stations anything but netted. (If you don't like 700 or 800Hz or whatever this parameter is something you can set and forget so therefore should be consigned to a menu or little used control.)
If Icom had the mic and RF power where BAL & NR are, moving NR to a small control at the bottom. Next moving BAL to the CW pitch position and finally moving CW pitch to the bottom edge I'd have given it a 5++++. As it is, it's just a four.
 
ON4VP Rating: 5/5 Nov 19, 2012 20:34 Send this review to a friend
Among the best  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
I waited a few months before writing this review. I owned a lot of radios from different brands like Kenwood, Yaesu and I had a IC-756 some years ago. My most recent radio before this one was a FT-950 and I had a K3 for a brief moment but did not like the ergonomics and it felt cheap and plastic. To expensive for a kit built radio no matter how it performed (at least as good as the IC-7600). To me it did not rectify the price when loaded with options (more expensive than the IC-7600 for a kit radio).

Back to the IC-7600. Opposite to the previous reviewer I think the screen is great. It can hold a lot of information and I tend to use it a lot in the multi meter mode. I do use the band scope and it turns out to be useful to.

The great benefits to me is the built quality of this radio and the layout of all the knobs and buttons. All important stuff is on the front panel and lately most other radios in this price range suffer from that. Most radios these days have to many menus to set important things that IMHO need to be present on the front panel without going through to much trouble.

The IC-7600 does have menus to but accessing them is easy and thanks to the big screen the menus are text and easy to understand and not those stupid numbers so you always need a manual to know what function you're adjusting.

The radio runs cool all the time. I only use the IC-7600 to drive (25-35 watts) my Acom2000a. A very fine combination. The only remark is that whenever the internal fan goes on, it does make a bit more noise than I was hoping for but it hardly comes on even after some hours of operation.

Another strong feature is the way I can do split mode and dual receiver (watch). Icom has a very good reputation and knows how hams like to work with a radio. I think Icom has one of the best ergonomics on the market today.

The noise reduction is top notch and way better than what I got on my Yaesu radios, its even better than the K3. I can't review the noise blanker because I never used it, I think I'm lucky to live in a noise free environment. The twin-PBT does a good job and there's a lot of tweaking at your disposal to set audio both in rx and tx which is a great benefit to me. I get great reports using both my Heil headset and PR781.

Filters are good, not exceptional. The receiver is very quiet and for us Europeans, its selectivity on 40 and 80 meters is very good.

Looking back at the ergonomics, the finish, the receiver and the transmit qualities I rate it 5. I know there's always room for improvement but the IC-7600 deserves more than just a 4. In my shack the radio never missed a beat. I hope it will keep on doing that for years to come.

Recommended!
 
KA4DPO Rating: 4/5 Nov 13, 2012 14:49 Send this review to a friend
Very Well Made Radio  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I just got my IC-7600 two days ago so this is not a review but just my initial impressions. I will post a review after I have had the radio for 6 months. So first impression is that this is a very well made radio. The materials, feel , and construction are very good, at least as good as my 756 Pro3. The menus are simple and straight forward so setup is easy, easier if you have owned a Pro.

I am not as nuts about the screen as I thought I would be but it is functional. The band scope is not as tall as the one on the 756 Pro3 but has better resolution and broader bandwith at the widest setting.

The noise blanker is OK but there are better, I think Kenwood and Ten Tec have better noise blanking than Icom. The DSP noise reduction is superb and the Icom notch filter is the best one currently available in my opinion. This is a very quiet receiver and I like being able to select any of the three roofing filters in CW, SSB, or AM. That is a very nice touch and allows the operator a lot of flexibility with changing band conditions and QRM/QRN. Receive sensitivity is excellent and filter selection is almost exactly like the Pro3. Just listening around the bands I really like the receiver in this radio.

So for now at least the fit and finish of the radio is excellent. The receiver performance is slightly better than my 756 Pro3 and while there are better receivers in this price range they don't have all of the other really nice features that make this almost a perfect rig for the casual operator like me. My initial impression is very good but I can't gush because I simply don't have enough operating time with it so I'm only giving 4 stars.

As I said I will provide an unbiased review of this rig after I have owned it for six months.
 
W3HKK Rating: 4/5 Oct 15, 2012 12:18 Send this review to a friend
RF board failure-3rd time  Time owned: more than 12 months
Great rig but mine is prone to rf board failures. ICOM-WA replaces an IC chip and its fine. But every 10 months or so, it loses rf output. Their tech says it's e-stat dischrge problem and the antenna should be disconnected and grounded. My ants go thru a DX Engineering CC-8 high isolation remote antenna switch that is grounded when not turned on. I also have arc-plug lightning protection at the rig.

I use ground plane antennas for 10, 17, 30, and 40, and a 40 ft high inverted L for 80/160. At times I hear S9 precipitation static in the receiver and power down the DXE antenna switch, which is left OFF whenever Im not on the air.

 
K5YY Rating: 5/5 Oct 5, 2012 14:48 Send this review to a friend
Simply fantastic !  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I love my PRO III but this is a bit more refined and quieter with the tight roofing filter selections and great DSP, and it also has great screen features. A lot more menu options for this radio than the PRO III. Easily accessable as on the PRO. Especially like the USB port for my keyboard to use with CW or RTTY modes and a LOT simpler to program in your 4-8 transmit options with the keyboard rather than dialing up and moving characters around. I also bought the LDG M7600 which gives a large lighter meter readout of all the functions on the front screen. I do not like the lack of lighting of the left sided vertical pushbuttons themselves. Just watch out and do not hit the Ant 1-2 button rather than the PO/SWR/Comp button directly below. Could say a lot more but will stop here. The 7600 can be found on the used market for $2900-3150 and well worth what you get. Now the PROIII is relegated to backup and the main 6m rig for now. The 781 has sat idle for the past 6 months, sorry to say. Just can not bring myself to sell that ole timer Milspec rig!
 
W9BDN Rating: 5/5 Sep 24, 2012 08:18 Send this review to a friend
Awesome radio  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
I bought a 7600 as a retirement gift to myself. I had a 756 ProIII for 5 years. Although the controls are somewhat similiar, the 7600 has many many improvements, the display is wider which make the bandscope better. I really like this radio very much and am very impressed with it.

73's, Steve
 
W4DSN Rating: 5/5 Aug 18, 2012 19:39 Send this review to a friend
Excellent Update from PROIII  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
I bought a Flex 5000 to replace my ProIII. Although the performance was spectacular, I didn't like using a computer interface. So, I bought an IC7600. To be honest, I did not expect that the performance would match up to the Flex, but, to my surprise, it does, in nearly every way.

The 7600 has the quietest receiver I have ever heard. When I first plugged it in, I thought an antenna connection was loose. Then, I tuned to an S-2 signal. Yes, S-2, but perfectly readable, in fact, quiet. Although I did not try them side-by-side, I would expect the 7600 to be able to pick out the weak ones as well as the Flex.

It is not just an upgrade from a PRO III, although many of the controls are the same. It is a well thought-out, highly functional radio that performs well in every circumstance that I have tried it in - rag-chewing, DX, digital and just listening.

I highly recommend this radio. A bit pricey, but not the highest priced radio around.
 
<— Page 4 of 13 —>


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.